We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectation in so many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaca Boutique Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abaca Boutique Resort
Save
You added Abaca Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Abaca' Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectation in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Head Butler Raffy his team really makes our stay a wonderful experience. We are a family of 4 with a nanny in tow. Before we arrive, the fact they have a nanny quarter charging at a tiny fraction of the regular room rate makes choosing Abaca over Shangri-la an easy choice. 2 weeks before our arrival, the unfortunate earthquake hit the region. We wrote to enquire the status of the damage and ask whether the hotel suffered any damage. I receive was prompt reply the same day and follow up email on update the next day from the hotel manager.

We like to explore food outside the hotel normally. But Abaca managed to get us to eat practically all meals in the hotel. Even on our island hopping trip, not only they prepared sandwiches for the adults, the kitchen made the yummiest chocolate muffins for the children to bring on board.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite is good enough for a family of 4. There is no need to book a pool villa, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
124
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff here are amazing. The butler service is brilliant- attentive but un-obtrusive. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the head chef took the time to personally welcome me at each meal. I stayed for two nights in one of the poolside penthouse rooms- it was beautifully furnished, very luxurious, huge with high ceilings and had a beautiful private balcony looking out over the sea and pool. The pool area is lovely with big cabanas and an infinity pool. The spa services were also top notch. Highly recommend this hotel- I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this resort with my husband for my birthday this year!

We had booked the Poolside Oceanfront Suite which was amazing and easy to access to the infinity pool. The rate had included round trip airport transfer, welcome drinks upon arrival, personalized butler service, complimentary wifi , evening night cap cocktails and daily gourmet breakfast.

The Suite was spacious and stylish with dim light. It was very relax, but it may be a bit too dark for you to read. The bathroom was nice with separate bath tub and rain shower. They had also provided their own signature spa toiletries in a ceramic jar for us. The suite also included a very small garden with an outdoor shower.

The service from all staff was faultless and they all treated us like Royalty.

We had tried their breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Food and drinks were both superb with nice presentation. The dinner was set in a private oceanfront cabana , which was a very romantic candle light dinner for me and my husband.

One drawback of this resort is no beach in there which was a shame that that we could not snorkel around the resort. But this is a perfect and quiet resort for couples.

Just before we left, they also gave us a pack of seashells from Cebu as a gift which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

the rooms are very nice and clean, but their service was the best, chef will cook anything for you, you can request what you'd like to eat and they;ll do something about it, they even picked up my lechon from the city, all staff was great, only drawback was the beach which was not swimmable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Quite simply the BEST relaxation hotel I have ever stayed in, whilst the hotel itself is well appointed and guests have no need to worry about the excellent standard of the rooms and pool areas without doubt the star of the show for this hotel is the staff friendly,helpful,knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile without a second thought.
As has been mentioned by others the kitchen is exceptional and Chef Pat will happily and very successfully create a meal to suit your needs if you just ask. I was staying at this hotel for diving/relaxing and with the help of the great team at Abaca both of these aims were achieved( great diving in the area).
This hotel is well deserving of its 5 star ratings from its guests and I will be visiting again in the near future
Well done Abaca

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Intimately designed & located in the most serene environment. Overlooking the sea & a sanctuary of love, perfectly designed for couple's who wants to be away from the hustle & bustle of an overbooked hotels around. Within a few steps away from your suites you will enjoy the luxury of their own fancy restaurant & holistic spa. Great food & a customized menu awaits for every guests who have preferences with their dietary needs. Perfect wine selections. To top it all, Impeccable service of the Butlers & Service Staffs. I would say their housekeepings staffs are like Smurfs! You don't see them in action but their fast & makes your room like magically ready for your next adventure! Really amazed how they anticipated every needs we wanted. We had a Butler 24/7 they made our stay as romantic & intimate as we expected. Turned the pool cabanas into a table for two & a romantic dinner was served just near the pool area & facing the sea just to be away from the rest of the guests in the restaurant. They made sure we have a dinner just the two of us alone near the sea of love...though it was drizzling & rain started after...they made sure that we enjoy the romantic candle lit set up they've arranged for us. It was an unexpected experience! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I preface this with we came here after flying first in Cathay Pacific so our expectations were high. The entire resort has the kindest, friendliest, most accommodating, and wonderful staff that ever existed. Everything from proposing to my now fiance so ordering drinks by the pool was awesome. We joke daily how we wish we could go back.

Room Tip: If you can get the villas with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaca Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.