We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple's intimate hideaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abaca Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abaca Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Abaca Boutique Resort
Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A couple's intimate hideaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Intimately designed & located in the most serene environment. Overlooking the sea & a sanctuary of love, perfectly designed for couple's who wants to be away from the hustle & bustle of an overbooked hotels around. Within a few steps away from your suites you will enjoy the luxury of their own fancy restaurant & holistic spa. Great food & a customized menu awaits for every guests who have preferences with their dietary needs. Perfect wine selections. To top it all, Impeccable service of the Butlers & Service Staffs. I would say their housekeepings staffs are like Smurfs! You don't see them in action but their fast & makes your room like magically ready for your next adventure! Really amazed how they anticipated every needs we wanted. We had a Butler 24/7 they made our stay as romantic & intimate as we expected. Turned the pool cabanas into a table for two & a romantic dinner was served just near the pool area & facing the sea just to be away from the rest of the guests in the restaurant. They made sure we have a dinner just the two of us alone near the sea of love...though it was drizzling & rain started after...they made sure that we enjoy the romantic candle lit set up they've arranged for us. It was an unexpected experience! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I preface this with we came here after flying first in Cathay Pacific so our expectations were high. The entire resort has the kindest, friendliest, most accommodating, and wonderful staff that ever existed. Everything from proposing to my now fiance so ordering drinks by the pool was awesome. We joke daily how we wish we could go back.

Room Tip: If you can get the villas with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Most of the reviews seem overrated but everything is REAL!

Upon reading all raving reviews on this site, my partner and I feel the need to visit this resort. I, myself have read several blogs and they contained the same commendation. It was peak season then, we were lucky to have the last poolside suite available on that specific date. Glenn, who happens to be the most accommodating GM I've ever met, took care everything from the hour of our arrival in Cebu until the last minute we spent at the resort. Whatever nationality you have, you're assured that the treatment is impartial and with utmost generosity; evidence of a five-star service. Ask me to define their chambermaids-- Cleanliness, personified! And of course, who wouldn't love their in-house Chef, Patrick. For the whole duration of our stay, I always ask Patrick to prepare something that's off their menu and he never fails me.

For a Phil. standard resort, this is quite expensive to be honest but it was worth it. You will surely love everyone's genuine smile and hospitality. This is certainly a piece of paradise. I'll be back soon. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ok, let me just get it out there: This is probably the best boutique hotel in the Philippines. The food is prepared by 5-star chefs when you order and everything tastes delicious (the breakfast menu is better than hotel/resto quality). The service is over the top. The eternity pool is nice and they even give you a snowcone while you are in the pool! The rooms are clean, huge, and outstanding (we even got an upgrade to their biggest room with the mini pool because I am friends w/ one of the owners).

If you want to try a tucked-away hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Cebu, or a boutique hotel that puts out all the stops, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you are looking for a great weekend away you should stay here. The service is amazing and the staff really know how to look after you. They cater for smaller children with a play room within the hotel, the pool boys gave us a small paddling pool and sand pit for our baby to play in. The food is really good and the chef cooked anything for our baby, he basically asked what he would like to eat and asked his team to make it. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them, they went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July and had a wonderful time. There was someone to pick us up from the airport, handing us water and a towel and our room was available in the morning we arrived.

Our room was big and on the ground floor. At first there was a problem with the wifi and the safe but they brought in the appropriate staff to fix these issues right away and made sure the problems were rectified.

There was a large and comfortable bed, day bed, ample storage and decent television. The bathroom had two sinks, a large bathtub and rain shower. It is not fully laid out with toiletries but these are available on request as they are being environmentally friendly as possible, which isn't a bad thing.

Breakfast was included and that was great. There is not a massive choice, considering the hotel's size but the food was excellent and filling. We also had lunch and dinner there, both times we were not disappointed at all with the standard of food and service. Even the head chef came out during our dinner to introduce himself and chat to you.

It did not have its own beach but had jetty for accessing boats and you could kayak in the bit of sea in front of their hotel. They have an infinity swimming pool, which is large enough to do some laps; they even have goggles to borrow if you need them. There is also a gym, which is functional and suitably sized, although the shower there could do with fixing.

This place isn't cheap but you get what you pay for in terms of hotel quality and standard of service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staying at this small (only 9 rooms) resort was an amazing experiencing. We had every plan to explore Cebu city, but for our five days here, couldn't bring ourselves to leave the resort!

The service was unbeatable - these guys know customer service and execute it well. Seriously, nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. In fact, they went over and above what you would expect. My parents-in-law were coming to visit for two days, and unfortunately couldn't get a room in the resort, so they stayed close by. They were treated like royalty by the staff! When the manager and chef found out they were coming, they suggested a special dinner next to the pool. And the staff even made sure they had transport back to the airport when they left.

The restaurant was fantastic, with the exec chef (Pat the Aussie) offered to make us dishes that weren't on the menu. As Aussies who live abroad, he offered to make us something that we missed from home. When we jokingly asked for Vegemite on toast, he was pretty confident he could even deliver on that! But we were spoilt for choice from the menu, so we didn't even have to ask for special requests. Highly recommend the flatbread breakfast pizza!

The pool area is great for relaxing, and half the time we had the pool to ourselves.

I had a massage at the spa, and can highly recommend this experience too. You even get a choice of about five different music / playlists while you're having your treatment!

Two considerations if you're thinking of staying here: 1. There is no beach; and 2. Wouldn't recommend it for young children, as it is small, very quiet and not a big area for them to expend their energy!

But if you're looking for a relaxing getaway that is pure indulgence, then I encourage you to book immediately!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaca Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.