We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abaca Boutique Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaca Boutique Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abaca Boutique Resort
Save
You added Abaca Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Manila
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Abaca Boutique Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Most of the reviews seem overrated but everything is REAL!

Upon reading all raving reviews on this site, my partner and I feel the need to visit this resort. I, myself have read several blogs and they contained the same commendation. It was peak season then, we were lucky to have the last poolside suite available on that specific date. Glenn, who happens to be the most accommodating GM I've ever met, took care everything from the hour of our arrival in Cebu until the last minute we spent at the resort. Whatever nationality you have, you're assured that the treatment is impartial and with utmost generosity; evidence of a five-star service. Ask me to define their chambermaids-- Cleanliness, personified! And of course, who wouldn't love their in-house Chef, Patrick. For the whole duration of our stay, I always ask Patrick to prepare something that's off their menu and he never fails me.

For a Phil. standard resort, this is quite expensive to be honest but it was worth it. You will surely love everyone's genuine smile and hospitality. This is certainly a piece of paradise. I'll be back soon. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ok, let me just get it out there: This is probably the best boutique hotel in the Philippines. The food is prepared by 5-star chefs when you order and everything tastes delicious (the breakfast menu is better than hotel/resto quality). The service is over the top. The eternity pool is nice and they even give you a snowcone while you are in the pool! The rooms are clean, huge, and outstanding (we even got an upgrade to their biggest room with the mini pool because I am friends w/ one of the owners).

If you want to try a tucked-away hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Cebu, or a boutique hotel that puts out all the stops, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you are looking for a great weekend away you should stay here. The service is amazing and the staff really know how to look after you. They cater for smaller children with a play room within the hotel, the pool boys gave us a small paddling pool and sand pit for our baby to play in. The food is really good and the chef cooked anything for our baby, he basically asked what he would like to eat and asked his team to make it. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them, they went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July and had a wonderful time. There was someone to pick us up from the airport, handing us water and a towel and our room was available in the morning we arrived.

Our room was big and on the ground floor. At first there was a problem with the wifi and the safe but they brought in the appropriate staff to fix these issues right away and made sure the problems were rectified.

There was a large and comfortable bed, day bed, ample storage and decent television. The bathroom had two sinks, a large bathtub and rain shower. It is not fully laid out with toiletries but these are available on request as they are being environmentally friendly as possible, which isn't a bad thing.

Breakfast was included and that was great. There is not a massive choice, considering the hotel's size but the food was excellent and filling. We also had lunch and dinner there, both times we were not disappointed at all with the standard of food and service. Even the head chef came out during our dinner to introduce himself and chat to you.

It did not have its own beach but had jetty for accessing boats and you could kayak in the bit of sea in front of their hotel. They have an infinity swimming pool, which is large enough to do some laps; they even have goggles to borrow if you need them. There is also a gym, which is functional and suitably sized, although the shower there could do with fixing.

This place isn't cheap but you get what you pay for in terms of hotel quality and standard of service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staying at this small (only 9 rooms) resort was an amazing experiencing. We had every plan to explore Cebu city, but for our five days here, couldn't bring ourselves to leave the resort!

The service was unbeatable - these guys know customer service and execute it well. Seriously, nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. In fact, they went over and above what you would expect. My parents-in-law were coming to visit for two days, and unfortunately couldn't get a room in the resort, so they stayed close by. They were treated like royalty by the staff! When the manager and chef found out they were coming, they suggested a special dinner next to the pool. And the staff even made sure they had transport back to the airport when they left.

The restaurant was fantastic, with the exec chef (Pat the Aussie) offered to make us dishes that weren't on the menu. As Aussies who live abroad, he offered to make us something that we missed from home. When we jokingly asked for Vegemite on toast, he was pretty confident he could even deliver on that! But we were spoilt for choice from the menu, so we didn't even have to ask for special requests. Highly recommend the flatbread breakfast pizza!

The pool area is great for relaxing, and half the time we had the pool to ourselves.

I had a massage at the spa, and can highly recommend this experience too. You even get a choice of about five different music / playlists while you're having your treatment!

Two considerations if you're thinking of staying here: 1. There is no beach; and 2. Wouldn't recommend it for young children, as it is small, very quiet and not a big area for them to expend their energy!

But if you're looking for a relaxing getaway that is pure indulgence, then I encourage you to book immediately!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you love 5* treatment and expect to pay for it then this is exactly the place for you
The service is exceptional , if ever so slightly obsequious, with a personal butler at your beck and call
The food is first class and breakfast by the pool is recommended
. The chef comes to introduce himself , the manager goes out of his way to make sure everything is as you ordered and the butlers do their job perfectly .
I wouldn't recommend this place for children it is definitely aimed at relaxation and pampering for adults . My friends enjoyed a massage at the spa included on the package
There is nothing to do in the evenings apart from retire to your beautiful room
The villas with pools are a fabulous treat we were a party of four in two rooms and one couple had the top of the range ocean view pool villa whilst it was huge and wonderful villa I not sure it was worth the much higher price ticket as the basic sea view rooms hav absolute front line view of the sea and ours was more than big enough with a lovely balcony
We dined in the restaraunt in our rooms and by the pool and service was fine throughout
The only thing I thought was out of line with the otherwise 5* experience was the rush for use if the poolside cabanas in the morning , they only have 6 and with 9 rooms it means a 'package tour type ' towels on the beds at breakfast to ensure you acquire one after which it is supposed to be yours for the day but if you leave it be prepared for it to have been taken over by someone else
So all on all it is a genuine 5* hotel small and perfectly formed however although we enjoyed the fact it was so small and personal if you were to ask would we return the answer would probably be no for us as we felt they lacked evening entertainment . I mean there isn't even a bar in which to just hav a social drink with other residents
Maybe it's more for honeymoon couples who would make their own entertainment .
The little extras served at the pool each afternoon were appreciated but do remember they are not actually free but prepaid
Prices shown are ++ about another 25% so remember to take a calculator to avoid being surprised
Finally I would say it is worth a visit if you have the cash to splash but getting good service is not usually a problem at most hotels in Philippines
The location is good right by the sea but no beach . There is nothing in the area to do be prepared to stay in the hotel but having said that the rooms are huge, the service and food are great so that isn't really a hardship .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would not recommend it specially with the "tongue lashing" experience we had with one of their foreign guest , the resort's security personnel was not even able to protect us from such considering that our one year old baby was with us.. They should do something about their crowded parking space and protect their guest from people with such "barbarous" behavior...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave O, Public Relations Manager at Abaca Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear LiChin U,

Thank you for openly sharing your experience with us. We have built our resort on the premise that each and every guest at abaca is a VIP and should be treated accordingly. The vast majority of our TripAdvisor reviews reflect our passion to ensure this experience for all who visit abaca. Your experience was not up to our standard in that regard and I would like to personally apologize for the situation that occurred in the parking area in which another guest became verbally abusive. We have already banned this guest from our resort and our other establishments in Cebu as we have a no tolerance policy for any racial or discriminatory behavior.

Sincerely,
abaca management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaca Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.