We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abaca is L-O-V-E!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaca Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abaca Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Abaca Boutique Resort
Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Abaca is L-O-V-E!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is something else! Perfect in every way from their great tasting food, first-class amenities and most specially their wonderful staff. The only thing that was not perfect was our very short stay.

Hubby and I booked two nights at Abaca to celebrate our birthdays. From the start of my email inquiry concerning their room availability to the booking process, everything was handled promptly by Glenn (who happened to be the resort's manager). Everything was seamless.

On our first night we stayed at their Oceanfront Spa Villa and what a lovely villa it was! The staff even surprised us with a birthday cake and wine plus a tray of fresh fruits and cheeses.

If that wasn't enough, the next day we received another wonderful surprise. We were upgraded to their Seaview Pool Villa, their biggest villa. What an amazing birthday celebration this was turning out to be!

Through out our stay, we have been well taken cared of by our personal butlers Raffy and Richie. Great guys! Not to mention their very attentive pool attendants and wait staff at their restaurant. Excellent service all-around!

This was definitely one memorable experience!

Move over Shangri-La, we now have a new favorite place to stay in Cebu. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I originally booked a Poolside Oceanfront Suite for overnight stay with my wife. Few days before our stay, I received an email from Abaca to say that our accommodation has been upgraded into Garden Pool Villa, wow!

Prior to our check in date, I was already in Cebu with my family staying in one of the hotels in Cebu. A complimentary transport from Abaca picked up us from the hotel in Cebu City leaving our children under the care of my relatives. The moment we stepped into the car, we started to experience the best customer service ever! Fresh towels and drinks were provided while in the car. Upon arrival at Abaca Boutique Resort, we were treated like a royalty. The first time staff took us to our Villa, we became speechless! The villa is huge for 2 people with own infinity pool and outdoor shower. There are 2 LCD TVs and Mac Computer with complimentary wireless internet access. The entire villa is decorated with ornaments made of abaca. We love the privacy!

We also love the infinity pool of the resort which overlooks the clear sea water.Everywhere in this place is beautiful including their small gym. Abaca Boutique Resort is definitely a world class resort ideal for couples looking for a romantic gateway. The service is faultless. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future and would highly recommend this place to everyone looking for an amazing place! BTW, we stayed here April 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I was invited by my relatives to join them at this boutique resort hotel. The moment I stepped-in their premises, I was like.. WOW! Like my previous reviews, I was privileged to have relatives that invite me & my sister to 5-star hotels. But this one is different especially for a Philippine setting.

Abaca is good for relaxing, and very good if you prefer a more private place to spend with your family & be it for couples. They only have 9 rooms/suites. It's quite costly compared to other resorts, but its worth it. What made it even special is the warm welcome and hospitality of their staff. To add up, their food is exquisite! I love
almost everything there! I admire their careful selection of furnitures and interior accessories. You can feel the personal touch of the Architect & Interior Designer that did this resort.

My husband & I would save up for ourselves for a vacation like this if we're able to. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Yes, the hotel has no beach but who needs one when there is such amazing service from the staff. This is truly an amazing experience. The fact that it is a boutique hotel means you don't have huge crowds at the poolside. All the staff were tremendously helpful and obliging. The rooms are clean and breakfast great. Special thanks to Glenn, Angelo for making our family trip so special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The one thing I will take away with me is the impeccable service that this resort exhibits. Their attention to detail for your needs is tremendous. Butlers Angelo and Raffy go all out to make your stay so welcoming. Cold towels and cocktails welcome you. Sweet treats will delight you every night. By the pool side cabana, flavored sorbets are served to cool you. Kudos to chef wade too for making such lovely breakfasts! I am always looking forward to the meals at his restaurant. Come to abaca and you'll have a memorable stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From arriving at the airport and our butler being so welcoming to every detail of our 4 night stay it was pretty dam perfect. We stayed in a middle floor front facing room. Spacious, clean and everything you need. Baby cot, bath bath and steriliser in the room. Babysitting service available. Chef checked what our baby wanted to eat straight away - very accommodating. Food in the restaurant excellent - every meal faultless. Pool guys ran around to meet our requests with smiles. They even built a plastic sand pit beside our loungers for the kids to play in and gave them plastic bowls with fish in them to play with! Staff had such a 'can do' attitude that you don't see that much nowadays! We will return!

Room Tip: front facing with view out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From airport meeting to departure Abaca lived up to the expectations of service and relaxation. Staff cannot do enough for you, literally running to fetch things for you or making sure you have everything you need.

Rooms are great, staff amazing and food and drinks all top notch. Raffy and Angelo are great and deserve credit for the effort they go to. The Chef (forget his name) was also great and made sure to catch up each day to see if there were any special requests he could do for us.

ONLY little down side is no beach and not really any activities at the resort. Its really all about relaxing in or by the pool. But activities can be arranged easily if needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaca Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.