We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Cebu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Cebu Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Cebu Resort
Suba Basbas, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Budget friendly resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked through Agoda for the Easter holidays, admittedly the rates were quite cheap. We got two Deluxe Garden view rooms with breakfast . The rooms were okay though they havent upgraded yet to a Flat TV, the drain in the bathroom takes a bit of time to drain, there were no grab bars in the bathroom tub which is not so safe specially for older people like my father. The buffet breakfast was very limited around 3 different breakfast items only. The waiters need training very badly, when we had dinner using their ala carte menu , they have no product knowledge at all. Their housekeeping staff were surprisingly not too courteous, unlike the other resorts and hotels we have check in during the past, they never greet you , they just look at you and its surprising this is supposed to be a Japanese owned resort and most of the Japanese training always focuses on courtesy . But as a hotelier myself, this resort needs a lot to improve although I must say this resort is value for money . For our short Easter Holiday, we still enjoyed and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    35
    33
    20
    18
See reviews for
22
29
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 rooms (standard garden view & villa). We arrived at the resort around 1:30pm but got our 1st room around 3pm. The other room was given to us around 5pm.

Their website is outdated. Made a reservation thru Agoda since it was cheaper than the rates indicated in their site. When we arrived, the amount I paid thru Agoda was exactly the same amount of their promotion which I thought was going to take effect on April 2013 based on their site. The one I bought from Agoda didn't include a free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are looking for a budget resort experience for small children or a scuba couple, close to Cebu, this may suit your needs. The staff are friendly and accommodating, but you have to ask for what you want, with a smile, and they will take care of you. When we asked for a cleaner room, they were quick to move us. This resort is isolated, and has only one adequate restaurant on the premises, but you get what you pay for, right? Restaurants and other water sports are a 20-40 minute taxi ride away. Taxis will run 450 pesos per trip. They arranged snorkeling (ask for discounts) and you can negotiate for an air conditioned van with driver to see sights in the city. (cheaper than a commercial tour- 2500 for the day). Drive up the mountain for cheap (and yes, safe) zipline and amazing views of the gulf.

Room Tip: Try for the family living rooms--connected rooms near the children's pool. Quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent place to stay, PCR is the best for divers and couples, there is a diving school inside the hotel, the bedroom is like heaven, it is an ocean view, just 10 meters away from the white sand! We really have a great time as staff here is really nice and friendly and kind! This resort is really cheap for price/service quality. Only air condition is quite noisy ask for new bedroom with new air condition. You'll love the experience at PCR!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Every thing was writen in japanese - not in english. The receptionstaff was very unkind to us and maked us feel not welcome from the first tjek-in. We had booked 2 dobbelt-room for 4 people throug Agodia - but the reception said that there only was one name on the voucher and that was the cardholders, so there was a hugh problem and we coulden't tjek-in.because they only had dokumentation for one person. We had paid full price so we couldn't see any problem...after waiting some time the reception said ok you can check-in tonight but come bach tomorrow to traithen this up... we never did and they didn't say anything, even not at tjek-out..
Our rooms was ok but the linned was only changed every 3. day and we had to tell the staff after the 4. day and even then they were rud.. They had no internet for a week, so we had to paid for a month, no discount, no excuses... They overprices for taxi - up to 300%, and everything in the shop is overpriced - even water. We took a tuck-tuck into town and shopped grosseries. Better to pay the locals outside the resort, they give you a better service than the people inside.
The only reel god thing is the restaurant. Here you meet nice people and eat god food witch is not overpriced. We liked the "permanent" restaurant a lot but didn't tried the tents..
My recomendation for this place is to stay away and find a nother, closer to town and pay that extra it cost - I think the money is better given away when you dont need to feel so unwelcoming liked we did. You have to be from Asia and have bought a dive-pacage to thing this is ok...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This resort has a rather remote location, and they are making the most of it by milking their guests with ridiculously inflated charges for everything! The hotel taxi is 700 pisos to nearest town of Lapu-Lapu. A metered taxi ordered via reception was 82 pesos, but a dishonest taxi driver wanted another 100 pisos "pick-up charge". Same taxi driver offered to wait and drive us back for 700! Finally a tricycle back from Lapu-Lapu was only 50 pisos!

Internet is 500 for 24 hours, 1500 for a week. Breakfast is 500. The tours desk only has brochures in Japanese. The pools were dirty, the rooms dated, and we had a massive cockroach in our bathroom. The grounds are unkempt, so watch where you step.

Even though nothing is included in the room charge, I still had to pay extra for a friend to spend a night in my room, for which I'd already paid. The staff are polite enough, but the hotel is taking the mick by overcharging for absolutely everything.

If you do stay at this hotel and want to get away, walk up to the gate and catch a tricycle to the nearest mall or restaurant, you will guaranteed save a bundle and have a much nicer experience! A 10-minute walk from the gate you will also find a basic road-side shop to get some basics, rather than spend a penny at this prison-style scam "resort".

Room Tip: "Superior ocean view" is still obstructed by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

From the hotel, we went straight to Pacific Cebu. The stay was for a discounted rate, so I decided to avail of it. I availed of the van pick up since it was part of the package, and the supposedly air conditioned fan really made me sweat. Good thing the van driver was really nice.

The beds we had were pretty comfortable, though the sliding glass door to the terrace couldn't be locked. Workers entered our room several times to fix it.

We had our lunch at their restaurant, food was pretty decent and their servings were pretty big. Every one was very nice and accommodating - room service, the waiters, the receptionists.

The beach was rocky though, had several cuts on my feet even though I was wearing my flip flops when I went to the water.

Tried to swim in their pool but I eventually found myself full of spots - itchy red spots. So I took a bath real quick - must be the pool water. When the itch was gone I just decided to lounge around and stare at the water.

True, this is such an expensive place to be in - perhaps it's because it's in the middle of nowhere and getting supplies to this place is quite an effort.

We wanted to get a van to get to the city, but was asked to pay 700php. Good thing there was a taxi that had to drop a guest off. Note that in normal circumstances, taxis don't get to this place with the intent of getting passengers. So we were just really lucky.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Cebu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Cebu Resort

Address: Suba Basbas, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#11 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Cebu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Pacific Cebu Lapu
Pacific Cebu Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Cebu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.