We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small cramped rooms, bed smells bad, old and dingy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Le Carmen
21 Juana Osmena Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“small cramped rooms, bed smells bad, old and dingy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

my family and i saw the website and the reviews. at first we wondered why there were no pictures of the actual room on the site but let it slide. BIG MISTAKE. upon our arrival, we were puzzled as to why the cab driver stopped. then, we saw that hotel carmen was not actually along the street, it was in a narrow alley-way (eskinita) with a cheap sign painted on the cement wall leading you there.

the room was so small. it's about the size of my bathroom back home, or 1/3 the size of your average classroom. AND THIS WAS THE FAMILY ROOM! mom and dad shared the "double" bed and i was on the "twin" bed but they were practically the same size. space between the beds was like 10 inches apart and you cant really walk around the room without bumping into each other. it's so annoying that they publish it as a family room when it looks like they just stuffed as much furinture as they can (two beds, one closet which was right beside a desk and on top of the desk was the tv which was beside the door. across this cramped mess were the beds, which had a weird smell and made us unable to rest properly. can u picture how small it is?

btw, beside the closet is the wall.on the wall is a very tiny aircon but it was cold so thts ok. but below the aircon on the wall is a tiny door that says "fire escape". totally freaked me out and made me feel like tiny dwarves were gonna come in at the middle of the night. i mean shouldnt the fire escape be outside the rooms? this is like creating an alternate entrance to the room, compromising the safety of the guests.

the bathroom- shower looked ok, the blue tiles were the saving factor. however the toilet seat was yellow and cracked. i dont understand why the people reviewed it as "new" when it looked rotting and old.

the pictures on their site are definitely deceptive. i suggest asking them to email you actual pics of the rooms u wanna book if u plan to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
5
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Carmen for 7 nights from March 4th to March 11th for a friend's wedding. I really liked the location. It was within walking distance to great restaurants, grocery stores, and Robinson mall which has tons of cute stores and restaurants also. There are also tons of taxis right outside the hotel if you want to travel farther away. Our room was very clean, had hot water and was air conditioned. It was crazy hot outside!! So it was nice to come back to an air conditioned room. There's a little convenience store in the front of the hotel where I was able to buy water and snacks after a long day out and about. My husband superly liked the free wi-fi internet connection and he especially liked the room price because he's so frugal. I was scared because it only costs 25 dollars per night so I was thinking what the heck kind of place are we gonna stay in that's only 25 dollars a night? I mean I was thinking it would be yucky, but it wasn't at all. We stayed in a room with a King Sized Bed and it had a HUGE bathroom. I loved the decor. It had a picture of Marilyn Monroe in the room and was decorated in a modern style. The staff speaks very good English and were very friendly and helpful to me and my husband. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Cebu.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

The booking ahead is useless. They cancel your booking eventhough you double check with them 3 days before you arrive. If you really want to stay in hotel Le Carmen... prepare some near by hotel lists.

We booked 3/11 & 3/14 each night for two budge rooms. They cancel my booking for the dealy check in on 3/11, we 4 people stay in the family room which they only left. The bed is too small for two person. When we check out on 3/12, I had double checked with reception of my two budget room on 3/14, the reception answered me there is no problem. When we back to this hotel on 3/14, the reception told me" there is no available rooms for you" without any apology. They ask us to take one family room and one budget room or 4 people stay in the family room again..... This is soooooo bad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai China / USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I stopped in 5 other hotel/hostels in this area, compared prices and locations. This one seemed to be the best choice. I read the other reviews and they are pretty well on line with what you get. Room was clean and bathroom was sanitary w/hot water. Staff was helpful with any questions given. I really liked the location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siargao
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

On our first day of arrival, we were checked in at 7 Am and asked for a deposit and was told to come back before noon as our room is still occupied. At 9 am I called if our room is ready, (its not) she just promised to text me as soon as its vacated. Me and my husband both lugging our heavy laptop and two energetic kids we went back in the hotel at 1:30 pm even if she still havent texted me back. Then we have to wait at the lobby for 30 more minutes (its almost 2 pm) as they just started cleaning our room. Our room is deluxe with balcony 1350 php + 150 per night for a small ref we requested. For a family of four, the receptionist suggested we get this room instead as it would be more spacious than family room. I dont know how it got more comfortable with just two single beds for the 4 of us. The balcony is facing the setting sun and most of the time the thick curtain is just closed or else we get sunburnt. Cabinet door hinge is broken, insignificant but annoying for me who always tidy things up. Tiny warm blanket for a blasting good brand aircon. Well. fit for our tiny beds anyway. Getting inside the hotel entrance is an adventure too, dodging parked cars being washed, you gotta be ready to hang on to something should you slip on the inclined wet driveway. I had to admit I really hate the driveway and its the only entrance/exit to the hotel. Guys always lined up sitting/chatting and sometimes could overhear side remarks. On the 3 days we stayed, we never had any housekeeping who came or ask if we want the room cleaned. With two kids and mc donalds or pizza delivery every meal, the trash is piling up as fast as Im leaving it outside our door, so on the 3rd day early morning I scheduled for a clean up at 12 noon, I was answered with a cheery "no problem maam". At 12:45 I did a follow up and was answered by a disbelieving chuckling voice "its still lunch time maam". I now realized why we were only allowed in our room at 2 pm in our first day before. On the good side, nice big bathroom and fast wifi connection.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

New hotel. Very comfortable. Great location. Close to a major supermarket, shops, restaurants, money changer, etc, etc. Had a very convenient small shop/store in front of the hotel where one coule buy food, drinks, mobile phone load, etc, etc. Hotel staff were great. Very safe and secure with night security guard always on duty.

  • Liked — Great location, helpful staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

The hotel is about five floors with four rooms per floor. It is owned by a Philippina who worked as a nurse in the USA so the standards are high and the rooms are neat and clean. It's in a great location within walking distance of many eateries and other hotels. We paid 1550 pesos per night at 40 pesos to the US dollar. There is a real shower in the bathrooms and not a "flood the bathroom" type shower. The TV includes about 40 channels with HBO and Cinemax which is excellent. There is a security guard at the front door which is normal for the Pilippines so security is good given the small size of the place. The air con worked very well. Only problems were no frig in room, no in room safe and not much shelf space in the bathroom. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The room was fairly large. The staff is very friendly. It can be a little noisy although it is off the main street a bit. It's just a very busy neighborhood. It isn't too far to pier 4 if you plan to go to other islands from Cebu. Taxi from the airport was 200 pesos with some hard bargaining.

  • Liked — Lots of TV channels in English
  • Disliked — No frig in room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Carmen

Address: 21 Juana Osmena Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean inspired tropical oasis awaits you. Wrought iron balconies to take in city views in the upscale neighborhood of Fuente Circle in Cebu City, Philippines. Restaurants, malls, and Internet cafes are within walking distance. All rooms are air-conditioned, with hot and cold shower, color television with cable, telephone, and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Carmen Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.