We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel Fortuna
26 Borromeo St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
1 review
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great place, affordable, friendly staff, short walk away from the shops and church. breakfast is simple, but pretty good. Lunch is a lovely buffet on the ground floor. Though, the rooms are a bit small and the halls are narrow for big luggages. Other than that, great place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bukidnon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend recommended me this Hotel as my second trip to Cebu City. The Hotel is very clean and you can feel security leaving your things in your room. The staff are friendly and accommodating. If you would like to eat Chinese foods then it is only beside the Hotel. I loved my stay in the hotel because cheaper things I bought was just around the hotel. The STo. Noño Church is just a walk distance away from this hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagayan de oro city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It was my first time to be in the hotel, to be in the location as well. Although the "environment" outside is not really pleasant, once you get in the hotel, you would feel like it's completely a different place! From their facilities, interior designs, Hotel Fortuna is such a great place to stay. The hotel itself is secure, and you can even say that the staff seemed to be really handpicked from among their fields because they are really good with their jobs. Very friendly and accommodating! My money was not wasted in staying here! Let me also mention and this was very helpful to me. You could now directly book online with the hotel! Convenient, ey! Just visit http://hotelfortuna.metrocebuhotels.com/

Room Tip: Just visit http://hotelfortuna.metrocebuhotels.com/ for accurate details regarding the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Fortuna for 2 days. It's a great hotel, for the most part. The lobby is very nice. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Security is excellent. The rooms are more than adequate, although the shower curtain should fully extend to the floor. The only drawback is the location. Oh, it's not entirely bad, but my friends who live there said don't go walking around at night. There's a string a food kiosks along the way to a main street. Had no problems walking through the crowd. Even saw a few foreigners walking in their midst from my hotel window. I can't say whether or not I would stay there again, due to the accommodations and staff. There's a nice bakery next door with an equally attentive staff.

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here again in Feb. 2012. As before, the accomodations were very nice, good service and friendly reception. We were on the 6th floor when the earthquake hit and had no problem. I would recommend the deluxe room. All in all, a very good value. Thank you to Michael and Carmen Sy. Don't forget the bakery next door!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The biggest problem I encountered was that taxi drivers generally don't know the hotel (which is advertised as "new", yet clearly is not).

While the daily room rate is reasonable, I baulked big-time at having to pay 100 pp a day (sign in room says 50pp a day) for the use of a safety deposit box. An unusual and rather petty charge, in my opinion. Also, I wasn't too fussed about the 500pp deposit on the key card.

Breakfast on both days was close to inedible and the fried sausage/spam/tinned meat smelled rotten.

Room Tip: Nothing much is open nearby at night, so you need to travel by cabs to have a meal etc. IT may be si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piastow, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I've stayed there for 3 nights in double room. First impression - room without window! - but it was also a positive thing- during the night was very silent. Room was relative small but for short stay was ok. It was reasonable clean. Bathroom could be cleaner.
Breakfast was served next to reception desk and wasn't especially attractive.
Try to persuade the cook for eggs or something more tasteful than fried sausages and bacon.
Hotel equipped with elevator. A lot of business conferences were held during my stay there.
Very good location almost in Cebu center - next to streets going to marketplace.

Room Tip: Rooms without window are not so bad at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Address: 26 Borromeo St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortuna, the newest and modern hotel in downtown, offers it guests the ultimate and homely vacation experience. The seven-story hotel can accommodate around 350 persons and has 65 well-appointed rooms. Available Conference areas can accomodate up to 1000 guest and are fully equipped with the latest audio visual equipments. The commercial areas, the fast food chains and the historical markers of Cebu City are nearby. Most of All bargain shopping is a stone throw away and SM City, Ayala Center are also easily accessible from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Cebu City
Hotel Fortuna Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.