We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel needing updating but OK for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mango Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mango Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General Maxilom Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“hotel needing updating but OK for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The impression I got from the photos did not match up with reality. I thought it was nearer the center of town and that it was more elegant than I experienced it.
The location: between the center and the hotel was walking distance but not to be recommended as it was unsafe due to street kids waylaying you and robbing you on the way. Take a cab!
The room: acceptable but small and in need of updating. I had a bath and TV and A/C that was noisy and situated so that I couldn't sit and enjoy air conditioning. Lying down it was OK. The bed was big enough and comfortable and I slept undisturbed.
Breakfast: it looked good but was consisted mainly of food for asians. The bench-like sitting arrangements were rather primitive and cafe-like.
The park? I think this referred to a few trees around the front entrance and car park but I didn't investigate further. I didn't have time to try out the swimming pool so cannot comment on this.
If I were going to spend more than one night I would not choose this hotel but a more modern hotel if necessary further from the center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Director of Sales at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Sir,

Thank you for the review. We value your opinions in order for us to serve you even better. We have to admit that our photos are quite outdated due to the on-going renovations. We are happy to say that we have completed 100% our renovation of the rooms as well as our Restaurant, #46 Mango Avenue that is bigger and gives a more culinary food experience to our Guests.

To date, we have upgraded our Air-conditioning and TVs as well and will be one of the first hotels to offer USB outlets for your mobile phones, tablets, iPads, etc.

We will be constantly updating our photos as we further complete our facade.

Please visit our website www.mangoparkhotel.com and facebook page: www.facebook.com/MangoParkHotel to get first hand updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    89
    71
    21
    9
See reviews for
10
32
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an older hotel but its conveniently located near the center of Cebu--although a cab ride (inexpensive) is necessary to get to the center. Rooms were large but rather drab, clean and the bed was fine. No complaints. We stayed here one night while we took a quick look at Cebu before catching a ferry to Bohol. Overall, fine but average. Would probably stay here again for the same purpose since didn't see many alternatives in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My hubby and I used to stay here whenever we go to Cebu because it is near on his family and relatives who lives in Lahug. This October 31-November 2, to celebrate the All-Saints day we reserved a Suite Room for 3-days. The room is huge with 1-Queen size bed and 1-single bed. I noticed the Dresser fronting the toilet door which gives me the creep. I just don't like the looks of it. Really creepy for me. Also the room is not well lit. Like in a toilet room, only 2 light bulbs are in it, 1 in a shower room and one in the bath-tub area.
Please note for the women who will stay in this hotel, this hotel has only 1 (ONE) Hair-dryer!!! You will have to wait for the guest to checked-out before you can borrow the only 1 hair-dryer..my goodness!! To add up to my dissapointment, there is NO COMPLIMENTARY BOTTLED WATER, we have to buy our own bottled water outside. Their bottled water in the fridge costs P30.00 (P10.00 in the supermarket). Buffet breakfast is okay even though limited food choices.
On the lighter side, the staff are all attentive and nice. The hotel location is also good, near Jollibee and Fuente Osmena circle.
I asked my husband to checked other hotels next time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Mam,

Thank you for the review. We try our best to accommodate your requests and we always listen to suggestions. We are happy to say that as of March this year, we have updated and improved our amenities thanks to you... :)

We have equipped all our rooms with hair dryers and have given complimentary bottled water already as part of our added service. We are now 100% renovated in all our Guest Rooms, Function Rooms, Restaurant and soon our new spacious lobby.

We hope to see you back and reconsider us to experience the new Mango Park Hotel experience. You can get updates by visiting our newly updated website www.mangoparkhotel.com

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The first problem was that we were being charged for a Deluxe room but were put into a standard room. The phone in the room didn't work and it took them a day and a half to finally get it working. In the meantime I asked about the room rate and they said there was nothing they could do unless we wanted to pay an additional 400P a night which would have raised the cost of the room to about what a decent hotel room in the USA is.

The second problem was the room was infested with all kinds of ants and bugs that kept getting into our food so we could not eat it even after one night. Again, nothing could be done.

The final and biggest problem was that after we moved to another Hotel we were charged for the days that we were not even in Mango Park and are now working with our bank to get this money returned.

All in all this was one of the worst travel experiences we have ever had, and suffice it to say we will NEVER stay in Mango Park Hotel again, nor will we ever refer friends or family to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for the review and our apologies for the inconvenience that you have encountered.
With regards to your incident, your booking came through a prepaid online Travel site and we have to respect our agreements with them since they are our partners. We cannot cancel a booking without them receiving a Guest cancellation. We did advise them anyway and we hope that everything was settled.

We are sorry for the telephone mishap as technical problems arise from time to time. We have made necessary changes and improvements to this and so far is already working well.

As for the ants / bugs in your food, we have a regular treatment for that maintained.
As we all know, whenever food is left in the open for hours these insects will always find its way. It is important to either store it in the refrigerator or have room service take it out.
Again, we are making ways to diligently have food dished out after eating if permitted by the Guest.

In behalf of the Management and staff, our sincere apologies. We cannot change what has happened. Rest assured we are committed to serve you. We are also happy to say that we have done and completed our renovation of all our Guests Rooms, Meeting Rooms and we have a now F&B outlet called #46 Mango Avenue which serves local and international culinary dishes.

If in any case your are visiting Cebu again, please email us and we will be happy to take care of your stay and let you experience our new look and better service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Over the years I have stayed many times in this hotel. It is nicely located between Ayala terraces and Mango square, both a 5 min ride. The rooms all have a nice bathroom with nice spatious shower cabin with glass sides, but with a poor shower head. The standard rooms may look a bit poor, with no mini bar, just a tray with snacks. Beds have nice hard matrasses.

The breakfast buffet has a nice offering for both western style breakfasts or asian, and i consider it good for a hotel in this range.

The rooftop pool I always enjoy, which most of the times is without people so you can swim all alone.

The staff have consistently over the years given an apathetic impression, which has started to charm me. Don't get me wrong, everything you ask for is being looked after and they will try to be helpfull, but there's just no spirit. But then again, this is also not a 4-5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Standard double rooms are located at the back of the hotel so you will be staring at a brick wall wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

since i met me hubby who lives in cebu every time i visit him i always ask him for us to stay an overnight at Mango Park Hotel coz i love the place clean and quiet, i love the pool and the foods. ..was surprised last August 18, 2012 when i saw their rooms renovated carpeted floor, the bathroom and the breakfast buffet yummy!! the price rate good enough.. 'till next time Mango Park.. keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boracay island, not bora
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Location is the greatest asset of this hotel. It's very near to commercial areas. Buffet breakfast is great also. The room is okay while the staff service is great. If you want a simple hotel, then Mango Park Hotel is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review... We try our best to being your home in the heart of Cebu.
We are happy to say that we have completed our Renovation with the hotel's new look, classy and modern while maintaining the service. We have also re opened our new F&B outlet, #46 Mango Avenue which serves even more better food for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mango Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Park
Mango Park Cebu City
Mango Park Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: General Maxilom Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Park Hotel is your home in the heart of Cebu. A boutique concept hotel located in uptown Cebu. We are a six-story establishment with 48 rooms, a minimalist setting with a twist of the Old Cebu design, intricately made wooden cabinets with modern amenities. Strategically located along General Maxilom Avenue, it is ideal for Businessmen and Leisure guests alike. It is within easy reach from different Business/Commercial Centers, Malls and is only 10 minutes away to the Seaports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mango Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.