We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away it's terrible hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Century Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Century Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Century Plaza Hotel
Century Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juana Osmena Street | Century Plaza Commercial Complex, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stay away it's terrible hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We joined a conference and trade exhibition in Cebu early this year and I had my EA booked us in this hotel as I have discount from my membership from an Association. Looking at their website it seems pretty good considering it is located at heart of the City.

I had to send my staff ahead of me for a day as I still got commitments that needs to be attended here in Manila. When my staff picked me up from the airport he told me about how bad the hotel was. I thought he was only exaggerating but he was not even close to it when he was explaining to me how it was.

First, there was no water. According to the hotel receptionist some guys who checked in earlier left the faucet opened and water running, consequently dried up their overhead tanks. They were already pumping water as of the time I checked in and may take a while to have the tanks completely filled up. Water started flowing the morning after.

Second, I noticed that the hotel is being used by local chaps to hold their party inside the room. When they got drunk and all, they got rowdy and noisy.

Third, the rooms are not as what it is in the pictures in their website. Linens are old and deteriorated. You can see some water marks on it. There were cockroaches in the cabinets. Television sets are old and don't have working remote control. The rooms are very dark and lacks lighting with busted bulbs. Air conditioning unit very noisy and I could go on endlessly. Truly the hotel lived up to its name. It's CENTURY OLD!!!

We checked out the following morning and looked for another hotel.

Stay away from this hotel! There are many other good budget hotels in the City about the same price with way much better facility.

Room Tip: There's no good room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
3
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and i enjoyed being there, the hotel staff were great and room cleaning was very good, i would recommend this hotel, although it is a bit aged, but never the less, a cheap hotel for tourists to stay at, and right in the heart of cebu city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel in its facade does not have a fancy fountain nor a robust statue to boast. It does not have a worthwhile receiving area but all these are tolerable if your budget is tight and you need a cozy place to stay. Besides, the main purpose of a hotel is simply to place your things and look around for Cebu City is quite a place to explore!

The hotel receptionists are quite hospitable and accommodating. The attendants to will always give a cheerful hello and attends to your needs. What I like best in this hotel are the spacious rooms. Unlike other hotel room that are cramped, its hotel gives the space for your luggage and even for your visitors. Secondly, I like the location of this hotel. It is in the middle of many leisure destinations like a comedy bar, a spa, a disco, resto, etc. Everything is just a walk away so to speak.

As an added note, we left a cellphone there and an hour after they immediately called us on how to return the cellphone. I was so delighted with this good gesture. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

we stayed her for a day, the place is nice, it's near the busy streets of cebu, the mall is walking distance, the staff are friendly.. a nice place to stay! (",)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Hotel location and services are very good. Rooms are large compared to other hotel rooms. If you are in a wheel chair, this is the place to be in. This is a purely business hotel and not a beach resort hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

very dirty, and they wanted me to share a twin room with my friend said no more rooms then when we said no went to walk out they found another room for us, bedding was unclean is the best word to use, stayed the few hours over the night as I got there late and left next morning and went across the road the the cebu view tourist inn which was clean and cheaper so stayed there for 15 days was nice. but this place is just dirty all over and staff were not happy bunnys at all no friendly smiles.

Plus the TV cable TV was all fuzzy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel

Address: Juana Osmena Street | Century Plaza Commercial Complex, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.