We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza Cebu to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The best hotel I have used in Cebu. The roof top grill in fantastic with nice views of the City. Great night time entertainment both by the pool and inside. Good value for money. Good dinning options and a very nice well presented swimming pool.
The only slight negative is the distance from the downtown area makes getting a taxi a little hard at times. You can often expect a 10-15 minute wait. The hotel does however offer a free shuttle service to the malls although I did not use this service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    219
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
119
128
50
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US/Phil.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Do yourself a favor, do not check in here...My husband and I reserved for a room 3 weeks in advance. Upon check -in, our room was not yet available. We were told by a staff to bring our bags at the concierge. They won't take them at the concirge becauew we were not checked in yet. Our luggages were all the while placed just in front of it. Seen by all people passing by and visible from the rstaurant lobby were we were asked to wait while our room is made available. We were made to wait 2 long hours without even saying a word of update from time to time! They knew all the while that we were at the restaurant lobby. We finished our lunch already and the room isn't available yet. We were the ones who would occasionally approach them and ask if the room is already preapared. The staff at the front desk only told us to wait. Nothing else, as if we have not been waiting for 2 hours yet!
When the room was ready, we were just given the ke to our room. No guide whatsoever and nobody to help us wheel in our luggages. I had to ask them to do it! (Now we just came directly from Shangrila Mactan for a 3 day stay and it was awful to experience the opposite way we were treated in Shangrila. I only wished we had stayed there for the whole week instead.)
Room - ordinary, small. Ours was facing the Nivel hills, which was not nice to look at at all, unless you want to reflect on how blessed you are that you could afford a 5 star hotel while the poor people stay in their shabby houses.
Restaurant service. (Marco Polo) - Has the most ill-mannered staff I have ever encountered. When you enter, sometimes, there would be somebody to greet you, sometimes not. Those who greet looked reluctant or shy. Nobody offered us coffee, nor even told us just where to find it. The waiters keep pasiing by, without doing anything but get used plates from the table. My husband finally, stood up, and made his own coffe right from their nook and nobody stil assisted him. One time, there was only the manager , the only one who was sensitive and polite enough to ask us for what we need. He served us coffee. Except for this employee, nothing else at Marco Polo is good. Worse is their serving crew whi was stationed at the noodles section. He saw a number of us waiting to have our congees and noodles, also three of the wiaters who were at the floor. All 4 of them saw us, and pretended that they did not see anybody instead of assisting us. It seeemed to me that none of them wanted to volunteer to cover up for their co-worker's area of responsibility in his absence or in his busy-ness. WORST was this: I was eating and my husband stood up to get some fruits.A few minutes, from behind me, a staff walked pass me hurriedly and took, just took away my husband's plate without even a word or so. HOW RUDE!!!! Was he not supposed to acknowledge my presence, that I am still eating, and that he should at least make a gesture that he's going to take it from the table with my permission? OMG! I have been to lots of 1 star to 5 star hotels, throughout the nation and some other countries but I have never seen a service as poor as this.
A few good things I noticed: the manager of the restaurant who was sensitive to our needs, their chef who makes their pastries which are good, and the one who answers and taked orders for their room service. Aside from that, nothing else.
Their pool is in front of the restaurant lobby, I didn't try it, I think it is a bit small. The lady that served us our order on our first day while we were waiting to check was also unimpressive. She did not try to hide from us that is was bored waiting for us to pick our order.
WI-FI CONNECTION - we got this all for free in Shangrila and yet we have to pay so much for this in Marco Poloteh hotel which annoyed us with their poor service. OMG! i will never come back!
I hate this hotel. It was a waste of money. Imagine spending your money expecting to receive an excellent service and being treated this way?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Clean, well organised with great views of the city - although the price you pay for this is the hotel is a little out of town

Excellent buffet breakfast with a huge choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is definitely up there with some of the best I have stayed at.
The service is excellent especialy in the dining areas and the staff are immaculately groomed and presented.
The food at the buffets for breakfast,lunch and dinner is not cheap but the standard is very high so the money paid is worth it.
The pool area is very appealing with submerged deck chairs and two small warmer lap pools beside the larger pool.
Reception staff were well trained and all my room billing which was quite extensive was correct with no "miscellaneous" charges which is often the case at large hotels.
The hotel is a bit out of town but the hotel has a free shuttle running into town ever hour and also outside the main gate are jeepneys running to everywhere so location is not a big deal really.
Probably the only slight blemish in my opinion was the mountian view room which was very nice and more than adequate but probably not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel but this is being quite fussy I think.
By the way mountain view is actually mountain view/shanty view!!!!!.
Thank you Marco Polo for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

May/June was my third stay at the Marco Polo Plaza in Cebu City. Again, I was not disappointed. This is indeed an excellent hotel. Staff are professional, friendly and courteous; the grounds are beautifully landscaped and the facilities always impreccably clean and well maintained.

Although it's not hard to tell that the hotel was run previously under a different name (hotel architecture gives this away), the rooms have been modernised (new LCD TVs with lots of cable & local channels) and are always spotlessly clean each day. The airconditioning is powerful, which helps in the sticky Cebu climate, but you can adjust it to your comfort.

Breakfast offers a large selection of foods - Filipino, Korean & Western tastes are all extensively catered for. The poolside cafe is great for a beer or a snack and their chicken focaccia sandwich is unbeatable. The pool is huge, and features a waterfall, submerged deckchairs (for enjoying sun in the pool) and a separate children's area. The rooftop bar & restaurant, Blu, offers great night time views of Cebu City as well.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. I've found independent Filipino hotels to be, for the price charged, very substandard and unprofessional. The Marco Polo Plaza is an excellent hotel, and offers decent value for money, though I would encourage travellers to check other sites, as the Marco Polo website, while claiming to offer the best rates, is not always the cheapest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Second time staying at Marco Polo.

They have early check-in & late check out supplementary charges which were quite helpful (especially with a 6am arrival). Check-in was friendly and efficient.

Room was adequately appointed, though I thought the towels needed to be changed.

Buffets are still the top drawer of the hotel. Need we say more?
Had drinks at openair rooftop Blu, which had a fantastic view.

staff are friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

this hotel was just amazing and exceeding all our expectations. we stayed here in may 2009 for a weekend get away and it proved to be an excellent choice: staff was very helpful, location was perfect, rooms were nice and spacious and the view of the whole town was a real plus. We also organized a couple of day tours to the waterfalls and diving sites through the hotel at the last minute and everything worked out perfectly. one thing that we really appreciated the most was the flexibility of the hotel staff. we really felt that they were going out of their way to make our star nice and comfortable. if you are lucky to go there, do try the bar on the top floor and the swimming pool! =)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 80 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 80 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 80 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.