We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best City Hotel in Cebu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best City Hotel in Cebu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Recently visited this Cebu landmark last Aug 1-3. My trip was a working holiday. Got a room on the Continental Floor which is i perfect for those traveling alone or need some privacy. As always, food was excellent, especially their Swiss themed buffet. At the Continental lounge you can enjoy a la carte meals at breakfast then a small buffet is set up for lunch, merienda and early evening cocktails. There is also an open bar. As for the room it was spacious with all the amenities and creature comforts one might expect from a 5-star establishment. What is great about this hotel are the little things that make one's stay special, like cheese and nuts plate when I arrived or the night snacks they tempt you with like cookies and ensaymada. My only issue was the person above me room who kept moving furniture around. Strange. Still the only hotel I consider when staying in City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Continental floor and with a view of Cebu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear PJEnriquez,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing your most recent stay experience at our hotel property. Indeed, the Continental Club Lounge is perfect to those who prefer the luxury of privacy. We are delighted to note of your appreciation of the “little things” that make our accommodation special.

Thank you for the good word and we certainly look forward to see you again on your next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    179
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
92
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Once again the Marco Polo Hotel excelled in service and hospitality,we have stayed here many times,all the staff,from the front door to the front desk,restaurants,just have it all together,our room was immaculate,bath room very clean,we have stayed in many of the hotels in Cebu the Marco Polo is on top of the list for us,they are a little away from the shopping centers there are plenty of taxis,they provide a very good shuttle system to the shopping centers,once again thanks to all at the Marco Polo for making our stay there again just a pleasure we will be back again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear trev c,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for placing us on top of your list of Cebu hotel accommodations and sharing the good word here on Tripadvisor. It serves as a constant inspiration for all our associates to deliver the best stay experience we call, “The Marco Polo Way”.

It is our pleasure to see you again soon. Thank you for making the Marco Polo Plaza your home in Cebu!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here July 11 to 16, booked 2 rooms:

- Clean overall, love their decor

- Good Food!

- Warm and very welcoming hotel staff

- Awesome view because hotel is located by the hill.

- Located not too far from the busy street. Enjoyed the quiet ambiance.


CON:

The only problem we had was the water in the shower goes from our choice of temperature to either TOO Hot or TOO Cold. This happened to both rooms. I did not report this as I know that there is nothing they can do about this. It's a plumbing issue and can not be resolved quickly.


Will definitely stay here if we go back to Cebu City.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Shawie_sfca,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for making time to write a review about your stay experience with us. From the food, location and ambiance to overall cleanliness, city view and hospitable staff; these making you and the family choose to stay at our hotel on the next Cebu visits. Thank you.

Nevertheless, may we apologize for your experience on the water temperature. It is something that we are currently working on and aim to accomplish soonest.

We definitely look forward to see you and the family again!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and i enjoyed the friendly staff and big rooms. The buffet breakfast was delicious. One of the best hotels ive stayed in cebu. The lobby bar has entertainers every weekend. If you have time to spend you should go there to relax and have some drinks ormpica-pica

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guava_gal_es,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing a quick review about your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you and the family enjoyed it well and most especially on the aspect of relaxation. Thank you too for inviting everyone to spend time to enjoy our live music entertainment over drinks and food. We are proud to say that we are the only hotel in Cebu City that provides live music entertainment all nights of the week.

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and we look forward to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My kids love our stay at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu more than we (parents) do. I love the location, close to attractions and malls, adding the fact that they also have shuttle services. Though there are many good resorts in Mactan, I don't want to travel that far. Within minutes, we were in Ayala or in Sto.Nino Basilica.

Marco Polo is an institution as one of the first luxury hotels in Cebu and they still continues the tradition. We love the rooms, well appointed and neat. The pool is large enough and not crowded even during weekends. I first thought of Marco Polo as business hotel but it is great for families, even for staycations. Plenty of space from rooms, lobby and even outside the property.

Of course, the food is amazing. Plenty of restaurants to choose from depending on what type of dining you are looking for. I personally suggest Cafe Marco.

Staff are not just polite but I like it that they can anticipate your needs.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with seaside views. Book at Continental Suites to enjoy the Continental Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valeriecaulin,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for giving time to write and share a review of your experience. We are glad that we have given you and especially the kids a lovely accommodation. We continue to be excited, inspired and committed to share with you and all our guests the best of hospitality, the "Marco Polo Way”.

See you and the rest of the family on that next Cebu trip!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife, children and I checked in on Friday, July 18 and checked out the following day.

Most of our time was spent at the outdoor pool, located on the ground floor near the restaurant there. The pool was great with cool water that really felt great. The children's pool was also a big plus!!!

Fast, quiet elevators. Our room was on the 12th floor, which is about halfway up. I was very impressed with the speed and the quietness of getting to my floor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear MaxKingdom,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for making time to share a review here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your whole family had a great time and especially enjoying the dip at our outdoor pool. The children must be all over the Kiddie Pool and had so much fun.

Thank you for the good word and we look forward to see you again on that next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Situated on top of the serene Nivel hill overlooking cebu city. There is no convenience shops or eateries nearby the hotel. The nearer town where the Mc Donald and some shops located is about 1 kilometer away. However , taxi is easily available at the hotel . Free Shuttle bus service available to IT Park , Ayala Centre. SM mall from 10 am to 7 pm . Ayala and SM mall are the two major Shopping centre in Cebu . Taxi fare to anywhere in Cebu town is about 100- 200 peso ( US$ 2-4 ) . There is a good Chinese restaurant called Ching Palace near the hotel . Price is very reasonable and food are delicious .Taxi fare to the restaurant cost 100 peso . Laguna Garden and café at Ayala Mall is a good place to try the local cuisine .Manna Seafood at Lapu Lapu offers cheap and fresh seafood with great ambiance .
Hotel Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Readily to render help to you. Room is very spacious and clean . Bathroom and toilet are very well designed . Glass sliding door separating bathroom and toilet . As a result , Toilet 's floor is always dry when bathing in bathroom .Security is strict in the hotel . Staff will take down the taxi number you are taking for security purpose. Taxi entering the hotel is required to exchange pass . Wifi signal strong and stable in the room.
Mr Percival Maglasang is our driver in Cebu . Friendly and Reasonable charge . Contactable at 0922-5193043 or 0927-2054633.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear TonyLau,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel property and for sharing a finely described review of your experience with us. From the physical accommodation, to customer service, facilities and security, this review will definitely help those who are seeking information on the best hotel to stay in Cebu City, as well as recommending what is best around for relaxation, shopping or dining.

Thank you for adding inspiration to our commitment to deliver the best in hospitality the “Marco Polo Way”.

We look forward to see you and the whole family again on your next trip to Cebu!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.