We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel and a great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality hotel and a great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I last stayed at Marco Polo hotel some three years ago, and was pleasantly surprised to return recently. A highly enjoyable visit, which surpassed my recollections. I was in a refurbished room on a higher floor which was excellent.

Although quite an elderly building, it remains well presented, with a pleasing ambience. It has an imposing entrance hall, and during my visit prior to Christmas it was beautifully decorated, with a lovely Tree, and a number of staff in Christmas outfits, all of which added greatly to the ambiance.

I particularly enjoyed lunch at the pool bar, a proper bar with a lovely outlook across the pool area which is on several levels. Although I didn't try it, the gym looked modern and well equipped for a great workout.

The one issue for me with the Marco Polo hotel is it's location; it is a little out of town and therefore further away from the air and ferry ports, and major Malls. Traffic can extend travel at busy times. However some might see its location as a bonus, as it is away from the noise of the city, and has great views across the city and the hills from it's elevated position. It also runs a free shuttle to the two major malls. I understand the Blue Bar on the very top floor of the hotel is well worth a visit; alas I was unable to visit as my overnight was on a Monday when Blue Bar is closed. It's more than a bar, as food is served.

The staff were helpful, competent and confident, all indicators to me of being well trained; well done, as the quality and competence of staff can make or break a visit.

For me a great but far too short lived stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Richard187062,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

How wonderful it is to read an extensive review about your experience while staying at our hotel property! Thank you for taking time to write it; a fine piece of reference to those seeking for high quality accommodation in Cebu City. Indeed, returning guests like you become delighted with our newly renovated rooms. We are more excited for its full completion soon.

Most of all, let us thank you for appreciating our brand of customer service we call the Marco Polo Way. It is our aim to deliver the best of our services, products and facilities so you can gain a memorable and great hospitality experience.

We look forward to see you and your friends back here at the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu and hopefully on a longer stay!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    177
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
91
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I think I paid about 60 USD for a standard room and the same quality just about anywhere would be 90 to 200 so I was very pleased. The pool was one of the highlights for me as it was clean and allowed sunning and relaxing and not too many loud patrons around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear andy M,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for writing a quick review about your stay with us and for specifically appreciating the price value of our accommodation. Price value is indeed an important consideration in choosing a hotel to stay.

Cheers to your favorite amenity, our mango-shaped swimming pool, perfect on a day of relaxation!

We hope to see you again at our hotel and enjoy the rest of Cebu island!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Marco Polo Plaza Hotel for two nights. We booked via Agoda and I could probably say that we booked it the most reasonable price. The room is very much spacious that has one queen and one double bed. The view from our room though is not so nice as the hotel is surrounded by residential area. I would definitely love to stay again here if there would be a chance for me to go back in Cebu. The staff are very friendly and accommodating with our needs. You must also try Lobby Lounge's carrot cake, it was so delicious. A kind of dessert we really want, as it is very moist and not too sweet. We just don't like it being combined with the mango puree.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Bryllethetraveller,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for calling us your home in Cebu. It is our commitment to consistently serve our guests the best possible hospitality experience we call the Marco Polo Way.

Thank you for sharing the qualities that have made your stay pleasant. From spacious rooms and reasonable rates, to excellent customer service and good food, these points will give future guests a good reference.

We look forward to have you and your friends stay again at the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu on that next trip.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I arrived late to this hotel. There was construction on the roof and I was on the top floor. So I was not able to sleep in after arriving at the hotel at 3am. All they would say was I am sorry. They should post on their website if they are having construction so then you can decide if you would like to hear pounding each morning bright and early. There was no comps no refunds or any free breakfast just noise. I quickly checked out and they could care less. I wouldn't recommend this hotel just based on my experience, however I was in and out so quickly based on my poor experience and customer service!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on high floor as they are having construction on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Jamakared,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We truly value feedback from our guests as this will help us fulfill our commitment to deliver the best of hospitality experience possible.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that the on-going room renovation has caused you and for the lack of sufficient information about it. It is now near completion and we do hope that you may consider staying at our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time to stay in this hotel but I must say, expectations were met and very happy with our stay. Friendly, accommodating and courteous staff. Very clean room and T&B. Rates are reasonable and you get your money's worth. I'll definitely be going back here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Macky A,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for taking time to write a quick review about your stay at our hotel and for acknowledging the brand of customer service that our staff shared with you. It is our pleasure.

We are also glad to note that you find our rates reasonable especially that you are traveling on business. Thank you too for being definite to stay with us on that next Cebu trip. We look forward to see you again.
Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

been there last febuary its one of my dream to visit and see inside the hotel staff are so friendly weve been on the top floor i can see the whole view of the city of cebu love the restaurant we feel very welcome and love the sorroundings the landscape and whole entrance of the hotel it was very nice and lovely place to stay next time would love to go back and stay there with my hubby

Room Tip: higher floor facing either at where the mountain is or in side where you can see the whole view of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Marns M,

Greeting from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We share with you the warm appreciation of the stunning view of Cebu which our hotel property uniquely provides as well as our facilities and surroundings.

Indeed, it is our pleasure to have served you well and we look forward have you both stay with us on that next travel to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice place to stay, pleasant pool, very kind staff. Food is international, breakfast is good (my advise : ask for a fresh mango !). We experienced an earthquake, the staff has been great ! organising mattresses on the 1rst floor for us the 1rst night. The whole staff is welcoming.

Room Tip: avoid too high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Framboise R,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing a good review about your stay in our hotel despite the challenge caused by the earthquake. May we take it as a compliment that you give credit on how our staff managed the situation. It is our commitment to you our guest, to be of service, the Marco Polo Way.

It is also our delight to note that you enjoyed our food and amenities. Thank you too for sharing quick tips.

We look forward to see you again on your future trips in Cebu!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.