We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two thumbs up!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a hard time picking a hotel to stay at for our Cebu trip but now I know we made the right choice. We arrived at around 9am, as hoteliers, we know that it's challenging to accommodate early check-in requests. We really appreciate it that they allow us to check-in at 1pm, 1 hour earlier than standard check in time. Currently staying at room 918, great mountain view that I don't even bother to close the curtain at night. The hotel is a little out of the way but that's exactly what we are looking for. Nice quiet place without the noisy traffic. The hotel rooms' furnitures and design are outdated, bathroom is a little small but very comfortable, well maintained and is very clean, which is very important. I will rather stay in a clean old room than a dirty trendy room. The staffs from the reception desk (Catherine), concierge (forgot the name) and restaurants (Paul - Cafe Marco and El Viento) are amazing! They were very friendly, professional, always smiling and always ready to assist. Cafe Marco's buffet breakfast is one of the best I had with a reasonable price. It will be good though if the rooms and bathroom will be refurbished but its just a minor issue for us. Is even better if the bathroom can have seperate shower for safety reasons. You can find a lot of grand, modern hotel but its very hard to find a hotel with staffs that will take care of you and treat you with a SINCERE attitude. Yes! As a hotelier we know what is sincere and what is acting (been there, done that ) Will definitely come back if we come to visit Cebu again!

P.S. Think twice before you decide to rent a car! The GPS is horrible and we almost die because of it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ASC2121,

How wonderful it is to hear a “Two Thumbs-Up” remark from a fellow hotelier.
It warms the heart!

We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in our property through writing this review. It provides valuable insights to future guests. At the same time, it inspires us, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Team to continue to be outstanding both in facilities and customer service.

We are excited to see you again on that next trip to Cebu. With the on-going room renovations in good shape, we are able to let you and all our valued guests stay here at the Marco Polo with a new experience, topped with that ‘sincere’ customer service performance that you have noticed and appreciated.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    136
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
67
32
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked online their weekender promo to relax and just chill after a very busy week at work. I would say that their weekend promo is a steal since we get to enjoy their hotel at a long period of time. We were able to avail perks such as late checkout, a free pizza and free pair of flip flop.

As for their rooms, it's a bit old as compared to other hotels that I've been to. You can also hear people passing by/talking even when you're inside the room.

But what their interior lacks was well compensated by the value of their service. Generally, service was good and people were always greeting you and smiling.

As for their gym, it was a bit old and cramped. They only had 2 thread mills available. The attendant was attentive though and suggested other exercise machines to use while we are waiting to use the thread mill.

Also, when staying at their pool, the sun lounger is a bit scarce, we had to sit and leave our things on their restaurant table since there were no more sun lounger available. The pool was okay. But I would also commend the staff on the pool. He was friendly and he helped us out with our needs.

As for their breakfast, food were delicious. Coffee was not served instantly though unlike other hotels. We still have to ask coffee from their staff. We ate at around 8.30am and they say that breakfast will be served until 10.30 am. But what we noticed was that their were already empty plates on display and we had to ask for pancakes since we noticed no one is cooking it and busy doing other things.

Aside from this small glitches, it was still a great steal for me. The weekender promo price was already affordable for me so we couldn't ask for more. The hotel was also near to other malls and IT park and so is a plus factor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear bedazzle101,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for spending a weekend with us through the Weekender Package. We are delighted that you have enjoyed it and wrote a review. It will be additional information to our future guests, that there are a number of special room packages that are available for a specific need, schedule and preference.

We also appreciate your feedback for the other aspects that need improvement. We are currently renovating our rooms and facilities and the project is going well and on schedule. Some of the newly renovated rooms are already operational and we look forward for the project completion soon.

Thank you too for commending our associates’ level of attention to guest's needs and for calling Marco Polo Plaza Cebu a “weekend getaway within the city.”

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked 4 rooms here in April 2012. Location is overlooking Cebu City but away from the city centre. The building itself is showing signs of age. The rooms were clean and comfortable but rather tired. Hotel staffs are helpful and hospitable. The food was great. My kids loved the swimming pool. There is a free shuttle bus going to the city centre. The hotel service is good. Overall, we had a satisfactory stay at Marco Polo Cebu but would rather stay in another hotel in our next visit to Cebu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear dabawenyo,

Warm greetings to you and your family from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for staying with us in August of last year with your family. Thank you too for writing a satisfactory review of our hotel, sharing information on great food, helpful and hospitable staff and how the children loved the swimming pool.

In the meantime, may we share with you our excitement of the on-going room renovation in our hotel which is in good shape and on-schedule. Some floors with the newly renovated rooms are already in operation and a lot of culinary excitement continues at our signature restaurant, Café Marco.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Marco Polo Plaza Hotel three times during my travel in the Philippines, and I have always been very pleased with the accommodation and service. Online booking is straight-forward and for same-day room booking, the reservation department contacted me by email and phone for confirmation. The interior and exterior of the hotel are very well kept and beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained with good amenities - wifi, snacks, good cable selection, etc. The pool is very relaxing, a decent size, with great drink and food service. The cafe serves very good food and I especially enjoyed the morning buffet. The quality of room and service relative to price, is excellent for this hotel compared to some of the other higher-end hotels in the area. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jeff M,

Our warm greetings to you and the whole family all the way to California!

Thank you for making Marco Polo Plaza your home in Cebu, Philippines. Our appreciation goes to you too for writing this review of your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly emphasizing price value vis-à-vis the overall stay experience. Your observations and comments are helpful to would-be guests who are planning to come to Cebu. Your definite recommendation of our hotel means a lot to us.

We look forward to see you again on your next Cebu trip!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel on June 23 and then again on June 27. We experienced excellent service from the time we stepped out of our taxi to when we stepped into another the next day when we checked out. Check-in was fast. Our bags, on our request, were taken directly to our Continental Club room, as we decided to proceed to lunch at the hotel coffee shop. The buffet was excellent. I had steamed blue crabs, steak, HongKong style noodle soup and avocado in cream for dessert.

Our room was well-appointed, as comfortable as one would expect from a 5-star hotel. There was none of the scratched furniture that another reviewer reported. Perhaps it was because we were in a Continental Club room?

The pool was large, pretty and clean. The lifeguards were strict about swimmers taking a shower before entering the pool. That was impressive.

An area of improvement in the pool area would be for the waiters to check the needs of the pool users occasionally. It was quite hard to call them. One has to tell the Lifeguard to call the waiter and wait for a while for the latter to arrive. The Lifeguard refused to take my order and relay it to the waiter.

The Continental Club offered a good range of cocktail food in the evening. It was sumptuous enough for me to skip dinner. Service was even better in the lounge, particular of the butler, Paul Mark Pilapil, who anticipated my needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Edzar,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for your appreciation of our brand of hospitality. Writing a detailed review about our property is a clear sign of your fondness and satisfaction of our products and services. Thank you too for the specific mentions of our Associates at the Continental Club, the pool and the suggestions on the poolside service. We take note on comments on the positive and comments on areas for improvement. We are delighted that we have made an impact on your visit to Cebu. At the same time, we are humbled and even more inspired to serve all of you our guests according to our distinct “Marco Polo Way” brand of hospitality.

For highly recommending us to future guests, thank you very much. We look forward to have you again stay with us on your next Cebu visit.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A good, well maintained property. Rooms a little small but modern and comfortable. The best part about the hotel was the pool and pool bar where we spent alot of time. Prices are reasonable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear HonestTed,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for writing a quick review about your stay with us in June. We are delighted to know that you were both happy about it. The special mention of El Viento Restaurant & Poolbar being “the best part” of the stay is a great tip for those who love the outdoors. Thank you too for mentioning comfort and modernity in our rooms and for the stay recommendation.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Marco Polo Plaza, Cebu is not really grand compared to other hotels. I expect more since it is Marco Polo. Rooms are out-dated but spacious. Room furnishings are old with marks that the wood had scratches. They are generous with pillows. We had 1 double size bed and a single bed. We had total of 6 fluffy and soft pillows. When makes me come back to Marco Polo is their amazing pool, fitness and wellness center. The pool was gorgeous. Once will pass by their wellness center to reach the pool. You can smell the eucalyptus scent and it makes me feel good. They have lockers and sauna in the changing rooms. The Marco Cafe which serves breakfast offers a very wide array of Asian and Western breakfast. Two thumbs up for the pool and breakfast. They also have a speedy check in and out. We had a great stay. Definitely we will be back, but we will try the suite rooms if its far better that the standard ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear pau789,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your concrete feedback.

We are currently renovating our rooms. We anticipate its completion by the end of the year and are excited to get these newly renovated rooms available for you and our guests.

Thank you for particularly mentioning your fondness of our swimming pool, gym and wellness center. We are glad that you enjoyed these facilities as well as our generous supply of fluffy pillows on comfortable beds. Giving us two-thumbs up for our Buffet Breakfast at Café Marco and pool, and for acknowledging the speedy check-in and check- out processing at our Front Desk is inspiring.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your next Cebu visit!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.