We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza Cebu to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel in bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked 4 rooms here in April 2012. Location is overlooking Cebu City but away from the city centre. The building itself is showing signs of age. The rooms were clean and comfortable but rather tired. Hotel staffs are helpful and hospitable. The food was great. My kids loved the swimming pool. There is a free shuttle bus going to the city centre. The hotel service is good. Overall, we had a satisfactory stay at Marco Polo Cebu but would rather stay in another hotel in our next visit to Cebu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear dabawenyo,

Warm greetings to you and your family from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for staying with us in August of last year with your family. Thank you too for writing a satisfactory review of our hotel, sharing information on great food, helpful and hospitable staff and how the children loved the swimming pool.

In the meantime, may we share with you our excitement of the on-going room renovation in our hotel which is in good shape and on-schedule. Some floors with the newly renovated rooms are already in operation and a lot of culinary excitement continues at our signature restaurant, Café Marco.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    216
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
114
124
50
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Marco Polo Plaza Hotel three times during my travel in the Philippines, and I have always been very pleased with the accommodation and service. Online booking is straight-forward and for same-day room booking, the reservation department contacted me by email and phone for confirmation. The interior and exterior of the hotel are very well kept and beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained with good amenities - wifi, snacks, good cable selection, etc. The pool is very relaxing, a decent size, with great drink and food service. The cafe serves very good food and I especially enjoyed the morning buffet. The quality of room and service relative to price, is excellent for this hotel compared to some of the other higher-end hotels in the area. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jeff M,

Our warm greetings to you and the whole family all the way to California!

Thank you for making Marco Polo Plaza your home in Cebu, Philippines. Our appreciation goes to you too for writing this review of your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly emphasizing price value vis-à-vis the overall stay experience. Your observations and comments are helpful to would-be guests who are planning to come to Cebu. Your definite recommendation of our hotel means a lot to us.

We look forward to see you again on your next Cebu trip!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel on June 23 and then again on June 27. We experienced excellent service from the time we stepped out of our taxi to when we stepped into another the next day when we checked out. Check-in was fast. Our bags, on our request, were taken directly to our Continental Club room, as we decided to proceed to lunch at the hotel coffee shop. The buffet was excellent. I had steamed blue crabs, steak, HongKong style noodle soup and avocado in cream for dessert.

Our room was well-appointed, as comfortable as one would expect from a 5-star hotel. There was none of the scratched furniture that another reviewer reported. Perhaps it was because we were in a Continental Club room?

The pool was large, pretty and clean. The lifeguards were strict about swimmers taking a shower before entering the pool. That was impressive.

An area of improvement in the pool area would be for the waiters to check the needs of the pool users occasionally. It was quite hard to call them. One has to tell the Lifeguard to call the waiter and wait for a while for the latter to arrive. The Lifeguard refused to take my order and relay it to the waiter.

The Continental Club offered a good range of cocktail food in the evening. It was sumptuous enough for me to skip dinner. Service was even better in the lounge, particular of the butler, Paul Mark Pilapil, who anticipated my needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Edzar,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for your appreciation of our brand of hospitality. Writing a detailed review about our property is a clear sign of your fondness and satisfaction of our products and services. Thank you too for the specific mentions of our Associates at the Continental Club, the pool and the suggestions on the poolside service. We take note on comments on the positive and comments on areas for improvement. We are delighted that we have made an impact on your visit to Cebu. At the same time, we are humbled and even more inspired to serve all of you our guests according to our distinct “Marco Polo Way” brand of hospitality.

For highly recommending us to future guests, thank you very much. We look forward to have you again stay with us on your next Cebu visit.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A good, well maintained property. Rooms a little small but modern and comfortable. The best part about the hotel was the pool and pool bar where we spent alot of time. Prices are reasonable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear HonestTed,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for writing a quick review about your stay with us in June. We are delighted to know that you were both happy about it. The special mention of El Viento Restaurant & Poolbar being “the best part” of the stay is a great tip for those who love the outdoors. Thank you too for mentioning comfort and modernity in our rooms and for the stay recommendation.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Marco Polo Plaza, Cebu is not really grand compared to other hotels. I expect more since it is Marco Polo. Rooms are out-dated but spacious. Room furnishings are old with marks that the wood had scratches. They are generous with pillows. We had 1 double size bed and a single bed. We had total of 6 fluffy and soft pillows. When makes me come back to Marco Polo is their amazing pool, fitness and wellness center. The pool was gorgeous. Once will pass by their wellness center to reach the pool. You can smell the eucalyptus scent and it makes me feel good. They have lockers and sauna in the changing rooms. The Marco Cafe which serves breakfast offers a very wide array of Asian and Western breakfast. Two thumbs up for the pool and breakfast. They also have a speedy check in and out. We had a great stay. Definitely we will be back, but we will try the suite rooms if its far better that the standard ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear pau789,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your concrete feedback.

We are currently renovating our rooms. We anticipate its completion by the end of the year and are excited to get these newly renovated rooms available for you and our guests.

Thank you for particularly mentioning your fondness of our swimming pool, gym and wellness center. We are glad that you enjoyed these facilities as well as our generous supply of fluffy pillows on comfortable beds. Giving us two-thumbs up for our Buffet Breakfast at Café Marco and pool, and for acknowledging the speedy check-in and check- out processing at our Front Desk is inspiring.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your next Cebu visit!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything was okay. The room was quite okay. Rooms were okay. Service was okay. Nothing really special compared to other hotels I've been to, but not bad at all. The only problem I encountered was that when I was there, there were construction thingys going on above my room so it was a bit noisy at times, other than that, as I've said, it was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear markdanielcruz,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. We do hope to be able to give you that ‘wow’ experience on your next stay with us especially after the completion of our on-going room renovations.


Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as couple for an overnight stay in this hotel as we are living only in cebu. I could not remember something so vivid as we entered the hotel, we were assisted by the front desk staff, she was nice, simple and polite. However, our stay could have been ruined by the time we entered the room. We were placed in the room where the 2 floors down us is under renovation! Imagine the hassle and dissapointment we encounter that time. We were there to relax, not to listen to the construction workers and the banging of walls. I could not take it longer, called the t.o. Right after we entered the room and asked what is happening. She told us there was a construction downstairs and will last until 7pm and resumes at 9am the next day. Wow, she offered us earplugs instead. Well, i couldn't sleep with earplugs on so i decided to make a 2nd call and requested for another room. The good thing was, they offered us a room in the 21st floor and were upgraded. Good job there. However my boyfriend thinks we were being discriminated as We know that whoever checked us in knows that there was a construction going on and maybe, she was thinking we wont file a complaint against it. :) fair enough, i still give them a good review for resolving the issue (because i called) and upgraded us to another room. Will be back soon and hopefully, there will be no more renovating and loud noises in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear CX2013,

Please accept our apologies that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. May we also apologize for the perception that you have not been given the room upgrade as soon as you checked-in because of discrimination. Please rest assured this is not in the culture of the hotel. May we thank you though, for acknowledging that we looked for ways to solve the inconvenience that the room renovations have caused you. It is with our best effort to give you, our guest, an enjoyable stay and experience possible.

We are excited for the full completion of the physical improvements of the hotel.
We look forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.