We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza Cebu to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A good, well maintained property. Rooms a little small but modern and comfortable. The best part about the hotel was the pool and pool bar where we spent alot of time. Prices are reasonable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear HonestTed,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for writing a quick review about your stay with us in June. We are delighted to know that you were both happy about it. The special mention of El Viento Restaurant & Poolbar being “the best part” of the stay is a great tip for those who love the outdoors. Thank you too for mentioning comfort and modernity in our rooms and for the stay recommendation.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    204
    34
    14
    8
See reviews for
104
111
49
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Marco Polo Plaza, Cebu is not really grand compared to other hotels. I expect more since it is Marco Polo. Rooms are out-dated but spacious. Room furnishings are old with marks that the wood had scratches. They are generous with pillows. We had 1 double size bed and a single bed. We had total of 6 fluffy and soft pillows. When makes me come back to Marco Polo is their amazing pool, fitness and wellness center. The pool was gorgeous. Once will pass by their wellness center to reach the pool. You can smell the eucalyptus scent and it makes me feel good. They have lockers and sauna in the changing rooms. The Marco Cafe which serves breakfast offers a very wide array of Asian and Western breakfast. Two thumbs up for the pool and breakfast. They also have a speedy check in and out. We had a great stay. Definitely we will be back, but we will try the suite rooms if its far better that the standard ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear pau789,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your concrete feedback.

We are currently renovating our rooms. We anticipate its completion by the end of the year and are excited to get these newly renovated rooms available for you and our guests.

Thank you for particularly mentioning your fondness of our swimming pool, gym and wellness center. We are glad that you enjoyed these facilities as well as our generous supply of fluffy pillows on comfortable beds. Giving us two-thumbs up for our Buffet Breakfast at Café Marco and pool, and for acknowledging the speedy check-in and check- out processing at our Front Desk is inspiring.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your next Cebu visit!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything was okay. The room was quite okay. Rooms were okay. Service was okay. Nothing really special compared to other hotels I've been to, but not bad at all. The only problem I encountered was that when I was there, there were construction thingys going on above my room so it was a bit noisy at times, other than that, as I've said, it was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear markdanielcruz,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. We do hope to be able to give you that ‘wow’ experience on your next stay with us especially after the completion of our on-going room renovations.


Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as couple for an overnight stay in this hotel as we are living only in cebu. I could not remember something so vivid as we entered the hotel, we were assisted by the front desk staff, she was nice, simple and polite. However, our stay could have been ruined by the time we entered the room. We were placed in the room where the 2 floors down us is under renovation! Imagine the hassle and dissapointment we encounter that time. We were there to relax, not to listen to the construction workers and the banging of walls. I could not take it longer, called the t.o. Right after we entered the room and asked what is happening. She told us there was a construction downstairs and will last until 7pm and resumes at 9am the next day. Wow, she offered us earplugs instead. Well, i couldn't sleep with earplugs on so i decided to make a 2nd call and requested for another room. The good thing was, they offered us a room in the 21st floor and were upgraded. Good job there. However my boyfriend thinks we were being discriminated as We know that whoever checked us in knows that there was a construction going on and maybe, she was thinking we wont file a complaint against it. :) fair enough, i still give them a good review for resolving the issue (because i called) and upgraded us to another room. Will be back soon and hopefully, there will be no more renovating and loud noises in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear CX2013,

Please accept our apologies that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. May we also apologize for the perception that you have not been given the room upgrade as soon as you checked-in because of discrimination. Please rest assured this is not in the culture of the hotel. May we thank you though, for acknowledging that we looked for ways to solve the inconvenience that the room renovations have caused you. It is with our best effort to give you, our guest, an enjoyable stay and experience possible.

We are excited for the full completion of the physical improvements of the hotel.
We look forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time to stay here, don't usually book here due to its not so good location and accessibility but its worth it. Enjoyed my stay with friends, great room, staff were very courteous and great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear jatv,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for finally choosing to stay with us on your trip to Cebu last March. Thank you too for sharing your great Marco Polo experience in accommodation, food and customer service through writing a quick review here on TripAdvisor. Calling us “a class of its own” is a humbling compliment. We are glad that our associates and services lived up to the brand promise.

We hope to see you again on your future trips to Cebu!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Large hotel with excellent facilities. Friendly very helpfully staff, good choice of place to eat including roof top grill with spectacular views. Regular free shuttle bus to main shopping areas. Nice pool with poolside catering. Very pleasant relaxing stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear robinCwmbran,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Calling us a “Lovely hotel” is a fine compliment, thank you. It is our pleasure to be able to give you and the whole family that pleasant and memorable stay.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on our facilities, services and guest relations.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel enjoys tremendous views as its situated on a hill top overlooking Cebu city. The advantage is that it's away from the hustle and bustle of the city and reasonably close at the same time. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms have a choice of hill view or city view with the former providing a peaceful vista of being away from it all and the city views offering a panoramic perspective.
There is a good selection at the breakfast buffet. If you like coffee, don't accept the poured coffee as that is terrible, instead ask for a latte, cappuccino etc as these are very well made.
Rooms are a bit dated but everything is in good working order. I was upgraded to a "premier suite" although it had the dimensions and inclusions of what one would expect in a regular room so don't know what the regular rooms here offer in terms of size.
Service all round was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms have a choice of hill view or city view with the former providing a peaceful vista of being aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sanjoy88,

Greetings to you from the Land Down Under!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review about it. Your tips about a preferred room accommodation and for describing the view from our location are most helpful to other would-be guests. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the advantage of our location which provides guests relaxation from the ‘hustle and bustle’ of the city. We believe this is one of our premiums, unique to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. We are sorry though that your coffee experience during breakfast was unsatisfactory. We are taking note of this particular feedback and are now finding concrete ways to improve the product. Our new coffee corner at Café Marco which serves other types of coffee is now operational and aims to bring an exceptional coffee experience to all our guests.

Furthermore, we are currently renovating our rooms and looks forward for its full completion so we will be able to bring out a fresh and new experience in accommodation here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu and looks forward to serve you again the Marco Polo Way.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.