We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class of its own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A class of its own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time to stay here, don't usually book here due to its not so good location and accessibility but its worth it. Enjoyed my stay with friends, great room, staff were very courteous and great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear jatv,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for finally choosing to stay with us on your trip to Cebu last March. Thank you too for sharing your great Marco Polo experience in accommodation, food and customer service through writing a quick review here on TripAdvisor. Calling us “a class of its own” is a humbling compliment. We are glad that our associates and services lived up to the brand promise.

We hope to see you again on your future trips to Cebu!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    179
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
92
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Large hotel with excellent facilities. Friendly very helpfully staff, good choice of place to eat including roof top grill with spectacular views. Regular free shuttle bus to main shopping areas. Nice pool with poolside catering. Very pleasant relaxing stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear robinCwmbran,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Calling us a “Lovely hotel” is a fine compliment, thank you. It is our pleasure to be able to give you and the whole family that pleasant and memorable stay.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on our facilities, services and guest relations.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel enjoys tremendous views as its situated on a hill top overlooking Cebu city. The advantage is that it's away from the hustle and bustle of the city and reasonably close at the same time. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms have a choice of hill view or city view with the former providing a peaceful vista of being away from it all and the city views offering a panoramic perspective.
There is a good selection at the breakfast buffet. If you like coffee, don't accept the poured coffee as that is terrible, instead ask for a latte, cappuccino etc as these are very well made.
Rooms are a bit dated but everything is in good working order. I was upgraded to a "premier suite" although it had the dimensions and inclusions of what one would expect in a regular room so don't know what the regular rooms here offer in terms of size.
Service all round was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms have a choice of hill view or city view with the former providing a peaceful vista of being aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sanjoy88,

Greetings to you from the Land Down Under!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review about it. Your tips about a preferred room accommodation and for describing the view from our location are most helpful to other would-be guests. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the advantage of our location which provides guests relaxation from the ‘hustle and bustle’ of the city. We believe this is one of our premiums, unique to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. We are sorry though that your coffee experience during breakfast was unsatisfactory. We are taking note of this particular feedback and are now finding concrete ways to improve the product. Our new coffee corner at Café Marco which serves other types of coffee is now operational and aims to bring an exceptional coffee experience to all our guests.

Furthermore, we are currently renovating our rooms and looks forward for its full completion so we will be able to bring out a fresh and new experience in accommodation here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu and looks forward to serve you again the Marco Polo Way.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My kingJimh and I had a great stay from 5th to 12th of May. Everything is perfect and clean!!!.....the renovation didn't affect us at all since the hotel itself is truly 5 star-first class...We loved our rooms mountain and seaview! Very comfortable bed too! All the restaurant offers great foods too!...don't miss dining at Blu Bar 1, 000 ft. above high at night very scenic and romantic ....also at El Viento pool bar or at Cafe Marco with live band! On behalf of my King, I would like to thank Ms. Katrina, Davidjun and all amazing smiling, friendly staff from all units. More power guys!
We highly recommend.....coming back soon!

Room Tip: Seaview from 18th to top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear 314HannahH,

Cheers from the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Team!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Cebu in May. Was it your first visit to Cebu? If so, it is our pride to be able to give you and your King a “Great stay” at our hotel. And of course, thank you for sharing your wonderful Marco Polo experience! Particularly remembering the names of our associates whom you had closely encountered with fondness is proof that we were able to give you exceptional customer service experience.

We take these credits as additional inspiration to be what the Marco Polo Brand is!

Thank you for highly recommending us in all aspects!

We look forward to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Marco Polo is definitely not the newest spankiest, most modern hotel in Cebu. But whatever it lacks against its newest competitors, it more than makes up with its superb service and gracious charm. Our stay here this April 2014 has been consistently an enjoyable vacation, as it was before. No reason not to come back again and again...

Room Tip: Rooms with city view are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear tes_mcd,

What an affirmation about who we are as a brand, shared through this short yet insightful review that you have written!

Thank you for calling us “Cebu’s Elegant Charm”. That inspires the whole Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Team!

We look forward to see you and the whole family on that next trip!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This old hotel rose out of its former stupor with new international management
To amazing quality levels regarding service and food on offer now. There is no doubts
There are improvement possibilities regarding the hardware I.e the rooms but they are
Very clean and everything is functioning which is quite an achievement. Definitely the best option in
Cebu City and I will sure be back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Bobfu,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

We appreciate your writing a review about our property. It is our privilege to have you as our guest and definitely look forward to see you again stay with us. Calling Marco Polo Plaza Cebu the “best option” in Cebu City inspires us strive to do even more.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I rarely, well never write reviews and often ridicule my friends who do. However, the Marco Polo has changed that. I have stayed at some amazing hotels, however the level of service here is first class, even before you consider the price which to be fair was amazing value. Visited a couple of other hotels on Island, including Watefront which cost more and they don't compare. Great team, Blue Grill Bar Roof great food and views, amazing breakfast, good room service. A must stay if visiting Cebu City.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear ShaunC1971,

What a compliment it is to know that your stay with us at the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu changed your perspective about writing reviews online. Thank you so much for sharing for the first time, your wonderful experience. We are humbled by this accolade and it inspires us even more to give our guests first class service, the Marco Polo Way.

Our appreciation to you too for sharing some tips on our premiums in dining and for considering us “a must stay” in Cebu City!

We take this to heart!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.