We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza Cebu to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived really late at night but was greeted by the staff with so much energy! Since it was our first time at this hotel they upgraded us to a city view room and the view was gorgeous!

Rooms:
Excellent! Comfortoble beds, clean, cable tv, fast internet!

Bathroom:
Really good as well but I noticed while I was taking a bath that (paint?) of the bathtub was peeling off so there tiny white particles floating in the water.

Staff:
They could not go wrong with their staff, they're very well trained and very very nice!

The only thing was that I extended my stay for another night through Expedia and this seemed to really mess them up somehow? I was standing in the check in counter for almost half an hour while they figured out stuff. Basically, they gave me half my deposit money back... which didn't make sense to me... When i checked out, he gave me the full amount back but I told him I already got half of it back....

Food in the restaurant by the pool is excellent and I'm not even exaggerating, Marco Polo has the best mojito in Cebu!

Another thing is the location, though nice overlooking the city, once you get out of the hotel are small dilapidated houses, narrow roads, kind of dangerous looking... but this is more of a Cebu City problem rather than the hotel's.

Room Tip: City view room is really good but since it's on top of a hill, I think any view would be good en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    226
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
124
133
51
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is an excellent choice when you go to Cebu for a business trip Because it is situated above the city, yet not too far from its center. It would have been a nice place to go back to after a hectic day. Unfortunately, the rooms above mine were undergoing renovation. I could hear pounding and dragging sounds from 9 am to 10 pm. This was not indicated when I booked thru a booking company. Anyway, it was not too much of a bother to me because most of the time during my stay, I leave the hotel at 8 am and come back late at night.
Rooms are of good size, clean and well appointed. You have two choices of views- mountain or sea . The staff were very helpful. I realized late at night that i needed transportation early next morning and the concierge went out f his way to book me a car even though it was already past 10 pm. That is what I call service!
Wifi in my room was weak and spotty.

Room Tip: Request for room at higher floors to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The trip I was on was for business in Balamban on the west side of the island so this hotel was perfect. It is located about 10 minutes out of the city (or 45 minutes in rush hour) directly on the road across the mountains to Balamban, so for me it was perfect as it kept me out of the city traffic.
The hotel itself was very good.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. I could not fault the service from any of them. The meals in the hotel were also first class. The breakfast buffet was simply one of the best I have been to catering for Western, Asian and European tastes. There are also very good restaurants just a few minutes down the hill by cab that were recommended to me by the front desk and did not disappoint.
The pool is large enough to do laps in if you are chasing some exercise but there is also a well-appointed gym with the standard equipment all reasonably new as well as day spa stuff for the girls. There is also a very nice outdoor bar/café around the pool area.
Rooms were a good size, certainly large enough for me, and have a desk and free wifi in the room. There is also Wifi in the lobby and the dining areas so you can be connected at all times, good for the business types and the kids. The bathroom was also a very good size.
If you don’t want to be in town then this hotel is perfect especially if you are making the treck over the mountains to Balamban. If you are doing business in the city then the traffic getting in and out at rush hour might make it not such a good option. Apart from this traffic issue there is no reason I would not recommend this hotel to Business men, families and holiday makers alike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Private location
- unlike most hotels, Marco Polo is situated far away from the main roads, which is good for travelers who wish to be far from the noise from the roads
- the private location with a narrow entrance also allowed security to be under good control
- shuttle buses are provided frequently to the major malls

Gorgeous view
- Being built on a hill itself, the hotel has a gorgeous view of the entire city, the mountains about few hundred metres opposite the hotel and the sea just a little further away
- Their breakfast area on the topmost floor meant every guests of the hotel can enjoy the magnificent view provided on this level of the hotel

Lovely staff
- the reservations manager who used to work in Marriott Singapore provided excellent service, remembering our names and requests. He and his team worked well to provide good service to guests, and they always have warm, welcoming smiles...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is on top of a hill overlooking Cebu City proper. It has all the amenities of a five star hotel. The room is big. The staff is friendly and nice. They see to it that one is comfortable. We only had a problem with their wifi connection. It is slow. But overall we felt safe and relaxed at the hotel. We love the pool area with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed during Chinese Lunar New Year. They had activities in the lobby such as the lion and dragon dances, etc. It was fun! They fed the guests free tea and Chinese delicacies.

The staff is friendly, charming, and very professional. The lobby is quite impressive. The rooms are average and in need of refurbishing but clean and the beds are comfortable! Water pressure in the loo is good too.

We ordered room service. The food was good, the prices were very reasonable and the servings were huge! Disappointingly, it took them about an hour to bring the food up from the time we placed the order.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast a lot. The food tasted good and they had a pancake/waffle station, a bread station, a salad station, a dim sum station, a noodle soup station, a continental and asian breakfast station and an egg station. Yum!

Make sure you visit the Penthouse. The al fresco resto-bar has fabulous views of Cebu city! Its nice and breezy and the food isnt so bad. It can be pricey though.

The hotel is located on a hillside but it is hardly secluded. There are lots of homes and establishments in the area so it can get noisy. Tourists will need to take cabs to the city proper. Ask the doormen to get you a cab. It isnt too expensive and you're bound to reach your destination faster than if you take a jeep. Walking to the city is NOT an option. Its just too far.

Room Tip: For the mean time, avoid the sea view rooms because its quite noisy due to the construction of a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A little out of town, but only a ten minute taxi ride into the heart of Cebu. Rooms are top quality, restaurant is very pleasant and food is top quality. Breakfast is a vast selection of items for all tastes and finishes at 10.30, so you dont need to wake too early.
Swimiing pool in very nice. Everthing is high quality here, and can be booked for a reasonable price for what you get. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I think there are sea views and mountain views. Mine had a sea view and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 82 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#7 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.