We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A little out of town, but only a ten minute taxi ride into the heart of Cebu. Rooms are top quality, restaurant is very pleasant and food is top quality. Breakfast is a vast selection of items for all tastes and finishes at 10.30, so you dont need to wake too early.
Swimiing pool in very nice. Everthing is high quality here, and can be booked for a reasonable price for what you get. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I think there are sea views and mountain views. Mine had a sea view and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
71
36
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel, the staff was so friendly and the rooms were amazing! There's even a free buffet in the penthouse if you stay in certain rooms. I stayed here for a week. There's also a l little gift shop.

Room Tip: The rooms from a certain floor and up have a free buffet in the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had another long and excellent stay at the Marco Polo. Some noise from the nearby construction during the day, but street and vehicle noise at other Hotel can be worse, also all day and night. Thanks to Hans Hauri and Family, Victor and all the hard working and excellent Staff.

Room Tip: Use the Shuttle Service, but give advance notice as requested by the Hotel so that they have accurat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My kids love the hotel as we have stayed here for a couple of times every time we come to Cebu. Rooms are clean but not so big but with a good view. Nice bathroom, all in good condition as well as the toiletries are superb. Since it is not located in the CBD, you have to get a transport to and fro to get to the CBD and malls but the transpo is not that often. Due to the luxury it is very expensive even the breakfast. Breakfast is best as it offers diff types of cuisine. However, since we paid that much, they are very inconsiderate to charge us 500pesos for a very small bowl of cereal of my child. Maybe 3 spoonfuls of the cereal. But all in all the hotel is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagay City, Philippines
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was Sinulog when I checked in to Marco Polo. I booked the Junior Suite. I arrived late because of the heavy Sinulog traffic but I was checked in just fine. Their private check in was at the penthouse and everyone who assisted me was very friendly.
I was just a little disappointed with the suite. The Premier Room at Radisson (which they dont call a suite) was much bigger than Marco Polo's suite. But it was nice anyway. Comfortable bed and very nice view of the city. There was a free basket of fruit and there were complimentary snacks at the continental club all day long (though I was too busy to get anything there).
I was greeted with nice cards inside the room and the amenities were more complete than the other lower rooms. The room was cleaned each time I would go out and there was turndown service I guess.
Again, the receptionist when I checked out was very friendly. Just a slight problem with the taxis which the hotel had no control of. Had to ride a jeepney and call a taxi somewhere else to get to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a close friend who normally stays in the Pan Pacific Manila; it does not happen so often, even in the best hotels, but I really felt treated like a .."king".
Without minors problems such as the noisy environment due to rooms renovation and the building of a giant condominium around the pool, not mentioning the absence of dubble glass in my room, my stay would have been perfect.
I recommend the front desk manager, mr. Victor Alcantara..what a pro! he would be an asset in any luxuous palace of this world.

Room Tip: not sure but a room with double glass window (if available..) would be an asset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Marco Polo markets itself as a 5* - probably more like a 3*. The service is efficient, un-fussy and makes you feel relaxed. Do not stay at the back back of the hotel (mountain view), it is noisy as hell due to the residential areas and noise from motorbikes going up the steep road - I requested to be moved, after 1 sleepless night, to the front of the hotel (city view), this was 10 times better. The hotel has a building site next door where they are building 'residences' - work is supposed to begin at 10am and finish at 10pm (according to the hotel manager) this is not the case and can lead to a bit too much noise in the evening, especially if you are eating in the pool side restaurant.
The food is OK but a bit limited choice - after 1 week here you will be bored by menu.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel or take some earpugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Gran_g,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that the ongoing residential development in our area has caused you. These developments are part of the mixed used facility that the future guests of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu will be able to enjoy. To name a few, a Zen garden, jogging tracks, rock-climbing wall, etcetera. In efforts to minimize noise, modern methods in building construction and equipment are in place.

We thank you nonetheless for writing a review as we value feedback from our guests, to be able to address issues, if any. We again apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.