We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, excellent front desk manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
The Hague
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good service, excellent front desk manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a close friend who normally stays in the Pan Pacific Manila; it does not happen so often, even in the best hotels, but I really felt treated like a .."king".
Without minors problems such as the noisy environment due to rooms renovation and the building of a giant condominium around the pool, not mentioning the absence of dubble glass in my room, my stay would have been perfect.
I recommend the front desk manager, mr. Victor Alcantara..what a pro! he would be an asset in any luxuous palace of this world.

Room Tip: not sure but a room with double glass window (if available..) would be an asset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    148
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
71
36
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Marco Polo markets itself as a 5* - probably more like a 3*. The service is efficient, un-fussy and makes you feel relaxed. Do not stay at the back back of the hotel (mountain view), it is noisy as hell due to the residential areas and noise from motorbikes going up the steep road - I requested to be moved, after 1 sleepless night, to the front of the hotel (city view), this was 10 times better. The hotel has a building site next door where they are building 'residences' - work is supposed to begin at 10am and finish at 10pm (according to the hotel manager) this is not the case and can lead to a bit too much noise in the evening, especially if you are eating in the pool side restaurant.
The food is OK but a bit limited choice - after 1 week here you will be bored by menu.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel or take some earpugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Gran_g,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that the ongoing residential development in our area has caused you. These developments are part of the mixed used facility that the future guests of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu will be able to enjoy. To name a few, a Zen garden, jogging tracks, rock-climbing wall, etcetera. In efforts to minimize noise, modern methods in building construction and equipment are in place.

We thank you nonetheless for writing a review as we value feedback from our guests, to be able to address issues, if any. We again apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

i booked this hotel thru travel vision,first i thought i will not like it because of the location,but when arrived,the location is not a problem at all,there are taxis available 24 hours within the hotel premises,the hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful,this hotel is super clean,from the lobby to our room,the linens and towels are white,the bed is very comfy and they provided us with best kind of toiletries.our room was overlooking the mountain and we actually see the city of cebu,the breakfast was super,it was included with room. they have their chinese new year celebration and we have fun watching.yes it's true that this is an older hotel,but they have the modern facilities.i went to their gym,it was small but good enough for some workout.thanks travel vision for booking us up in this hotel,we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floor,you will see the mountain and city view. go to ayala mall with their servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear gdpaw,

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts in customer service, cleanliness, comfort and food quality and taste. We are thrilled to continuously come up with creative events on top of the traditions that we have kept here at the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu such as the grand celebration of the Chinese New Year.

Thanks too for the helpful tips that you have shared to the readers.

We look forward to see you and your family again!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On recent visit we had to stay longer than normal, (wedding license process), so tried 4 hotels over 3 weeks. This we would rank 3rd after Radisson Blu & our old friend, Park Lane. Its austere and needs refurbishing. Great swimming pool but overall decore drab. Buffet breakfast price just ridiculous. It does have a great Nursing Clinic if you're feeling off. I had a slight flu virus and their prompt service was superb...my thermometer had flat batteries & gave a false reading...they were great. So yes, Marco Polo the good and some bad...

Room Tip: Try the restaurant outside down the hill 300 mtrs...share the shuttle bus to Ayala Shopping Complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Richy_L99,

We thank you for finally giving us a try on your recent trip to Cebu especially that exciting things are happening here at the Marco Polo Plaza.

We began guest room renovations on selected floors in September 2012, in our continuing efforts to provide the best facilities consistent with the high standards of a Marco Polo hotel. Completion is anticipated by October 2013.

Thank you for sharing your fondness of our swimming pool facility, the free shuttle to the city malls, and our prompt attention to your medical needs.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Cebu City.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fine hotel, good service, excellent pool. Long way from town centre, but they do run free shuttles to the shopping malls (Ayala is much the best). The rooftop restaurant is exciting, but it's outside and at 1000 ft above sea level it tends to be windy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimhae, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This time, with my young children, we stayed grand deluxe sea-view room, on 21th floor. But I don't find any difference between deluxe sea view room excluding it's floor level. Room has very good view of Cebu+Mactan city and sea. Breakfast quite satisfactory, beds are comfortable.

Two negative thing is, 1. Outside the hotel, they build a new buildings, it make problems in morning, for this hotel's room, poor at soundproofing. 2. Water temperature are changing with long shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear 꿈꾸는사람 ,

Thank you for staying with us again, this time with your family and enjoy the beautiful view, comfortable beds and good breakfast.

However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that the on-going development of Marco Polo Residences has brought in some of the guest rooms. Though, these new developments are part of a mixed-use property which shall provide vibrant amenities such as Zen gardens and jogging tracks, some of which are available to be accessed and enjoyed by hotel guests. We look forward to be able to welcome you and all our guests here at the prestige hotel of Cebu City especially after these improvements are completed.

Thank you also for your feedback on the water temperature consistency issue. Our Engineering and Technical Team has addressed this issue so we can serve all our guests the highest of standards.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My overnight stay in this lovely hotel was truly not enough to enjoy all it offers but I think I experienced enough beauty in my short stay to say that this is one of Cebu's best. Be treated to mouthwatering food finely cooked by their chef and presented buffet style at the Café Marco, said to be Cebu's best. Don't forget to try the lechon (roasted pig) done two styles, the original Cebu lechon and the crispy fried Pritchon! The rooms are well equipped and offers a fantastic view of the city!

Since it's tucked away in the mountains of Cebu, it's not in the city center, but it's seemingly weakness does wonders as it gives you an aura of exclusivity and refinement.

I will surely stay in this hotel once more!

Room Tip: Get the Sea / City View Rooms for a better view as compared to Mountain view Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear crispypata,

Being considered one of Cebu’s Best is an honor, thank you. By noticing the premium that you have enjoyed from staying with us, through tagging us as “Exquisite, Classy, and Excellent Food” encourages the whole Marco Polo Plaza Cebu team to be the brand that we are.

We look forward to see you again on your next trip in Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.