We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is one of the best hotel I've been to for long time. The place, service, food, people, staff are excellent. I highly recommend this place.I nearly cried when its time to leave cause it feels like home. The breakfast buffet is really really nice and we enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool. I had a foot massage at their spa after a stressful time dealing with my delayed luggage ( airline's fault ) and the hotel staff made sure to retrieve my luggage ASAP.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear ryubaby,

Thank you for highly recommending Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, and hailing us “The Best Hotel Ever!” What motivates us even more is when we learn that we have become a home to our guests. That is the very essence of hospitality, indeed.

Warm regards to you and the rest of the family. We look forward to see you here soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
83
82
41
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The room I got is the suite room. Very old and ordinary. It should be priced around P1800 not P9000. It's a good thing that Marco Polo's service is beautiful! Plus the Continental Club is amazing! Private breakfast buffet, free am and pm snacks, unlimited cocktails at night. This is the reason why I think I might come back again. However, they should really do a trade check on other hotels in the Philippines that have way better rooms and priced so low. Check out my other reviews if you want to see other hotels that gives you more value for the money you are paying.
Try their Spa. It's heavenly. I will definitely come back for the massage.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Onsie V,

We thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We appreciate your observations on the facilities and services at the Continental Club, being able to access it for free. We are also happy to note that you have very much enjoyed and recommended our Wellness Zone Spa.

In the last quarter of 2012, we started renovating our guest rooms in selected floors. We are excited and looking forward to be able to welcoming you and all our guests here at the prestige hotel of Cebu City especially after these improvements are completed.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guri, South Korea
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I'm very satisfied staying there. there is good service, pool, room especially delicous food. I have a meal every evening, and very satisfied. If you stay in Cebu with good food, I'll recommand there without hesitation. very satisfied hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear CYC779,

Greetings to you in South Korea!

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for recommending our hotel especially to your fellow Koreans.

Kamsamnida,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A classy hotel away from the crowd as it is situated on a mountain with a stunning view of the Cebu City landscape. Rooms are of comfy size and the toilet amenities were good. Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we will always have great memories with it. Sumptuous breakfast were served and coffee times at the poolside during evenings have live acoustic singers to entertain the guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Ed h,

Warm greetings to you and the whole family!

Thank you for writing a great review about your stay with us. We love knowing the fact that families too stay here with us and enjoy together our delicious international buffet, amenities and entertainment.

We are glad to be part of the great memories that you and the whole family have, only here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I had a delay in our flight on the way to Cebu so we had less time than anticipated, we decided to stay in the hotel for our entire 20 hours we had in the city. This decision was made after we had dinner on the night of our arrival - because we had such a great experience.

We ate out by the pool, from the À la carte menu we chose some dishes from the sizzling/bbq menu and were so happy with our choices. The food was hot, fresh and well priced not to mention delicious, and our accompanying cocktails were also great. There was live music and the lovely atmosphere by the pool.

We had breakfast in the lobby lounge - I had an amazing serving of macadamia encrusted french toast with caramelised banana which was a treat.

Then for lunch we ordered À la carte again and were very pleased with the food. I normally don't eat in hotels if given a choice, but this was a great gastronomic experience.

Overall the hotel room was nice too, with good views and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Seem to have good view from all angles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear ddv73,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us on that 20-hour layover in Cebu.

We take pride in serving great food here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu and for that, we are grateful that you have appreciated and enjoyed very much that culinary treat. Beginning from that Sizzling Dinner at El Viento to the breakfast the next morning at the Lobby Lounge, and specially mentioning our nightly live music entertainment that naturally speaks of Cebu’s love of music.

It is our passion to offer to you our guests, the Marco Polo Way of hospitality in all aspects.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byahera
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always stay here when I'm not staying at my parents house. I grew up in Cebu and have always heard things about this hotel. This used to be the former Cebu Plaza Hotel. A few changes here and there with regards to the hotel structure but the location remains excellent. But I'm disappointed about the new condo that's being built fronting the hotel swimming pool therefore blocking a partial view of the city from the El Viento pool bar. Staff service remains at par with other hotel establishments. Over all, this hotel is one the best value for money in Cebu City.

Room Tip: Go for the city view rooms (room number that ends with an odd number, ie, 2113) otherwise the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Babyspring,

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your stay with us. Yes, we used to be Cebu Plaza Hotel back in the days, and therefore part of many people’s great memories. We also take pride of our unique and picturesque location, that all of you our guests appreciate.

The new condominiums, “Marco Polo Residences” which are currently in construction are part of the mixed-use property of Federalland, Inc. Upon completion, the whole area will provide vibrant amenities such as Zen gardens and jogging tracks, some of which will be available to be accessed and enjoyed by hotel guests.

Particularly, thank you for your useful tips especially with regards to “the value for money” that other guests on business trips or vacation will be able to enjoy as they stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over New Year for afew nights. The fireworks, food and general NYE event is one that should be experienced by all!

After checking in we were informed of our free ungrade ..thankyou very much! I must say that although the hotel is lovely the rooms are awaiting their upgrade which is set to occur over the coming year apprently.

The staff at the hotel are amazing, nothing is a trouble and they all speak excellent english! We have dined pool side for wood fire pizza, up at the Blu room on the roof top and in the main restaurant . I can honestly say they are all 5 star quality and worth a re-visit. Not at all over priced either which is great.

So if you ever get a chance to stay here nye for $40AUD (or there abouts) it is a must. AWesome Buffet dinner then up to he balcony for more entertainment and drinks with a fireworks display right over your head that is world class!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is best, try to get around the 19th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sarah P,

How inspiring it is to note that you have immensely enjoyed celebrating New Year’s Eve in Cebu with us!

Greatly appreciated are the details that you have written on this review for the benefit of other future guests who may want to visit the Philippines, especially Cebu for New Year Celebrations. We take pride in maintaining 5-Star standards.

Cheers to a great 2013 and we hope to see you and more friends from the Land Down-Under!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.