We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza Cebu to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The adjacent construction work was not obtrusive and gave no cause for complaint even when by the pool. The location was away from city noise and traffic. Cebu city was a severe disappointment and the only reason to return would be to stay at the Marco Polo Plaza. The room on the 23rd was as good as you would expect from a hotel of this category, complimented by massive king size bed with orthopaedic mattress and pillows. In-room facilities were very good, as was room service. My overriding enjoyment of this hotel was the quality of the staff. I must single out Robert behind the pool bar and the waiter Lloyd; friendly and attentive without being overly so. I would recommend a stay at this hotel for couples and families.

Room Tip: We stayed on high floor and had a great hill-side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    228
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
124
133
51
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CEBU
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The old Cebu Plaza Hotel-now Marco Polo Plaza hotel which sits on top of Nivel Hills. My entire family checked-in around the 1st week of December and they liked it. The bed is very comfortable, the kids love the view of the city and they love the kiddie pool too. The room is spacious with 2 double beds. I'm surprised with the bravia LCD tv inside. Bathroom looks average but the vanity kit was gorgeous I brought some home. The only thing blocking the full view of the city from the pool is the Marco Polo condominium which is under construction. One last thing-i love the free coaster ride to the malls-it comes free if you want to go shopping or explore the city.

Room Tip: Request for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My first stay at the Marco Polo in Cebu.
Was an excellent location as it away from the hustle & bustle of the city.
Room was very spacious, nicely furnished & staff were very helpful.
Only negative is for the #2 hotel in Cebu I was expecting the bathroom to be more up to date. It was cramped & had obviously not been refurbished in quite sometime.
Some positives however is the immaculate lobby & lounge area. As it's Christmas staff were dressed up as nutcrackers & ballerinas, the giant Christmas tree is gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was on of the best I've had ever, although it is quite pricey if not include in your room charge.
All in all I had a great time & would possibly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First let me start with the small negative part... There is construction next door, right by the pool. The only time we heard the noise is when we were outside. That's it.

Now about the hotel. It is beautiful inside. Specially this time of the year with their Christmas decorations. Everyone was accommodating, helpful and eager to assist you in a moments notice.
The hotel has 3 restaurants. We tried every one. The Blu bar and grill on the roof top was just absolutely romantic and the food was wonderful. El Viento, the outside bar and grill is a great place right next to the pool area where you dont need to worry about changing your clothes to grab a quick lunch or dinner. Cafe Marco, has a reputation to have one of the best buffet in the city and that statement is true. A large assortment of Asian food, just yummy. When you go for breakfast ask to sit at Joy Romeo's section, she is wonderful.
Any where you need to go is only a taxi ride away. Not too close to anything but easy to get to.

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed overnight with my friends after a corporate party still at Marco Polo. Food was disappointing but service was good, facilities were well improved and there was nothing notable to complain about the room where we stayed in. I must say, my stay was still a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my second time in Marco Polo Cebu so this is also going to be my second review of the hotel.

I was only scheduled for one night in Cebu but my tattoo session got delayed so I had a lame excuse to miss my flight and book another hotel. I initially stayed in Radisson but I thought I couldn't afford staying there for another night so I thought Marco Polo was a better option. I made a reservation on their own website but I did not get a confirmation right away - their reservations department only emailed me after I checked out - so I just dared to go to the hotel and luckily they still had a deluxe room available for their weekender package.

I got free Havaianas included in their weekender package - nothing fitted me though and everything seemed to be for girls so that was for my mother. They also had other freebies and discounts included in the package but I did not get any of them - one of those freebies they indicated (a Marco Polo explorer gift pack for kids) was not available in the gift shop as I was told.

I collect key card sleeves (or whatever you call that case they use for key cards) so one thing I immediately noticed was how thin the sleeves were compared to the last time I was in this hotel and that was just 2 months ago. Maybe the hotel was cost-cutting?

I did not get the free breakfast and I chose to order the room service breakfast instead. Yes, it may be a little pricey but boy was I so full after eating half of it, so I was pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Marco Polo Hotel Cebu has regained the 'old charm' that was the Cebu Plaza Hotel until its demise a decade ago. This new hotel has not only regained but improved the facilities, rooms and particularly their food & beverage services. The hotel has a wonderful vigor about it.

Room Tip: The best views of the city all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 82 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#6 of 82 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.