We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hotel was better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Though dated, the room was clean and comfortable.
The restaurant service was excellent and consistent in all the outlets. The menu had a good range of choices for lunch and breakfast. Food prices were reasonable.
The rooftop restaurant-bar had a great vista at night.
The location may not be too convenient if you have to go downtown often.

Room Tip: Get the bay view rooms. Avoid the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    179
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
92
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Marco Polo Plaza is the very first upscale hotel in Cebu City, built around the '70's. It used to be known as the Cebu Plaza Hotel, and basically has spacious rooms, a good-sized lobby, and generally good views of the city. Being rather " old", it has been refurbished from time to time, although not very recently. The thing about it which is of concern to me now is the expected loss of some of the city views from the hotel due to a huge development within its compound. Right now, the views from the pool area are rather blocked_ whereas there used to be a nice feeling of space with city views when we hang around the pool bar_ all that will be lost with the rise of this humongous condominium one one side of the hotel. The hotel has a nice lobby lounge-bar where there is continuous music in the evenings, sometimes instrumental, sometimes a band playing 70's-80's music_ which makes it nice to hang around there, too. The back side of the hotel has views of the mountain in the distance, but I recommend the higher floors, because the lower floors will highlight views of informal-settlers' houses nearby. On the other side which faces the city (as this hotel is on a hill) it would be good to get the rooms on the right side of the hotel, facing the city. This is because the left side, facing city, is where almost all the construction is going on. Noisy and obstructive views. Very good rates now, though, and very accommodating personnel. The rooms are decent enough, but, at least the one we stayed in, was showng signs of age already, with s slight must smell. Good value as of the moment, though...

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel but towards the right side, facing the city, are better now because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A wonderful stay at Marco Polo Cebu

This is my favorite hotel in the whole world – literally. I was there for about two weeks in the second half of August 2012. The pool is a great place to relax, and the area around it is designed just perfectly. There is construction going on right opposite but you never feel or hear anything unpleasant. That in itself is a major accomplishment.

The staff is just incredible. From the moment that I arrived I was greeted by the front office manager Victor Alcantara, who was sincerely nice. A lot of times you feel that people in hotels are just going through the motions but Victor was genuinely interested and interesting. He gave me a tour of the roof and was just wonderful, always available to assist if necessary. I met the night office manager my last few days and I forgot his name but he also was terrific.

I do want to single out the trainers in the gym, primarily Raymond and PJ. They really went out of their way to give me personal training with no extra charge any time that I came in there day or night. It really got me motivated to get into shape which of course is something that we all struggle with.

The food was phenomenal, particularly the buffet. I did notice that one day they just seem to get sloppy, not putting the right signs on foods and not putting out certain things. When I asked, they said it was the kitchen managers day off. But that was really minor. The breakfast buffet in particular was incredible.

I'm not so much writing an objective review as thanking people who did a great job to make my vacation extremely satisfying. If I had to list minuses, some may not like the location. I thought it was wonderful on the hill but it's not next to a big mall like the Marriott or the Radisson. I think that the atmosphere is much better than either of those hotels and the food is well and certainly the service. But I think that those two hotels attract a different kind of traveler than the Marco Polo's I don't really think they are in direct competition. If I had to choose between the Radisson in the Marriott, I would definitely choose the Radisson. But I like the Marco Polo best of all.

Room Tip: City view is really nice but mountain view is nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip to cebu. The best thing for me about the hotel was it's pretty close to the work place. That was the selling point of this hotel for me.
Pretty decent hotel, rooms are well maintained. Internet connection was a bit challenging, had lots of drops & slow.
Staff at the hotel were VERY courteous. Very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: I was staying at a high rise floor & the view was just fantastic. I could see the cebu skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. High quality business hotel, convenient for the city centre but not slap bang in the middle. Good rooms, wifi worked, room service was on time, well priced. Friendly helpful check-in/check-out staff. Construction going on next door slightly annoying. Breakfast buffet was good although rather too many Asian choices and not quite enough Western for my tastes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Cebu City that was close to everything. Very beautiful and clean facility with a lot of class! Staff was very accommodating and always helpful and nice. Facility is very safe with security at the front gate. Added security via the elevator, as your room card can only take you to the floor to which your room is on (except for floors that have restaurants or facilities). Rooms are very clean and comfortable! Very nice swimming pool area. Bar/restaurant on the top floor with magnificent views. Daily breakfast buffet with a wide variety of delicious foods! Added bonus is the free shuttle service to and from shopping! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my honeymoon and it was worth every peso. Another rare hotel in the Philippines that delivers exceptional facilities. This hotel is up there with the Shangri La and Penninsula in terms of delivering a satisfying hotel experience. The food, accomodation and the beauty of the hotel lobby is worth going to have a look at. Again these type of hotels are not cheap but then again for what they offer, they shouldn't be. If you cannot be happy here, as i have said in other reviews, your better off staying at home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.