We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip to cebu. The best thing for me about the hotel was it's pretty close to the work place. That was the selling point of this hotel for me.
Pretty decent hotel, rooms are well maintained. Internet connection was a bit challenging, had lots of drops & slow.
Staff at the hotel were VERY courteous. Very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: I was staying at a high rise floor & the view was just fantastic. I could see the cebu skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    150
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
74
37
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. High quality business hotel, convenient for the city centre but not slap bang in the middle. Good rooms, wifi worked, room service was on time, well priced. Friendly helpful check-in/check-out staff. Construction going on next door slightly annoying. Breakfast buffet was good although rather too many Asian choices and not quite enough Western for my tastes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Cebu City that was close to everything. Very beautiful and clean facility with a lot of class! Staff was very accommodating and always helpful and nice. Facility is very safe with security at the front gate. Added security via the elevator, as your room card can only take you to the floor to which your room is on (except for floors that have restaurants or facilities). Rooms are very clean and comfortable! Very nice swimming pool area. Bar/restaurant on the top floor with magnificent views. Daily breakfast buffet with a wide variety of delicious foods! Added bonus is the free shuttle service to and from shopping! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my honeymoon and it was worth every peso. Another rare hotel in the Philippines that delivers exceptional facilities. This hotel is up there with the Shangri La and Penninsula in terms of delivering a satisfying hotel experience. The food, accomodation and the beauty of the hotel lobby is worth going to have a look at. Again these type of hotels are not cheap but then again for what they offer, they shouldn't be. If you cannot be happy here, as i have said in other reviews, your better off staying at home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS FR VANCOUVER CA MANILA PH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

the reception staff is very friendly yet professional;
we took an executive room and we were checked-in at the penthouse level by a special team! this executive penthouse team was exceptional, especially one receptionist, Mya (a magician), she provided all our needs in terms of service, she has a true care for clients out of her heart! she has our deepest thanks! and also thanks to bonnie the

we had every morning a continental breakfast at the penthouse area as a part of the executive Club Marco Polo! the team serving breakfast was great too specially bonnie!

the hotel is great the main reception is wide and you feel welcomed home feeling! it is truly a 5 stars international level hotel!
the rooms are clean and well kept!

the shuttle service to downtown is efficient from 10 am at hotel to 7:25 pm last pick up at malls the ride is 35 minutes on average!

a bad thing is all the old single foreigners that come and bring in prostitutes and the horde of south Koreans that rent by group or big families they have no class, no dignity, no proper educated manners! they play the rich but they are mean to the hotel staff and they are eating like pigs they don't give tips! they are so rude and they make a lot of noise in the lobby! they are not classy enough to be in such a classy, elegant hotel!

details:
1) we had a drink at lobby lounge and the staff snobed us! they paid more attention to foreigners with hookers as they are more likely to spend a lot!

2) at the cafe marco we arrived 5 minutes too early and got refused even to sit as even if we has a reservation for 6:30 pm + a horde of Koreans arrived in slippers and t shirts and ate like there was no tomorrow like real animals ruining our classy dinner and they were not even clients from the hotel get koreans and hookers out of your hotel

Room Tip: both view are excellent and wonder full sea view you can see the light of downtown and hill view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love Marco polo especially my Hubby...he really Loves it, the room, pool , stuff, Garden and especially the Best FOOD EVER! ..it was Soooo, Romantic Love the Place too..We stay here for 5 times ^_^ love the smell scent, and fresh Flowers..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel is dated but well maintained. Rooms are not that new but were very fine for me. I think the highlight of this hotel would be the pool. Ended up staying there all day long and getting some sun. Nothing much around it but you can always take a cab to the malls and restaurants.
Breakfast buffet was ok and had a good selection. My stay was made by the staff. They are all so friendly and attentive. The staff is the jewel on their crown and they make every stay worth while.

Room Tip: The pizza bar at the pool was really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.