We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and No Frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 76 hotels in Cebu City
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and No Frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Diplomat hotel for a budget reason. The hotel facade was typically normal, lobby was nice and clean.. The rooms were clean and comfortable.. The Restaurant was nothing to talk about but did put out fair food... Remember you get what you pay for... This Hotel DID NOT have Free breakfast included with stay like many of the others do... I would stay at again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    118
    69
    19
    22
See reviews for
11
36
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lochristi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have been staying in this hotel before and not much has changed since.
The location is good but the surrounding is not.
Free Wifi for hotel guests and friendly service.
But oh boy the bathroom was already dirty on our last visit and this time it was worse.
It's time someone from the management take a look at some bathrooms and do something about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for the 3rd time in August 2013, Old hotel with good location, walking distance to Robinson Mall Fuente Osmena and nightlife at Mango, Friendly attentive staff, average but clean room, small old TV with many channels, strong aircon. Will be renovated in 2014 said the staff. Maintenance staff was quick to fix anything. Back up generator kicks in within 1 minute. Rooms in new wing around 1300-1600 php. Avoid old wing with very old rooms. Always taxi outside. Guest friendly. Monthly rate 32000 peso, cheaper than most hotels in Cebu.

Room Tip: Stay in new wing, old wing are really old rooms and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The first time I went to Cebu I was advised by a friend to stay here at Diplomat, The hotel facade was typically normal, The lobby was classy. I booked two rooms for me and my friends. The room was clean, room service was perfect (When I broke a glass, and called customer sevice in an instant there was a knock on my door -- such a quick service) . The location is an easy access to almost everything. bottom line if you're looking for a nice hotel with great staff, you might as well consider this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was there and I would stay again.

Good staff, good rooms and excellent price. Perhaps the tv is kinda of old, but... I do not care much, I am not there to watch tv.

Location is a bit.. out of the main drag, but still, just 5 minutes walk to Osmeña square.

Excellent spanish restaurant located in front of the Diplomat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Been staying on this hotel for almost every month since 2012. All I can say that aside from their affordable rates, they are strategically located near the heart of uptown Cebu City. It is near Cebu Velez General Hospital, 7-11 convenience store, Robinsons Department Store and so on and so fort. Their staff is very friendly and accommodating, showing the very best of Cebuano hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights earlier this month, and am concerned about a staff member at this hotel posing a potential threat to female guests.

The majority of the staff at the Diplomat were friendly, helpful and polite, with a special mention to the girls at reception. However, when I requested assistance with a faulty internet connection, a bellboy was sent with me to my room. Sometime after he had fixed the problem and left, he began making harassing phone calls to my room, having guessed that I was a woman travelling alone. From what I could understand, this person’s name was “Johari” or “Jothari” (possibly Jeffrey?) and he asked if he could come back to my room because he was “lonely”.

I immediately hung up, to which the phone started ringing nonstop. After barricading the door and alerting friends and family, I reported the incident to reception. I was at first assured by a female supervisor that the man would be fired. However, I continued to receive phone calls from him in the next half-hour (which I always terminated). I was terrified he would break into my room and attack me, and considered seeking help from other guests rather than management.

Eventually reception called and said they had “told staff not to disturb you”, which did not put me at ease – the issue was not being “disturbed by staff”, it was being threatened by a PARTICULAR staff member. When my cousin rang the hotel, they apologised to her and said “Johari” had already received complaints after attempting to enter guest rooms without permission. When I asked to move rooms, the woman assisting me said, “He has been told.” I began to suspect "Johari" had been warned but not fired. I continued my stay at the hotel without incident, but I spotted "Johari" in uniform when I checked out days later.

I would not recommend this hotel on the basis that management allows a dangerous staff member, who has a history of harassing, following or threatening female clientele, to remain in their employ. It’s a shame because the location is good (very central, close to shopping centres as well as taxi/jeepney access), the reception ladies were lovely, prices were reasonable, and the rooms were satisfactory, if a little basic. But giving a staff member repeated opportunities to terrorize guests is a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;