We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite old but still decent place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quite old but still decent place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed here with a couple of friends and as we only want a place where we can sleep at night as we are out most of the day, then, this hotel serves it right. The price may not be very competitive as there are more decent place than this at the same price, however, location wise and cleanliness of the room, I can't complain. We were satisfied with our stay and everything was hassle free from check in to check out. . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    119
    70
    19
    22
See reviews for
11
36
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I would think twice when considering going back to this hotel because there are similarly priced hotels which are near this hotel but are more centrally located (nearer to Fuente). Although this hotel had all the basics I needed, most everything is old. The staff could have used more smiles too. Going up to your room, you'd take the stairs, pass through the open-air corridors, where other guests' trays and plates with leftover food from the morning or yesterday are scattered about. The wi-fi was fast though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times traveling from Panglao,Bohol to Cebu City. It is central location & reasonable price is a welcome attraction. Nothing special just a great place to stay one or two nights.

Room Tip: The new part of the hotel is much bettter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel won't be for us we stay the 2 nights our first day we ask the WiFi then they gave us the code then they don't bother to tell me it just intended for 1 computer we can't figure out why if his connected I'm not so then called front desk she said oh you need to purchase the code for other person and thats the policy they can't do something for it. Here's more the room don't have WiFi your going to stand at the hallway what a nice service we got in this sucks hotel. When we back home our clothes smells cigarette seems this is the place for the smokers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed three nights in the cheapest room. I felt thay I rode time machine back to early 90's. Honestly I enjoyed this stay. Exchange rate was good as other said and the locations was also good, near to Robinson Mall, McDonalds, Davinci Pizza, and Starbucks.
If you mind is ready to see the condition of the bathroon, other things will be all okay. The bathroom is quite old, but all works fine. The room gives off some weird smell of mold but you might forget it when you turn on an air conditioner. Well, the most demanding thing with the room was about the air conditioner. That stubborn [--] were taking me to Alaska with nonnegotiable adjust to good temperature and humidity.
With this price and budget, I think I will consider anothet stay in Diplomat when I have trip plan near the place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rooms are good. Aircon is cold and water pressure is great. Rooms Clean. Many Asian clientele stay there and attend an English classes nearby. Many of the rooms smell horribly bad of smoke. Check the room immediately upon checkin to have that sorted.

Restaurant is shamefully bad. Internet is sold at extortionate rates which is nearly almost always included in rooms nowadays.

Taxis are lined up right in front of the hotel so that's convenient if needed. About 90pesos to SM Mall and 80Pesos to Ayala

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms that are a left turn off the elevator. They lack electrical outlets and while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

good hotel good price good security bad restaurant internet is expensive

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HostelWorld so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.