We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money in a new city-center hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Central Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Central Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Escario Street, Corner F. Ramos Extension, Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Munster, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good value for money in a new city-center hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Based on the very different oppinions from prior travellers I decided to visit this hotel to make up my own mind. First, yes, it is true, there is traffic noise around, as the hotel is situated just opposite of the provincial capitol - just on the side of a major town road. However, apart from this down-point I didn't find much to complain about here.

Different from the rates given on TA, I found that the hotel has lowered the rates in the form of a permanent promo. The de-luxe room (small rooms for short stay) is now 1068 P, Superior (bigger but without window) 1188 P,
Premier 1438 P (bigger and with window) and 2 kinds of family rooms.

I decided for the premier room, because I asked the reception for a nice, spacy and silent room. The room was ok, the bed very good, all very clean to the point of sterile.
The windows could not be opened, also no balcony. Good new flat tv with many sat channels, split ac: new and very silent. American breakfast in the restaurant on top of the hotel for 210 P was ok. Staff friendly and helpful.
All in all not the most cosy and romantic place but a business hotel in the city center and a good place for a stopover.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
14
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Looking nice and clean on the outside but it is deceptive because the standards were never maintained. No courtesy toothbrushes or razors here, you don't even get a free bottle of water and if your shower breaks down for 2 days as mine did, forget asking for a discount on your bill because they're too arrogant to even consider it. Food is also very 'sparingly' produced as my son returned his cheeseburger because there was 'no burger', only to have pointed out to him the mediocre little meat paste hidden under the cheese which was meant to be the burger. Pay for a glass of wine and what you actually get is a half glass of wine thereby being charged twice to get 1 glassful of wine. Extra towel or anything else above the mediocre 'what is supplied' you will be charged for it. Don't forget to take your earplugs if you dine in the restaurant in case the resident band is playing! Acoustic Nights? Atrocious Nights more like, think, strangulated cats on a hot tin roof. Noisy traffic from the busy main road it sits on with constant 24 hours a day horn sounding so you have a choice between the band or the traffic noise if you choose to eat in your room. Personally, I'd choose the traffic noise. A far better hotel though it doesn't have the looks of this one, is the Cuarto hotel where the staff are exemplary and the cleanliness leagues above this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surigao city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

With the 4Cs in mind this is what Capitol Central Hotel Suites is all about. It's near the Capitol, rooms .cozy, and at the heart of Cebu City. Price is affordable. Very near Ayala and Fuente. Just a tip: if you like fresh fruits you"re in for a treat.

Room Tip: Coner rooms bit tight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in april 2014.
The hotel is new, clean en en lookes good.
The price is very cheap for what you get. (One of the better hotels we stayed in the Philippines for the lowest price)
Location is near the capitol, and there are jeepneys going in front of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We moved here for one night at the end of our stay in Cebu as our previous hotel was fully booked. Cebu hasn't recovered well from the tsunami/earthquake that struck last year so it's not tourist friendly by any means and there is a lot of poverty here. However this hotel appeared to be away from that and felt like a safe and secure place to stay. The room was a decent size equipped with air con and a fridge but missing tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was of decent size and produced hot water but the pressure wasn't very good. Both the bathroom and the bedroom of our unit smelt really bad and the internet connection had a shocking server which failed to load a lot of web pages. Capitol was okay to stay for one night but on the off chance that I'd return to Cebu, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

It was surprising for the price as it was not that expensive. Good clean rooms aircon the best we have had so far.
There is a nice restaurant on top floor which is quite well priced but you wouldn't know it was there as there is no advertising in the rooms for it only beside the lift in foyer.
Good wifi through out hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was a great find! We stayed in the Premier Queen Room on the 5th floor and it was spacious, had a long desk... and a great view! It's a new hotel (less than a year), and everything was new, as expected. Comfortable beds and very helpful staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Just a few minor negatives: the internet wasn't working well, but they said it was the cable company's fault - which I believed. There's an internet café 1 minute walking distance away, so no big deal. Although the bathroom was nice and clean with a beautiful sink, there was a strange smell emitting on occasion. Aside from this... no real complaints.

There are some nice local restaurants in the area and the Jeepneys come by constantly out front so it's easy to get to different places. There's also a 7/11 down the street and there was a fridge in the room which was great. If your room doesn't have a fridge, they said they would provide one at no charge... but this may change.

I believe they are currently having promotional rates. We paid around PHP 1,450 for the Premier Queen, but the room was worth more.

Oh, they have a restaurant upstairs with a phenomenal view of the city and great food! Cheap too!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Central Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Central Hotel and Suites

Address: Escario Street, Corner F. Ramos Extension, Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Central Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It doesn’t get any more central than this! Situated right across the historic Cebu Provincial Capitol. This newly-renovated hotel boasts of a very convenient location in the heart of Cebu City and Cebu Province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Capitol Central Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Central Hotel And Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Central Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.