We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cebu Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cebu Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Cebu Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cebu Capitol Complex | North Escario St.,, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Cebu City
Ylivieska, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The pictures looked nice beforehand but this hotel is a little worn out and tired. The room carpet was smelly and even felt a bit wet under the feet. The aircon was quite loud. There was construction work going on outside the hotel (daytime only though). However the staff was very friendly, smiling and welcoming. The breakfast was good, the restaurant was open all day for having meals. Location of the hotel is good (downtown Cebu area with everything close by).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
26
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tacurong, Sultan Kudarat, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Service was good and we were accommodated accordingly. Staffs always wore their sweetest smile and greeted us whenever we enter the hotel. One thing I noticed of was the scent that welcomed us as we enter the hotel. It's a good smells as if it entices and invites each guests to come in and experience the hotel's services and amenities. The hotel's Account Executive even personally welcomed us wearing her best smile. I look forward to staying in this hotel for my future trips in Cebu.

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel porter working on December 23 in the evening was really service minded, charming and helpful. Good English and kind. Too bad we never got to tip him before leaving, but I hope the hotel management will notice how bright he is. I wish him great success in life.

I had a good impression of the hotel in general, not too high standard but you do get what you pay for. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Grand is a little tired, but the service and accommodation was fine. Breakfast was excellent and the location toMalls and the city centre is fine. Get a driver and van for one day for about 1500 peso for 3 hours. Well worth a drive to see the sights and 500 Peso to get to the airport (.
30 mins).

So accommodation is ok, food great and location is great for 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

this will be my first time not to appreciate the place i stayed for a couple of days. yes the location was nice more accessible to malls. 2 things that disappoint me when i get inside the room first is the awful smell like it has been abandoned for years. And the breakfast food was surprisingly not good. guess they have to work more about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Not in the best location but getting a metered cab not a prob. Cost P100 to SM City and less to Ayala. P100 to Downtown and slightly more to tops so not too bad. Can walk to Robinson, 20 min.

Very friendly staff, counter, door and restaurant. Limited breakfast buffet but decent local food. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

It has been at least 2 or 3 years since I last stayed ath the Cebu Grand Hotel. Since that time, they have renovated the lobby, rooms and restaurant area. Looks much better now than then.

Our check in was very smooth, everything was completed in advance and only needed to sign the form.

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe room, chich was quite large and had a queen bed and a twin bed. The only room amenity was the flat screen tv with a lot of cable channels, even had my favorite Fox Crime which I don't find most places. The water heaters for coffee service have been removed and the room doses not have a room safe. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

The beds were still firmer than I like but I slept ok until the roosters crowing woke me up before 4 AM.

The buffet breakfast was ok with egg station, various meats, breads, fruits, and cereal. The restaurant also is open all day, but I don't recommend it. If you order, expect to wait for your food for about 45 minutes, it definitely is not fast food. I ordered fried chicken and when I got it, it was cold, don't know how that can happen, but it did.

I would stay at the Grand again, but given the large number of similiar properties now available in Cebu, think I would opt for another hotel, at least to try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Cebu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cebu Grand Hotel

Address: Cebu Capitol Complex | North Escario St.,, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cebu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cebu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cebu Grand Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cebu Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.