We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise in the heart of a busy area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Montebello Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Montebello Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise in the heart of a busy area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a very good pick of Cebu Hotels for the following reasons: Despite being physically located behind the extremely busy and noisy Country Mall near Banilad the actual grounds of this hotel were quiet, grassy with beautiful gardens, plenty of flowers and gorgeous pools. Walking around the grounds one would think they were in a country locale inwhich security made a significant presence without being overbearing.
The check in was quick, efficient and despite not initially meeting my special requests hotel management made a quick executive decision to upgrade us to a room that more than suited our needs. The room itself was large, spacious and climate controlled although with no elevator at times it seemed like the air conditioning was a most critical element. There were ample electrical outlets to charge or recharge all of our numerous devices. The wifi was good and servicable. Unfortunately the room lacked a safety box so there needed to be near daily trips to the front office to replenish funds etc. The staff were freindly, professional but unobtrusive. The resto area was nice, quiet and adjacent two sparkling blue pools. Would I return to this hotel, yes DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: Ensure that you communicate your requests at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the kind words in your review.

At Montebello Villa Hotel, we make sure that guests are fully satisfied, comfortable and relaxed.

Safety boxes may not be readily available in the rooms but rest assured 24-hour camera is available at the front office for additional security.

Thank you for definitely considering us on your next visit.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    74
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
36
46
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the Sinulog festival. They had their own mini-sinulog parade through the hotel grounds.

Location: It's a bit far from the city center, but its easy to get a jeep to the city or to Ayala. IT Park is very close, but its better to ride a taxi going there. The jeeps are located in front of the Gaisano Mall, which is about a five minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel Interior: True to it's "Villa Hotel" moniker, the lobby and hallways are open-air. There are always children playing in the swimming pool. No elevators either, so you have to take the stairs, which would be okay if you were in the 2nd floor, but not that fun if you're higher up. You can't smoke in the rooms, but you can smoke in the hallways (not that fun if you do it at night.)

Hotel Rooms: Very big, we got two extremely fluffy beds, great pillows. Bathroom was also big.

Hotel Breakfast: Buffet, with good food and a variety of options from Bacon, Ham and Eggs to Tapa and Danggit. Fresh fruits were also available, and you have your choice of bread or rice. It varied day-to-day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Qasdan,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you have appreciated the Spanish heritage of Montebello Villa Hotel. We appreciate your compliments

On your next visit, you can always request for a smoking room. Special requests are highly acknowledged to make your stay hassle-free.

We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel beautiful gardens and pools but its the staff that make the hotel
I am in the industry so know how hard it is to please all the people all the time however this little unassuming hotel in Banilad really tries to do just that ,
We arrived on recommendation from friends in the area and were instantly made to feel like VIP , the staff are courteous to a fault , even by Filipino standards
Close to all amenities should you need to shop and the city only a ten minute cheap taxi away Country Mall , restaurants and transport all literally around the corner but once inside you feel like you are way from it all in tropical gardens and peaceful surroundings
I feel we had the best rooms overlooking the pool yet not too noisy apart from the occasional noises of people having fun , not a bad thing surely
Food adequate though buffet breakfast got a little samey after ten days it does anywhere
lunch and dinner menu ranged from local filippino to more western staples ie burgers spaghetti and the like all served up either by the pool or in your own room and prices that won't break the bank and service that shames most 5 star hotels
Great Hotel for families with children as the pools are good , great hotel for couples , they even have a bridge of love ! . In fact great hotel for anyone . Occasional live music in the evenings

Highly recommended

Could name a few staff as especially attentive but would be unfair to single anyone out as I didn't come across a single staff member who wasn't well trained and excellent at their job
I have travelled extensively thought Europe and rest of world and usually prefer more high end 5* hotels however this is one of my favourite hotels
We moved here after being disappointed with the hotel we had chosen whilst at home in the uk I won't name it
It's difficult to choose a hotel when research is based on subjective comments from trip advisor however please if your looking at the Hotel Montebello Villa go ahead and book , speak to the hotel rather than an OTA bring your swimming costume your smile and relax and have fun but don't take our rooms !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here again in May 2013. This is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. A great place to go if you have kids. The grounds and pools are really nice.

We usually invite friends and relatives to come and join us for dinner, or maybe lunch and a swim.

I enjoy sitting by the pool at night with a drink after dinner. It is nice and quiet at night.

The rooms: don't take the standard room, spend a bit more and take the deluxe. They are remodeling bit by bit and the newer room cost even more. Reserve online it is less expensive

Room Tip: upgrade at least one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for free. Well, I am not really happy. In our room, the lavatory was outside the toilet and bath area itself and just near the bedside. When somebody brushes his/her teeth, the other companions cannot help but get distracted due to the water pressure coming outside the faucet. Nice because it is a garden hotel with a little pond. Food was ok and staff are ok too. It is a short walk to a big mall but for me it is expensive. There are newer inns and hotels far better than this and are much cheaper also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a vintage 1970s hotel that has not been seriously updated since then. It could use a little paint but otherwise it's in great shape. The restaurant was very good and the grounds and the pool were beautiful. A great oasis of relaxation in hectic Cebu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked a deluxe room over the internet. We were not asked for our preferred bedding configuration, nor did I think I should have to specify. When you are staying at such a hotel you would expect a "large" bed. What we would call in Australia, a queen bed. I'm not sure if the term is the same all over. When we arrived we had a great modern room, but with a single bed and a double bed. We did not complain at that time. We don't like to make waves, and the room was really nice. We tried to sleep on the small bed (double) but it was not so comfortable. The next morning we took our complaint to the front desk. At first we were informed there were no more equivalent rooms available with a queen bed. Then the supervisor joined the conversation and she suggested we go to breakfast and they would have a room to show us.

We did so and the room they showed us was a suite room with a king sized bed. The room had not been renovated like the first room, but we graciously accepted the room and thanked them for their help. Problem solved.

The facilities are good. The pool looks great from a distance. But, it has a rough floor and the paint is chipped in large areas.

We only ate breakfast there and the buffet was quite good. We were very happy with the service here.

Upon checkout I was asked to wait while house keeping checked the room for any mini bar purchases. That is normal. I had drank a can of coke the night before so I had 50 pesos ready to pay the front desk. After 10 minutes the staff member presented me with a bill for 150 pesos. I asked what the extra 100 was for. She stated it was for a broken glass. I informed her that the glass in question was cracked when we got to the room. There were 3 other glasses in the room and only my fiance and I in the room, so I did not need to use it. She stated she would have to call maintenance. I told her that I was leaving and gave her my 50 pesos. The problem I had with that issue was she had not bothered to ask me about the glass, just wrote out the bill and presented it to me. If we had broken a glass 100 pesos would not have been a problem. So something so small, changed my view from average to poor.

Room Tip: You must check all items in the room for breakage before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.