We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star-hotel with a lovely garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montebello Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Philippines
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“3 star-hotel with a lovely garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was the choice of my former classmates who came home for a class reunion. We booked three deluxe rooms with twin beds each. My group got so nostalgic when we entered Montebello's premises because it brought back many happy memories . Disappointment and sadness immediately took over our joy when we saw our rooms. Truly this hotel needs a major rehab. The beds were not comfy, there was no fridge in our room (online though they said there is one), no bulb in a lamp, leaking faucet and no hot water when we took our shower. Management said their water heater was busted that day (??).There were also plenty black ants in the toilet. It's time for them to fumigate the rooms too because at night there were plenty mosquitoes. They also have to clean thoroughly the dust and dust mites from the draperies.
We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet though and had fun swimming in the big pool - water was clean. The hotel staff always greets you with a smile and willing and able to answer the many queries of my friends. The lovely garden is well maintained and flowers a bloom.
Montebello needs a major renovation on its rooms.What more can you ask when you are staying in a 3-star hotel for budget conscious ladies like us, who came home more for bonding and fun with our old dear classmates.

Room Tip: There are renovated rooms that are sold out quickly; so book very early to get those newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    74
    41
    18
    6
See reviews for
36
45
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I travel to Cebu two or three times a year. The Montebello Villa is my favorite. There are other reasonable 'Business Class' hotels that are cheaper, like the Northwinds and Castle Peak, but the 'MV' is far more comfortable.

It's a bit older but well seasoned. The Gaisano's Country Mall is next door, and University of Cebu is across the boulevard, all within walking distance. Spend a little more and get the better room.

They have a beautiful terrace and garden, a great place to entertain guests, have dinner or a drink at the pool side bar.

I'm sorry if some others were disappointed because the 'MV' wasn't perfect, but then again, this IS Cebu!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just love our room view which is a big backyard of big trees and birds are humming,a very serene place.The food was great,my Australian fiancee loves the food especially our fave gambas al ajilo-prawns.At night when we have our dinner,at poolside,there was the local band that plays our fave song,very romantic indeed.This hotel is also accessible to taxis,and there was mall (Country Mall)at the nearest,and Ayala mall is also near as well.We enjoyed our stay in Cebu and would probably will stay here at Montebello again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You will feel that you are in the paradise even if location just at the back of a big mall. A little outdated rooms. I stayed with kids. Pool is great! And just few steps away from the Gaisano mall where you can grab a bite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

When traveling from the Mactan airport to the Montebello Villa Hotel, it is not hard to see all the development, traffic, people and noise in the ever developing City of Cebu. However, upon arriving through the gates of the Montebello Villa hotel, you will immediately notice how quiet it all suddenly becomes. You then look around and can hardly see any tall structures surrounding this "garden" hotel and the constant wind blowing through the property makes you believe that you are not in the middle of downtown Cebu City.
The hotel is over 40 years old and various sections of the hotel have been recently renovated. The Deluxe room that I stayed in was quite a large space if compared to other hotels that advertise Deluxe room accomodations. The hotel is surrounded by a huge garden and has three swimming pools. This hotel would be an excellent location if you are traveling with small children. Also an ideal venue for garden style weddings which I was told occurs quite frequently. This iconic hotel has been through a lot over the years but it still maintains is claim to be the ONLY garden hotel in Cebu.
If you are looking for a quiet place to be in an almost resort atmosphere, this is a place to consider. Just make sure you book rooms that have been recently renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our room was tiny and smelly from the humidity. Everything was very old and used. Basic features like minibar or safety box were missing. Positive aspects: pool, garden, cleanliness. All in all too expensive for us, but maybe other rooms are better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consolacion, Cebu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's such a heart-warming experience staying in a cool & stress-free beautifully designed hotel with their mouth-watering foods that would definitely satisfy our appetite! The services were good enough to meet our expectations... We (Cherie & Michael) really appreciated our first visit there... Keep it up and God bless!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.