We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a wonderful stay for me and my fiancee that time,twas last June20,2012.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montebello Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Montebello Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is a wonderful stay for me and my fiancee that time,twas last June20,2012.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just love our room view which is a big backyard of big trees and birds are humming,a very serene place.The food was great,my Australian fiancee loves the food especially our fave gambas al ajilo-prawns.At night when we have our dinner,at poolside,there was the local band that plays our fave song,very romantic indeed.This hotel is also accessible to taxis,and there was mall (Country Mall)at the nearest,and Ayala mall is also near as well.We enjoyed our stay in Cebu and would probably will stay here at Montebello again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    77
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
37
46
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You will feel that you are in the paradise even if location just at the back of a big mall. A little outdated rooms. I stayed with kids. Pool is great! And just few steps away from the Gaisano mall where you can grab a bite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

When traveling from the Mactan airport to the Montebello Villa Hotel, it is not hard to see all the development, traffic, people and noise in the ever developing City of Cebu. However, upon arriving through the gates of the Montebello Villa hotel, you will immediately notice how quiet it all suddenly becomes. You then look around and can hardly see any tall structures surrounding this "garden" hotel and the constant wind blowing through the property makes you believe that you are not in the middle of downtown Cebu City.
The hotel is over 40 years old and various sections of the hotel have been recently renovated. The Deluxe room that I stayed in was quite a large space if compared to other hotels that advertise Deluxe room accomodations. The hotel is surrounded by a huge garden and has three swimming pools. This hotel would be an excellent location if you are traveling with small children. Also an ideal venue for garden style weddings which I was told occurs quite frequently. This iconic hotel has been through a lot over the years but it still maintains is claim to be the ONLY garden hotel in Cebu.
If you are looking for a quiet place to be in an almost resort atmosphere, this is a place to consider. Just make sure you book rooms that have been recently renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our room was tiny and smelly from the humidity. Everything was very old and used. Basic features like minibar or safety box were missing. Positive aspects: pool, garden, cleanliness. All in all too expensive for us, but maybe other rooms are better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consolacion, Cebu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's such a heart-warming experience staying in a cool & stress-free beautifully designed hotel with their mouth-watering foods that would definitely satisfy our appetite! The services were good enough to meet our expectations... We (Cherie & Michael) really appreciated our first visit there... Keep it up and God bless!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Old, renovated recently though.

Antique but clean.

Good location with Gaisano Shopping mall where you can find Chow King, many good restaurants incl. 2 Korean restaurants.

Surprisingly managed garden is sething to brag about most in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Swimming pool and garden looks nice. Second floor standard room was affordable and clean but the bed and room size is too small for a couple with 1 child. It does not have a nice view as well. Food was not replenished during the buffet breakfast. Not much food choices. Don't book a standard room if you plan to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.