We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price with great garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montebello Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable price with great garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Old, renovated recently though.

Antique but clean.

Good location with Gaisano Shopping mall where you can find Chow King, many good restaurants incl. 2 Korean restaurants.

Surprisingly managed garden is sething to brag about most in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    74
    41
    18
    6
See reviews for
36
45
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Swimming pool and garden looks nice. Second floor standard room was affordable and clean but the bed and room size is too small for a couple with 1 child. It does not have a nice view as well. Food was not replenished during the buffet breakfast. Not much food choices. Don't book a standard room if you plan to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guri, South Korea
Top Contributor
555 reviews 555 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

C1 ( 2009 )
I'm satisfied about swimming pool, restaurant in the open air. but room is old and not clean. Garden, location, scenery is good, and I think need remodeling in side. If I visit in Cebu, I'll hesitate which to stay one more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a conference in July 2012, like SportTraveller and Epistemologist. It's interesting that while we give the same overall rating, we liked and disliked different things. For instance, I thought the breakfast had sufficient variety for a week. The trick is to choose only a couple things each day (there are about five offerings each day, with some changes) and not be afraid to eat options that are not Western "breakfast", like rice. I enjoyed the nearby mall eateries, as well. Well, except Jollibee.
I had no problems with Wi-fi anywhere, unlike the others. I also had no problems with water temperature, though there were at least four people at the conference who did. My major concern was mold in the bathroom - look at the black spots in the top right corner of the bathroom shower. The rest of the hotel has curtains, colors, and furnishings from the 1980s. My room, for instance, had green and burnt orange in the color scheme.
Overall, this is a moderately priced, moderately good property. There are better places, like the Radisson, and there are cheaper places. This fits in the middle. It was acceptable for the conference, though if I were to return to Cebu I would prefer a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great garden and pool where you can relax after a busy day. Food is very good. The restaurant and bar work 24h and it was priceless to have dinner and drink outside in the garden, whenever you want. Staff is very friendly. My room was nice, big and clean, but my colleagues got a smaller rooms and a kind of smelly because of the humidity maybe. They also complained that didn't have a hot water sometimes, but I didn't have the same problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This beautiful hotel is a gem that needs some polishing and some resetting..

Years ago, finding this place is wonderful feeling as one does not have to go through an ugly mall. Maybe, this is part of progress that could not be avoided.

The lobby and entrance looks old but still grand. Reception quiet friendly and accommodating. The Superior room given to us at the ground floor is okay with a beautiful garden view though it can be observed that furniture and carpet have seen better days so that it also smelled musty.. would have loved to stay there but since they were repainting the room just beside, my sister who is asthmatic could not stand the strong smell of paint so we requested to be transferred. The gave us a room on the second floor whose window opens to a roof and wires and aircons which was a big disappointment. Same old musty smell. Hot water takes a long time coming. Bathroom is quiet spacious but needs to be upgraded.

Breakfast choices is so limited but not of a breakfast eater, it was okay.. Service is a bit selective but okay.


This is a beautiful hotel and it can be ten times better with an upgrade and facelift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is just lovely. We had a great room (though we got upgraded because they double booked our room). Almost a 25 meter pool with sun chairs, and the bar/restaurant is right there. Large grounds with lawns, trees, a pond, it seriously felt like an oasis in the city.
Check in was a bit painful, they insist you must have a print out of your booking even though we were able to show it to them on our ipad, we still had to print it out.
But other than that a great stay, especially when you go out into the city to explore and its all dirty, crowded, smoggy, hot and humid. And then you come back and just relax by the pool.Service was really good too.
Loved it and if I ever went back would be heading straight to this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.