We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful garden rooms need a bit of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montebello Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Montebello Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden rooms need a bit of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed there with my wife and daughter on 15th and 16th August, we always stay there from few years when we go to Cebu, Hotel has really a beautiful location, wonderful garden, swimming pool,spacious lobby, also breakfast is very good but i think rooms are a bit old and need renovation, especially the bathroom, also price increase every year while it's not the same thing for the service.
Aniway i recomend it especially for family with kids who can enjoy the pool or for business travellers too.

Room Tip: I recomend the deluxe room, the best room compared with the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    39
    18
    6
See reviews for
34
43
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The first night we arrived at midnight. Our standard room was worn out and it took forever for the AC window unit to cool the room. It did have great wireless internet. There was also no hot water. The next day we upgraded to a better room about 12 more dollars a day. This room was almost 3 times larger than the standard room. The AC worked great and we had mostly hot water. Well, worth it!!

The food is good and the service excellent!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Positive aspects: Very spacious lobby, restaurant, pool areas; amazing nice garden;,in the center of Cebu city. 20 minutes to e airport if no traffic; up to one hour in case of traffic.

Rooms: standard rooms are quite small and old fashion. superior rooms have instead Been renovated.

Negative aspects: the front desk persons incl. the manager are not very friendly, nor smiling nor, worse, efficient. both check-in and check-out were very slow even if all booking details had been set before arrival.

We had 2 unfriendly experiences:
1) for our 3rd kid (10 years), the hotel charged 20 Euros for an additional bed (not including breakfast) Even though the superior room occupied by our children already had 3 beds thus could have accomodated the 3 kid.

2) we had an argument at check out about the transportation to the airport. I requested a transportation for 5 guests in my email booking and paid the corresponding fee for it. The hotel staff proposed a 5 seat car where it was not possible to accommodate 5 persons & 5 luggages; they argued that we should pay an additional fee larger than the one already paid to have a Van (7seats) assigned to us. After a long and unfriendly discussion with the manager, the hotel accepted the Van transportation.

despite a nice environment and infrastrucutre, this hotel was a disappointing to us as it does not offer any sevice; the hotel was crowdy with tourists and we had the feeling that the management was interested in making money only.

In our 3 week vacation in PhIlippines, this hotel was the only one which did not meet our expectations in terms of friendliness and efficiency frohm its staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Basing in my own experience, this hotel is at least 40 yrs old but renovated very well. One of the great things were the services of the waiters/waitresses are great especially at the poolside restaurant, the housekeeping staff did a great job for us as well as the Bell Service. One of the worst thing I've noticed and perceived is one of the front desk clerk named 'JO--ANN" (by her name tag) was kinda rude , and snobbish. Very incompetent. She is not a "people person"...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for six days and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. In room 28 which was huge. Internet was good in the room, however poor in some spots. The bar was good and pool ok. It is a little more pricey than other places, and I found it to be a little far from the city. The shopping centre nearby is ok, and there is a gym too. However, Ayala is awesome and this is a taxi ride. The breakfast was really disappointing - I was sick of the same food each day and was almost not wanting any breakfast at the end. This is a GOOD hotel (better than average but less than very good). The staff were lovely, and just wanted a little bit more.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Attended a conference here July 2012. My room was fine, with good A/C, a comfortable bed, and a hot shower—really all you need for a conference. Service was generally excellent. The pool was terrific, open at 6 AM, the best time for laps (later in the day, kids dominated). Breakfast buffet came with the room and was exceptional. Lunch and dinner were both good. The grounds are lovely, a little oasis in the middle of the city.

Cons? Free Wi-Fi was erratic, and the shower temperature control was extremely finicky. Others in our group had the same problems. It's an ugly walk to the nearby, so-so mall. The mall does have ATMs, OK restaurants (not as good as the hotel's), and a huge, interesting grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This Hotel is in Cebu City near a small mall, its not that close to the bigger malls. The Hotel is not new and I booked a Superior room. The room was very old, the aircon was cold but at bed level, the hot water was only lukewarm and low flow. I was shown a pool view room which was modern, clean and looked great. Book this if you want to stay here at all. The reception staff were polite and attentive. The Security guards were efficient and helpfull. The pool here was large and surrounded by the restaurant and entertainment provided by a singer. There seems to be many conferences held here. The breakfast buffet was well varied with its foods and good in qulaity. Hot and cold foods of western and asian origin were served. The staff here were fine. They did seem a bit unprofessional in there banter with each other and could do with some customer service training. I would say overall thsi Hotel rates as a B-.

Room Tip: Only the pool view rooms are renovated the rest are so old and worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.