We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you get the right room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rajah Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rajah Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rajah Park Hotel
Fuente Osmena, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Garwood Park Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“OK if you get the right room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have been coming in the Raja Park for a long time, ever since it was called Park place, which was before it was called The Garwood, while now it is called the Rajah Park.

Always enjoyed my stay there: friendly people, but make sure you do not accept the first room you are given as there are differences between the rooms that are not always expressed in the price. Some rooms have no window or have a view on a blind wall. The bathrooms are spacious but rather basic. I have had my best stay in the corner rooms on the upperfloor: Spacious and with a great view.

I saw the surroundings were described as 'grimey'. I do not agree. I'd say lively like most asian towns. Yes, there are beggars and salespeople around, but you find these on the Cote d'azur as well. It just belongs to cebu. None of the beggars (often children) are aggressive, but yes, sometimes a bit persistent. You will find this with many midtown and downtown places. The Raja park is situated smack in the middele of Midtown on the Fuente Osmena circle with the Robinson supermarket and many eating places close by.

The food is decent, service is good and i found the hotelstaff very friendly.
I am not saying this hotel is the best value for money (maybe then you should check out the Diplomat in Ramos) but it is pleasant to stay.

I have not encountered the cockroaches as were described, but if I have one point of criticism: The TV reception was a bit poor

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Located on Fuente Osmena Circle in a grimy, gritty neighborhood. Expect to be accosted and assaulted by beggars and vendors as soon as you emerge from the front door. The hotel itself provdes adequate accomodations-almost. A loud karaoke band performs nightly in the lobby and the sound drifts upwards through the central atrium and will disturb your sleep.(We were on the 4th floor). Our room was basic but a little dark, no window. We moved after 2 nights to another hotel. The area provides scores of hotels and pension houses in all price ranges.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here in 2010 only for 2 nights, but was there for about 2 months in 2009/2010.
The rooms are average, carpets not always clean.
A better choice is a room with a tile floor.
Sleep does not always come easy as they have nightly entertainment on the first floor
and the music and singing will be projected up through the circular stairway.
The front desk is friendly and helpful. There is a currency exchange near the lobby.
Breakfast is very good with many choices including made to order omelettes.
This is a central location. Shopping, banks and entertainment are all within walking distance. Try not to stay there in January during Sinulog when rooms become more pricey
and are hard to come by in the central part of the city.

Room Tip: Reserve the room in advance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyte Island, Philippines
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I checked out and I was told I have a pending payment for a Coffee that I did not Order. I explained and the two receptionist keep insisting that I made that order even if clearly didn't order that coffee. They seem to be pushing the responsibility until I told them to double check the receipts and Find out that It was not Mine but from the room next to mine. And guess what? They pretended that they did not do wrong and just let me sign to check out and DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE for the delay they were causing me. TERRIBLE!! I almost pay to shut them up! Some of their staff needs to undergo a training again for a GOOD Customer Service!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

we stayed at the rajah park for the sinulog festival time then on our way home after rxas manila and ilolilo right the good bits nice staff all did the most they could for us a little old lady cooked my eggs for breakfast every morning remembering how i liked them the waiters and bell boys great polite and even the gaurd always said good morning , another good point is it is near a good hospital . now not so good our room on the 5th floor room 509 i remember the tv went wrong twice and in the finnish they replaced it , worse a cockroach ran up the wall , i walked from the shower room to the bed and my feet were black ! the carpet was that dirty and getting into white sheets wear slippers between the shower and bed , after a day or 2 i had a terrible bad stomoc running to the toilet every few mins imodium had no effeck when after 3 days i was no better i went to hospital was given a coarse of anti biotics and was perfect asked what ?? classic food poisoning i was told poor food hygien roaches on the 5th floor in the kitchen on the ground floor eating alot of salads ? the room was noisey from the entertainment till about midnight but didnt effect us to bad ( the entertainment was crap , a couple with a electric keyboard changing every other night ) the hotel was good in its day say 20 years ago but so dated , oh and the painters came in after breakfast one morning half did the job then came back the day after to finnish , great service neads updating and the whole staff came out when we left to get there tips !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rajah Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajah Park Hotel

Address: Fuente Osmena, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Garwood Park Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Rajah Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rajah Park Cebu City
Rajah Park Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajah Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.