We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“earth shaking experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   F. Ramos Street | P.O. Box 237, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“earth shaking experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

stopped in the holiday plaza for a few nights in jan and feb of 2012 nice room good size clean tv aircon mini bar unsuite reasonable price nice buffet breakfast and most important really nice friendly staff all said hello and good morning etc ! central located hotel and a bbq on the roof every night ,the choose your fish and they cook it for you many afterthink ,great flavour very nice , can not fault the hotel and staff and for the price 2000 a night will stay there again , bad things only one which was out of the hotels powers we had a 6.9 eathquake ! while there was terrified and on the 7th floor the room shook !!!!!!!!!!!!! alot , went down stairs by the the stairs asked at reception nothink to worry about sanarmey warning but bad information please stay down here everyone outside panicing cars and bikes everywhere roads grid locked worried to death then the door man was polishing the fingermarks off his glass doors so maybe were safe many aftershocks but staff were great ! holiday plaza staff thank you

Room Tip: higher up is quieter from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
14
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel turned off my air conditioning..When I went to the front desk and ask me why they said they wanted me to change rooms..When I ask to talk to the manager..Mrs Lin who is the owner told the clerk to tell me if i did not like the hotel to go some where else...she is a very ugly old woman and not a nice lady..the hotel is really a dump..I would never recomend this hotel to anyone..

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The excellent b&b - Casa Escano - was full so i had to look around for another Hotel in the heat....after leaving two hotel, one dingy the other where the rooms lights cut out one minute after I entered the bathroom, I found the rather smart looking Holiday Plaza - was this part of a group?

But for 3,500 pesos I was hoping for something good. Front desk and porter helpful, and I had a good night, in a somewhat tired room. The aircon stopped rattleing after I gave it a bang, and I slept well. Lovely bath, no bath plug,

The inclusive breakfast was another story! When i got down to the drab breakfast room it was quite busy, about 20 people there. Staff polite but sleepy. However many of the self service buffet dishes were empty...making the food offering very limited. i asked to speak to the manager 2 times and on the 3rd time was told that the chef was in charge.......2 minutes later I saw a smart elderly chef show his face at kitchen entrance only to disappear again. I was wondering why so many guests were prepared to put up with such substandard service, and staff that were not being supervised.

Asked to speak to the hotel manager, and after again several requests, was told that the old lady walking around was the owner, Mrs Lim. Then I noticed a distinct change in the attutude of the staff, suddenly they were more friendly and more active. The juices were filled, the bacon was replenished, the vegetables were refilled.

I approached Mrs Lim who was probably a septuagenarian, (70-80 years old) and who was pleasant enough. Asked for a comment card, they had none, she told me that they have never had a complaint before, asked how many stars she has,she said none, Asked her why the Chef did not approach to sort out a complaint - she said she does not encourage contact with the customers, I even mentioned trip advisor and asked her if she know about it, She said she would ask her grandchildren to show her the website!

It just surprises me that such a large hotel, and investment can be run like this! Perhaps it needs a new owner as the hotel location is excellent, and it still has life in it yet, if it has dynamic management!

Disappointed, tired, and there are better in Cebu City

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, unless you get a very good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

After my flight from Hong Kong to Cebu City this hotel is always my first stop in the Philippines. The location of this Hotel is perfect for your first 1 or 2 nights in Cebu City. All shopping Malls and attractions are nearby and for it's price the quality is reasonable for Philippino standards. Good bed and hot shower.. but who needs hot showers in the Philippines anyway? Breakfast is a buffet where you can drink and eat as much as you like. Restaurant on top give you a good view over cebu city. It is not the Hilton but for me it has all i want for the 1 or 2 nights i stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This hotel was recommended by a reputable travel agent in Singapore as 4-star rating. It takes about 45 minutes to get there (mostly due to bad traffic on most days) from the airport. The hotel is pretty run-down from the outside, but it gets worse when you get into the room.

FIrstly, driveway is very small, only can fit 1 mini van and there won't be much space to walk around it. Upon stepping into the hotel lobby, it's quite gloomy looking and has a stale smell (like a combination of old wood furniture mixed with stale aroma from the cafe).

There is no tour desk at this hotel and the front desk do not have any brochures or information for tourists. We were given some "quotes" from the staff when we asked about some day tours that we could do.

In the room, the furniture looked really old, carpet was badly stained, bedsheets torn, curtains stained and torn, bathroom tiles cracked and worst of all, the shower head was all rusty and had some weird thing sticking out of the holes !! Towels did not look clean, but rather old and yellowish. The only basic toiletry provided is a bar of soap for washing hands and toilet paper.

The supposedly popular chef's recommendation in the menu was the clubhouse sandwich, that tasted really bad. The "ham" in the sandwich was very dark red with white patches on it. The freshest looking thing on the plate was the fries and chili sauce.

I was charged PHP250 to send an overseas fax and i was not given any receipt for that. They apparently don't issue receipts on such things.

The concierge (actually just a guy standing by the door, no booth at all) seem to only open doors and help when he feels like it.

On a slightly brighter note, the location is not that bad, but expect to travel far to see a beach. It's 2 minutes walk to a very busy street with lots of fastfood outlets and a shopping center for getting basic things.

If you intend to go Cebu for a worry free holiday resort style, don't choose this hotel. It's nowhere near the beach or sea and the amounts you pay to get to the beaches is not worth it at the end.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

i dont understand the bad reviews of this hotel. I have stayed there many times over the years. Remember it is the Phils , not London or USA, Breakfast is the best experience ive ever had in any hotel in Phils . It is a buffet and u can get ur omelette cooked in front of you,,,plus all kinds of breads and pastries,,,native foods and fruits . What other way to start off ur day,,I never had a problem with staff, all staff were good . And it helps to leave a tip in the room for the cleaners, peso 30 or 50 makes a big difference to these workers . Plus it will make them remember you . There is a safety deposit downstairs for the wallet and cash and valuables, I suppose only thing is the internet connection is abit over the top,.peso 100 per hour on a card. Location is tip top, And those security guys take a lot of care of their guests, supplying all kinds of information for the traveller .
Come on ,,its great hotel, i remember being charger 15 pesos in a competing hotel in cebu for eating an extra banana at breakfast .!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Plaza Hotel

Address: F. Ramos Street | P.O. Box 237, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Plaza Cebu City
Holiday Plaza Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.