We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the very center...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Summit Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summit Circle Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines (Formerly Cebu Midtown Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“In the very center...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you want a decent hotel right in the center of Cebu City make it Summit Circle. Although old and bit rundown, the rooms are maintained well. Good beds and sheets. Nice towels. The best thing that has happened to this hotel is the opening of C2 Classic Cuisine Restaurant operated by the Cravings Group. Great Filipino food, very good value.

Room Tip: Great food! Great Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    122
    67
    34
    16
See reviews for
41
39
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very nice room, restaurant is beautiful, but a little pricey and the food was acceptable but not great. Nice breakfasts, included in our stay. Not much hot water the first afternoon, but better the next day, take a shower early if you want hot water. Nice thing is they will let you check in early if you want. Get a 12th floor room and you will have a nice view. Free newspaper each morning, two bottles of water, very prompt room cleaning each morning when we went to breakfast. SUPER fast FREE WiFi, I was getting over 300 KBS downloading movies in my room. T.V.was la little hard to figure out how to use. Staff is great, responds quick to anything you need. The pool is very small, looked bigger in the pictures. Great picture taking in the hotel. Location is good, many restaurants, shopping, etc. very close. I was there with my wife, but if you want female company, after dark the street ladies come out, if you know what I mean. You will be hounded a little by street vendors and beggars, same everywhere in the Philippines. My only real complaint was the police sirens at all hours of the night. All in all, a great hotel.

Room Tip: 12th floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Room is big enough to fit a queen size bed and a sofa. Has room safe, hairdryer and big windows overlooking the crown regency hotel and the fuente circle. Located above the robinsons mall and just a walking distance from mango ave.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been able to receive a quite good value (via internet-booking !).
However, see to it, that you'll not be given a room on the 4th floor (no view/in front of windows are only aircon ducts !!!).
Hotel is well located/center of city, newly redone, friendly, clean AND approchable Management !!

Room Tip: .... make sure/before move-in, that you have HOT water-supply in your shower .... !!! Room assigmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location is great since it is located in the city area which is near to churches, malls, shopping center, restaurants and other tourist attractions.

The interior although it has been renovated (again and again) over the years, the smell of that old building and often times small insects are visible.

The breakfast buffet is not a surprise or something you would look forward to every morning. Its the usual stuff you have back home - cereals, sunny side-up, hotdogs and bacon. Although there is a medley of fresh fruits but they are limited in variation.

I would not stay here if I have to shoulder the amount. This is good to go for business trips that your company will pay the bill.

Room Tip: Look around the vicinity, you can find a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff is very helpful and polite. The room is a bit old and needs updating. The public areas of the hotel are very nice. The free breakfast is just ok. Overall this hotel is just average. A good location close to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is my 2nd time to stay in this hotel - 1st was in 2010, just before it got renovated and where the smell of old (wooden) furniture would linger across rooms & the hallway. Stayed Aug 10 2012 - business. The rooms are all better now-well at least for the one where I stayed in (rm. 1108). The room is pleasant & welcoming. The bathroom, was decent enough - there was no bidet though. Anyhow, cold & hot water both for the sink & the shower is not a problem. However, when I checked in I had to request for the basic amenities a couple of times. The TV remote was busted so I had to request for a replacement; I even had to request for the soap, shampoo, toothbrush & toothpaste. Even the ref/mini bar was empty. It's all too basic & yet it was not readily available. wifi is definitely a big issue. Though internet is free & the wifi signal is relatively strong inside the room, it is very very very very difficult to connect. Breakfast - typical Filipino, not too much to select from. Just the usual bread, cereal, rice & fried Filipino breakfast. Overall, my stay was satisfactory. With what my company paid - I guess all I can say is - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Circle Hotel

Address: Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines (Formerly Cebu Midtown Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Circle Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Circle Hotel is part of the Summit Hotels Group under Robinsons Land Corporation. It is a full service city hotel located at the heart of Cebu City in Fuente Osmena. With its prime location in the center of the business and tourist districts, guests and travellers will appreciate its accessibility to various shopping gateways, commercial centers, and other top local attractions.Formerly called the Cebu Midtown Hotel, Summit Circle Hotel continues to be at the forefront of the hospitality industry in Cebu. It lives the same spirit and tradition of good service while offering business travellers and tourists with refreshed and refurbished accommodations and facilities.Summit Circle Hotel provides quality accommodations for the smart traveler who appreciates value and excellence without the extravagance. It is also a preferred venue for small to medium-sized meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Summit Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu City Midtown Hotel
Cebu Midtown Hotel
Summit Circle Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.