We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough for One Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Express Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Express Inn to your Saves list
Express Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Enough for One Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We chose this inn as it is near SM mall. Rate for a family room is good for us budget travelers. Room is big enough for family of 4. Room and bathroom were both clean. The small ref has a bad smell bec. it turns off everytime we leave the room and get the key from the power switch.

We advised them to pack our breakfast as we had to leave at 6am the following day. breakfast were just egg sandwiches. We had 4 sandwiches but they were bad we were not able to eat the 2.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
22
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We reached this hotel in the evening at 7 P.M. We had taken a ferry from Tagbilaran(Tag) to Cebu Pier and hailed a taxi from the Ferry terminus to this hotel. We did get a couple of taxi drivers trying to fleece us with some jawdropping fares. Luckily there was a police station nearby the Ferry terminus, where the policeman arranged a cab for us for reasonable rates. We reached this hotel which is in a very very tiny lane. We crashed here for the night to catch an early morning flight. This is the smallest bed we've ever slept on. The shower has very slow water pressure. The room was also very tiny but overall worth the price you pay for. The staff was very helpful. We were wondering how to call a taxi early next morning from that tiny lane. The girl at the reception helped us, disappeared early morning into one of the tinier bylanes and emerged ten minutes later with a taxi. Location is not very close to the airport but conveniently close. All restaurants and markets are a quick tricycle ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Perks of this hotel: Good location with an accessible jeepney stop right in front with nearby restaurants, church, pharmacy, spa and a mall and is not at all expensive.
Downside: Bad service! 1. Just downright rude.
a. If you make a reservation through their cellphone, they reply to you as if you are the last person on earth they want to deal with. It's not that I'm jumping to conclusions, but there is a whole lot of difference if the person on the other end is warm, hospitable and professional."Wala po kami std room available." Just like that,no greeting, no sorry, no alternatives given...
b. There was also a time when we called downstairs that we were going to check out that day, some staff of theirs just went knocking and said he was going to check on the room,and started looking around the room with our stuff all over the place coz we haven't even vacated yet!
c. They had a mix up on our reservations, they reserved 1 room when we called through cellphone to reserve 1 room and someone personally went to pay for that same room under that person's name. When we got there, they insisted that we pay for 2 rooms, they didn't get it that it's just one and the same! Apparently, not paying attention or not verifying if confused.
2. Cheap breakfast, cheap food. You just get what you pay for really. Don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Well Cebu offers any type of hotels..... from cheap the expensive from "no" star to 5 stars and you should have a close look up to really find what you´re looking for. Don´t trust in the websites so much and even not in the pictures ;)...... many of them don´t show the truth what you get when you arrive..... they are masters in presenting and showing it from the best side, just the day after opening or maybe before.......

I choose to stay at Express Inn, it´s a good and also SAFE place to stay

If you plan to stay longer..... you need to bargain and you get a better rate.........I was renting the room for 1 1/2 month (even I went out to visit other places, like Moalboal, Oslob, Malapascua Island, Bohol, Ormoc and Tacloban) I left my luggage in the room and took just the things i need.

Breakfast is not their big thing..... beside the complimentary breakfast they have a small menu which is quickly boring....... but if you stay longer it´s not a big deal to purchase something outside like next at the bakery "next door" 59 meter maybe or at the mall which is only a 3 minutes wlking away and pimp your breakfast a bit

The rooms are not that spacious but functional, clean & have aircon of course.

And important to say - the staff is helpful and very friendly - thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the 7th or better 8th floor at the rear - more quiet and a view to the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

For what you pay, this hotel is fine. It is clean, comfortable and only a 5 min walk to the mall, where you can go to eat at any time.

The rooms have a very small window which makes the room dark, but there's no fresh air. My only real complaint about the hotel is the bedding. The bed was made with a bottom sheet and.a blanket on top. I am sure that they wouldn't wash the blanket every time someone stays so there really should be a top sheet to keep the blanket clean and to be more hygienic.

The breakfast was simple scrambled eggs, fruit and waffle. Taxi from the ferry cost 90 pesos and to the airport was 180 at 6am.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Convenient to SM Mall Cebu City. More of a business and family hotel, accommodating staff. Very nicely priced and totally worth each Peso. Adequate breakfast, restaurant is basic Philippine style menu, not expensive. Book for 2 people if solo, and get 2 breakfast, no extra for 2nd person. hehehe Best Budget Hotel in Cebu IHMO. Only one block from the SM Mall. Getting a taxi to other places, no problem, doormen quite helpful. Be aware that there are 2 Express Inns, the other in on Mactan Island, near the airport, and distant from City Center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 times. The staff are warm, accommodating, and quick to please. The breakfast was a simple continental style. It was enough for an early start to the day. The rooms are simple and very clean. The only down side is that the Internet is almost useless most of the time. I guess the bandwidth is very small. The hotel is not expensive, and I will surely stay there again in February. The taxi ride to Cebu Airport cost about 170 pesos during the day. Better take a white taxi, a yellow cab charged me 250 pesos for the same route at 9pm at night. It is really convenient to the SM, just a few minutes walk

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Address: M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Express Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.