We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is budget and it is alright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Express Inn

Save Saved
You added Express Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Express Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is budget and it is alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at the ExpressInn two weeks ago, early December2012. Indeed it is a real budget accommodation and one should not expect more at the rates they are charging. I also had some issues w the shower head, but the staff was superfriendly and helpful and accommodating (came to fix the shower head in less than 10 minutes - not sure the Ritz can do it any faster). The location is perfect between the Ayala Ctr and the SM Megamall. I would recommend to the hotel though to provide a cover for the blanket, currently the blankets have no changeable cover and who knows who used them before you, this seems to be pretty basic , it is silly to charge an extra 50p for something as basic as a blanket cover. If you need a clean and efficient place centrally located at a budget price then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
14
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Before I start let me stress that I have worked at Senior Management in Hotels in London and Central America for over 12 years. I now live and work in the Philippines and, having traveled extensively round SE Asia, am used to staying in hotels of all levels but have never before felt compelled to write a bad review.
My first impression of this little place were good. However when I went for breakfast the first morning I asked for extra bacon as it did not come with my "included breakfast". I waited realistically (people tend to exaggerate at this point) 15/20 mins and when it arrived everything was stone cold, scrambled eggs and toast, except for the bacon. I asked them to warm it up and they did. Every morning they brought me breakfast without cutlery and I had to ask for it.

I then asked Reception for an extra top sheet, there is a blanket but I like a sheet underneath it. They advised me it would cost and extra 50 pesos, to which I agreed. I returned from work and the sheet was not there, so I advised the Receptionist who repeated the extra cost 50 pesos. I said I already knew and had already agreed. She apologised and told me the sheet would be there when I return later. It WAS NOT and I never received it.

You could be forgiven for thinking these issues are relatively minor in a country that struggles to come to terms with Customer Service but here's the final straw. On Check Out I asked if I could speak with the Manager, who was sitting in a small office behind the desk (there was even a small window separating the two areas). The Receptionist went into the office and returned to tell me the Manager couldn't speak with me because he was busy. I told her that I do not accept that and that I wanted to speak with him immediately. She was visibly terrified at the thought of relaying this message to her Manager so I assured her that she, personally, had done nothing wrong but I insist on speaking with him. I told her that if he doesn't come out to talk to me I will go into his office to talk to him.

The Receptionist entered the office again and returned to reiterate that the Manager was too busy to come and talk to me. Assuming that he could hear me through the window I expressed my dissatisfaction that he could not be bothered to come out of his office to talk to a disgruntled Guest. I said that I would never stay there again, never recommend it to anyone and would instruct my Company never to send anyone there again, which I have done.

I then went to enter a Taxi waiting outside the Hotel and was stopped by an armed Security Guard, who stood in my way and told me I could not take that Taxi as mine was on it's way. I had to push him out of my way to get into the Taxi.

This is an example of how you should not Manage a Hotel. The Manager here, whoever he is, should be absolutely ashamed of himself. All of this could have been avoided if he could have been bothered to get off his axxe and come to speak with me for 5 mins. I hops he and his Bosses read this, though I do not expect any of them have it in them to even bother to write a Management Response. You are useless Express in Management. Never again.....

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a working shower drain so your room does not flood every time you wash!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited Cebu from November 23 - 26. I stayed overnight in this hotel overnight from the 25th till the following day.

Upon check in, I was impressed since the lobby was small but was very clean. They were all smiles. My partner and I were tired since we came from buying pasalubong. They told us that 980 included accomodation and buffet for the next day. I got super excited since for 980 it included accomodations for 2 with buffet.

We went up and the room was ready except that there were no towels, so I requested for 2.

Tge following day, we still did not get the towels I requested. Moreso, breakfast was not buffet instead continental which included eggs, bread and a choice of coffee or juice. So I went to the reception and asked why there is no buffet, they said that they did not have buffet since Nov 1.

I asked for the manager and I had to wait 30 minutes for the manager to talk to me. The receptionist insisted that she was the OIC and she cant do anything about it. After sometime, the manager talked to me and she saw how frustrates I was and disappointed. My point was, if you tell/promise something to your customer... DO IT. She said she's gonna do something, but upon following up, front desk said she left.

We left the hotel frustrated and super disappointed. You can try their service and end up feeling the.same way. :(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silay city, negros occidental
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

our friend book us in express inn,cebu by the internel. when we arrived to check in , the front desk informed us that we have a reservation but the rates was higher. we cancelled our reservation, started our trip horrible by looking for another place to stay. arnet

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Also Known As:
Express Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Express Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.