We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but TERRIFIC!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Mark Hotel to your Saves list
St. Mark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road, Redemptorist Plaza, Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small but TERRIFIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice with this hotel (May & June) and I must say we are very much satisied with it and Ill surely come back and recommend it for travelers visiting Cebu City, Ive listed below the pros and cons for all people to know our experience with this great hotel:

Pros:
Sincere service with a smile
Fast check-in
Hotel personnel are snappy and attentive
Very welcoming
Great breakfast buffet (well planned)
Good and comfy beds
Great location
Nicely designed hotel
Quite and safe location

Cons:
Poor wifi connectivity

All in all our experience with the hotel is way better than others inside Cebu, and yes their prices are competitive and I hope it will stay that way or much better offer more discounts to attract more clients, more power to the great team of St. Mark Hotel! See you soon!!!

Btw the posh lobby is smallish but acceptable, I hope that the management would consider taking up the space alloted to their front lawn garden and convert it to a bigger lobby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very good hotel, very tastefully designed, the rooms are very new, the staff's service is impeccable (the service is at par with some of the most expensive hotels I've been), and the breakfast buffet is oh-so-good. Truly a great value for your money. And the location is just right, nestled in the heart of the city, yet it's not noisy (it's not located near a major road so no annoying honking of vehicles/ traffic outside), and within a safe area.

Our friends who visited us in our room were just as surprised and impressed with the hotel! Truly exudes the heart of world-class Cebu hospitality! 5 thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for one night in Cebu before going to Siargao, really liked the Hotel, new, nice rooms,
friendly staff and a good Location for going out at nighttime. Breakfast was very good too!
Will come back by sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My friend and I were volunteering with a mission for a week and wanted a place to stay that was clean and comfortable without being so showy that it gave the wrong message to those we were seeking to serve. Well, St Mark was certainly it. Very clean and fresh, well designed and furnished, and at a very reasonable price (we got a great Internet deal). But the best thing was the friendly, welcoming, concerned, and genuine staff. We were so tired at the end of our days that we didn't go out anywhere else to eat, but always ate in the restaurant and were very spoiled by the level of service we received. Oh, and the mattress and the pillows were superb. Someone here has done their homework extremely well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Been here last may 2. Expect to welcome you with smile and warm greetings. The hotel is new. The rooms are well designed and furnished. Complete with iron, blowers, etc. Bathroom is clean and spacious. The hotel is near at the fuente osmena circle. What i like the most is its employees. They are helpful and know what they are doing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My fiancée and I, and my parents, aunts and cousin were stranded in Cebu City when a typhoon warning cancelled our ferry sailing to a nearby resort. Fortunately, a family friend in town had the scoop on a brand new hotel to try out: the St Mark. It was a bit further away from the port, where we would have to report back the next morning to secure replacement tickets, but well worth the diversion.

The hotel isn't really that well marked at street level - there's a sign on the roofline, but from the sidewalk you could blink and you'd miss it. It's on a minor side street adjoining a church, making for a relatively tranquil setting in the evenings, and a lovely dawn wake up call as the belfry bells peal.

We were told the hotel was pretty brand-new, and they weren't kidding: modern, quality décor throughout. Clearly a lot of attention paid to detail, with the hotel logo and font consistently used everywhere, and all the furnishings seemingly fresh out of a dwell magazine photo shoot. Details like these often go overlooked outside of chain franchises with strict standardisation guides; as a local independent, St Mark's execution is outstanding. One key surprise: the best hotel clock radio I've seen anywhere worldwide - a proper bedside stereo system, complete with iPod/iPad docking port. (Then again, sign of too quick progress: not iPhone 5 compatible).

Many Filipino households still do not yet have heated showers - a bucket of heated water and a scoop is the usual ablution - but the St Mark's saw fit to spare you the traditional Philippine bathing experience, with a trendy full-length shower stall. Again, much attention to design and detail: fixtures are minimised and streamlined, with a neat inset mosaic band forming a shelf for shower toiletries. Even a toothbrush and toothpaste set is provided, something you don't often see in hotels in the rest of the world.

Though the bed and bathroom might be ultra-modern, the included breakfast offers a delicious smorgasbord of traditional Filipino morning fare. There's garlicky steamed rice, sweet sausages, braised vegetables, sweet bread, salted fried fish and corned beef. There's also a grill for Western-style omelettes and such if you prefer, and the attentive staff will bend over backwards to cook you up something bland from America if your palate demands. But why would you?

Although there are chain hotels everywhere in the Philippines nowadays - Radisson has a hotel in their blu line just near the Cebu harbor - with standard chain service, and chain prices, locally-owned hotels like the St Mark aimed at both foreign and local visitors offer much better value for money - I was able to get three rooms for my entire family, at the cost of one at the blu. Plus, an extra intangible bit of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality that comes with pride of local ownership.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very Good for a new hotel! Will stay here again the next time we visit cebu. Plus delicious buffet breakfast! Try champorado and dangit! Great amenities. Close to all church and malls. We enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Address: Queens Road, Redemptorist Plaza, Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark is a boutique hotel with five star amenities that caters to travelers coming to Cebu for either business or leisure. The hotel is the premiere hospitality venture of Terre D’Or Realty Corporation, a realty development firm with a portfolio of condominiums, apartments and strip malls and an independent Australian business partner.The Hotel holds 63 elegant and well-appointed guestrooms across seven different themed floors. Guest may choose from its 17 Superior Rooms, 36 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Junior Suites and 7 Loft-type Residential Suites on the top floor, each room type having the complete amenities. St. Mark has HALO an all-day dining restaurant, room service, five meeting rooms and a ballroom that accommodates 70 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mark Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.