We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very trendy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Henry Hotel to your Saves list
The Henry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra Suite Deal!
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very trendy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Henry hotel makes you smile! The hotel feels very fresh and the staff is extremely professional and service oriented. We got a free upgrade to a larger room which was appreciated. We stayed at different hotels during our time in Cebu City, and I think that The Henry hotel had by far the Best Deal. The hotel has very good prizes!

Rooms are incredibly large, comfy bed, huge bathroom and many TV channels. The prices in the mini bar is pretty low, but the range could be a little wider. The hotel is near several restaurants, and beauty salons. We had an awsome night at the bar next door. where we met many local residents who showed us around the city's nightlife.

There is also a nice pool in the courtyard where we were trying to sunbathe, but there was no sun by the sun loungers, so we lay down on the edge of the pool, which worked fine. Asians do not want to lie in the sun as we Swedes do. So there is an explanation for why the sun loungers are in the shade.

I will stay here next time I visit Cebu, After I made the reservation I found out that they had really good deals on accommodation and dining at their website, I will book it next time. The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast, which in my opinion was boring.

I will be back next time i visit Cebu!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking to time to share with the millions of on- line visitors to Tripadvisor how your stay has been in The Henry as compared to other hotels you've been to in Cebu City because our hotel simply offered you the best deal. It's nice to know too that our hotel made you SMILE because of our professional and service oriented staff as you so generously put it. We welcome your feedback and suggestions and be assured that they will be appropriately acted upon. The whole team looks forward to The Henry..Like No Other. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    81
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
104
36
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Effort is made to be a bit different and creative, which is appreciated. There is an 'art galery' adjoining the bar on second floor, which didn't have anything particularly impressive, but it has potential, could be a really cool place if they have the right kind of events there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing and appreciating the hotel's creativity and unique self. Your feedback is paramount to us and we are constantly looking for ways to make each and every area of the hotel equally interesting to attract more guests and activities. One undertaking we have at present is an ongoing improvement of the front driveway which upon completion will not only level up our service but create another eye candy experience for our guests. We look forward to your next visit to The Henry... Like No Other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alona beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

There is no better place in Cebu. It has everything European hotel chains don't - the heart. Every room of this hotel is different. I have stayed in Merylin Monroe room and in the Yacht room. One is better then the other. The lights are so orange and cosy, the bed was soft like a cloud. The rooms were huge enough to practice yoga. And bathrooms were constructed so that you could watch TV in the living room:)
There were a lot a little notes that were very personal and always made me smile. Unique place. Best value. I hope it doesn't get too expensive :)
The staff was amazing - very stylish, always smiling, sincere, helping on each occasion. Great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such inspiring review and for pointing out most of the strengths of The Henry, Like No Other. The whole teamis moved by your appreciation not only of the unique features and qualities of the rooms but also of the hospitality of the staff. We look forward to having you back. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was traveling with friends and we booked this place after hearing all the positive comments. Thankfully, the hotel delivered on our expectations. We were drawn to the industrial chic set-up at the lobby and were satisfied with the spacious rooms which were tastefully decorated. The beds were really comfortable and I had a good sleep.

On the minus side, the toilets could do with a bit more privacy as it was easy for someone at the front door to see what is going on inside the toilet, which led to a few awkward incidences in one of our rooms, though we understood that the toilets were without doors at the time of booking. The reception was initially rather frosty during check in but fortunately, they warmed up to us eventually

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review particularly on the industrial chic lobby set up, comfortable beds as well as the decor of our spacious rooms. We are inspired knowing that you have considered the positive reviews about The Henry.. Like No Other as basis in choosing your hotel and that we delivered your expectations. We have taken note of your feedback and i would like to assure you that they are being carefully and thoughtfully addressed. Meantime, we look forward to having you once again as our guest on your next travel to Cebu City. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic and more than met my expectation. I was traveling with my step dad who is into artsy stuff and the hotel did not fail to impress.
We were upgraded to a "bigger room" but I was not able to see the "smaller" room I suppose I booked so I could not tell the difference. Although I saw that they have much bigger rooms because I had friends staying in three other rooms of different sizes. Their rooms were much bigger than most hotel suites I've been to. Bed was nice. Too soft for my type. I'm kind of used to a firmer bed.
My brother who works in the city dropped by a few times and they don't mind having an extra person sleeping in the room (which was for two). They did not charge us. Anyway, most hotels in the Philippines are considerate about this matter, unlike those in Hong Kong and China.

My only problem was they close the pool way too early, which is crazy considering that most people are out in the city the whole day. So what's the use of your pool?

Also, the door on my room, last to the right on the fifth(?) floor, keeps on sounding the alarm. Yes. Their doors have alarm. It sounds off when you don't shut it good enough. But the door just keeps on not shutting good enough even with some force.
The first time it alarmed, I was a bit shocked that I dropped my iPhone to their super hard floor. Screen cracked. They got to have the hardest floor around. Just be careful with your breakables and that won't be a problem.

I'm not rating the fitness center because I did not know it exists. The spa is actually another establishment within the area, right next building.

Room Tip: Choose any room. They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Guest satisfaction is our highest goal and i am happy to know that we have your met your expectations. My heartfelt apologies that you were not able to enjoy our pool. Although it closes at 7pm nightly, we are glad to let our guests use it upon request. Let me take the lead to reiterate this with our team. Sorry to learn of your Iphone.Our engineering team is currently observing the door and make adjustment whenever appropriate. Once again, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and we the whole team look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was recently there on a company trip, sharing a room with two colleagues. The lack of bathroom doors was really awkward and seems like a sign of designers gone wild without regard for practicality. I think even couples (some at least!) would have a problem with the lack of privacy. We ended up using the toilet in the lobby, which is kind of ridiculous considering the hotel's standards. The breakfast was also quite unexceptional (and the service very slow), so I wouldn't particularly recommend the hotel's restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure your room at least has the (not optimal, but better than nothing) see-through glass doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience of using the lobby toilet instead of enjoying the comfort of your own bathroom due to absence of a door. We also regret that breakfast and service were below your expectation. Please be assured that we value your feedback and we will seriously look into the issues you presented herein. Nonetheless, i look forward to your return, regain your confidence and offer you The Henry-fied experience....Like No Other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

“An urban boutique hotel that surprisingly showcase its character through its exquisite design and offers comfort and convenience at a very reasonable price”, that is how I would describe my overall experience at “The Henry” in Cebu.”

Full review here: http://trackingtreasure.net/2013/07/the-henry-setting-new-standards-in-hospitality-and-service-management-cebu/

Genuine hospitality, an art gallery, a great value for your money, all of this only at The Henry.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review that highlighted the unique character, exquisite design, great value for money, guest comfort and genuine hospitality - the kind of experience our guests can look forward to at The Henry... Like No Other. I look forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel

Address: One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Henry Hotel" is located in Cebu City, also known as "The Queen of the South." Experience a new hip and offbeat Design Hotel close to Cebu City’s Business & IT Park. We claim a spirit of authenticity aiming at travelers that seek for a hotel with character and soul. 36 vivid and totally unique rooms and 2 eminent suites are waiting to be discovered. We aim to convey a feeling of individuality and a new style of hospitality to our guests through the lovingly and unique design of every room, suite and the entire hotel. It’s a journey of its own! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.