We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great different hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Henry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Henry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great different hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am a big fan of the Henry hotel .... love the room so diffrent from other hotels
nice clean big room modern and boutique
staff friendly and kind
small but nice garden and swimming pool
a few bars near by but not noise in the rooms

Room Tip: the XL rooms are worth the money if you like plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. In particular, we are pleased that you find our hotel different from the rest which simply resonates our hotel logo "The Henry... Like No Other". We look forward to your future visits. All the best.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    78
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
99
34
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently my friend and I stayed in Henry. We were completely blown away with their service and friendly hospitality. The simple room was huge. We were completely awed by the room interior design and kept on saying whoever built this hotel was a genius. The lift buttons were touch screen. They have a bar on the 2nd floor called scrapyard which was also designer made. The whole hotel was actually an art gallery. Amazing!! Just beside the hotel they had an amazing italian restuarant called Pizza Michaelangilo. They had amazing pastas to die for. and of coz a popular spa. The only set back was that the hotel was a little bit further from the city. But we will still come back here. We would personally like to thank Han, Stef, Trepon and Mogot. Kudos you guys. Thank you for all your help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I am happy to know that my team met your expectation in terms of service and hospitality. I am also glad that the artistry in your room and the facilities of the hotel were to your satisfaction. We look forward to having you once again as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you will be visiting Cebu just for a daytour or business meeting. This hotel is perfect for you since the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. The staffs are friendly, the location is 10 minutes away from Ayala IT Park and best of all, the hotel also offers good rates. visit my complete review here - http://outoftownblog.com/the-henry-hotel/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for highlighting reasons why I would say our guests keep returning to The Henry and why would be first time guests should consider staying in our hotel when in Cebu. All the best.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent service. High value for money. Linens, towels and everything are clean. Spacious rooms. Malls, restaurants and supermarkets nearby, just walking distance. Each room has a unique design, learned how to appreciate art. Highly recommended. Will probably stay here every time I visit Cebu :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our hotel through your review. The entire team shall look forward to your future visits in The Henry.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights when visiting Cebu, i have stayed in many hotels there on previous trips and this is by far the best value for money.
Staff are friendly and helpful, food and drinks reasonably priced and facilities well maintained.
Location is not the best but anywhere you stay in Cebu you generally need taxis to get around. Taxis are also convenient and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to know that our hotel has topped your list in terms of value for money and that you were satisfied with our services, food and facilities. We look forward to having you once again as our guest in the near future. All the best.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's one of the few hotels which made me exclaim "My god this place!" on several occasions. Sorry, I didn't help it.

I know it's the onset of the rainy season and for somebody like me who dreads turbulence on a plane ride, flying to Cebu alone seemed like a bad idea.For some weird reason, I felt like Cebu (having been there several times) couldn't excite me anymore. I was wrong yet again.After this solo trip, I have seen Cebu with fresh eyes. My accommodation in Cebu City, The Henry Hotel in Banilad changed that mood.

To say that The HENRY HOTEL CEBU is like no other could actually be an understatement. It is on a league of its own.It's a visual feast,even to somebody like me who is not good with art.This place is a thing of beauty.I see it as a celebration of the beautiful things in life.

I was excited to go around and check the place.The lobby of course is an eye candy but it doesn't end there. I would like to mention by the way that the lobby reminds me so much of Lub d Bangkok, the backpackers hotel where we stayed last May. Same feel but The HENRY of course is the more high end version.Will link it here as soon as I got it reviewed.

Even the corridors and common areas are really spacious.This is a place where you feel your soul can breath.

An eye-candy during the day, the place transforms into a romantic space at night. The one(s) who designed the place also put into context the importance of light in highlighting key areas and therefore enhancing the appeal of the hotel. I also noticed that most of the lights used are EFL. Energy efficient, environmentally friendly.As friendly as this place is to the senses.

The Henry is one of the country’s first design-driven hotels.

I am not sure if "affordable" is how they want to market the place but you could experience this beauty at an affordable price indeed.Try Agoda.com and you will be surprised that you can get a BIG Room for as low as $46 on off-peak season.Talk about best value for your money!

The staff were nothing but friendly.For 3d/2n of stay,I have nothing but love for the care the staff has extended to me.Genuine Cebuano hospitality as I call it. Cebuanos are know to be "malambing" (sweet). The ones at the front desk helped me in going around and suggesting places to dine.I was new in the area of Banilad but I was confident of not being lost or anything because of the assistance I was given.

The Henry is a small hotel with only 5 floors.Despite that, they didn't compromise space just to put up as many rooms as possible.No corporate greed here. They are very generous at space that rooms are really BIG. There are four (4) room types ----Big,Large, XL and XL. I stayed in a Big room and I was surprised at how spacious it is.And just when I thought it couldn't get any better, I was wow-ed when I saw the other rooms.BIG spaces that are work of art.

The restaurant--RICA's-- is a darling.Situated at the ground floor next to the reception area, it is consistent with the artistic feel of the HENRY.This is where breakfast is served for in-house guest.The ala carte menu was rather simple with a few set meals in the list but they do know how to put new meaning to Continental or Filipino breakfast.

There is also a funky pub at the 2nd floor if you feel like partying or enjoying beer/cocktails.This is very popular to locals and expats and I noticed that the crowd is chick ---mostly young adults and urban professionals.A very good place to socialize with the locals of Cebu.

For a more intimate setup, go to the poolside at night where there is nothing but quiet intimate moments (unless there is an event coz the poolside is famous for social events as well.)

To say The HENRY HOTEL Cebu is "Like No Other" might indeed be an understatement. It is exceptional! It is to date, the best Hotel I tried in this price range.All hotels in the Philippines should strive to be this beautiful.It definitely sets the bar very high but we Filipinos deserve one of this caliber.I shall see you again The HENRY HOTEL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review meant so much to us and thank you for putting every word thoughtfully. I am positive that this review shall give The Henry the upperhand in being hotel of choice of future visitors of Cebu within the global travel community. The whole team is driven not only to satisfy each and every guest but to offer them a stay experience.........like no other! Our pleasure to have served you.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I think the only thing that really needs to be said is that you would be crazy if you are in Cebu and did not choose to stay here. Everything about the Henry is amazing, staff, rooms, decor, service, etc. i think you get the point. Some may complain about the location, but personally I think the Banilad area of Cebu is much more enjoyable than the downtown area. Easily one of the nicest and most laid back boutique hotels I have stayed at, especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole team wish to thank you for staying at The Henry. We are truly elated with your review and there is nothing else that interests us other than being of service to you again in the near future. Looking forward.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel

Address: One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#8 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Henry Hotel" is located in Cebu City, also known as "The Queen of the South." Experience a new hip and offbeat Design Hotel close to Cebu City’s Business & IT Park. We claim a spirit of authenticity aiming at travelers that seek for a hotel with character and soul. 36 vivid and totally unique rooms and 2 eminent suites are waiting to be discovered. We aim to convey a feeling of individuality and a new style of hospitality to our guests through the lovingly and unique design of every room, suite and the entire hotel. It’s a journey of its own! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.