We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so good, but oversight of room preference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Henry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Henry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So far so good, but oversight of room preference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I checked in today for stay one night. The hotel is very stylish, room is big and beautiful. Staffs are friendly and attentive.

It's a bit difficult to find because they don't have an obvious sign outside or on the building. I sent email to request a room face to the pool about two three weeks ago, received two emails of confirming acknowledgement from reservations and guest services. However today I have been assigned to a room face to the other side of the hotel. Only stay one night so I won't request a room change or complaint anything.

Room Tip: request for a room facing to pool, it would be noise if face the road. remind them about your prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Henry and for taking time to share with us your experience. First, my apologies that your requested view was not well handled. This issue has been addressed and the whole team shall take the appropriate measures to avoid recurrence of the same with other guests. Moreover, as concerns on location and familiarity was not brought forth for the first time, be assured that we are serioulsy working on this. Meantime, i invite you once again to stay with us and see the refreshing look of the hotel exterior and to also be able to make it up with you. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
83
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My honeymoon trip and stay in this hotel for only 8 hours because i booked another hotel, but it's good try. Hotel is cool and cant stop to take picture.
Car pick up from airport arranged by Hotel even i didn't reserve. Warm welcome at 0600 in the morning, no stress and 20 minutes to hotel from airport.

Email to hotel informed is honeymoon trip, but seems like no one know about it. A little bit sad. Request a late check out as arrive at 0600 in the morning and only booked for one night. Finally, after i asked twice, two o'clock, good enough, if i don't need to ask that will be warmer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services. Meantime, i look forward to your return visit. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was really surprised from this stylish and modern Hotel. Very friendly staff, great big rooms,
modern, stylish and just a Highlight compare to other Hotels.
Just beside is a nice spa and also a great italian Restaurant.
Breakfast exellent and staff always friendly. Will come back by sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your thoughts on your stay experience. The whole team is truly inspired with your appreciation of our hotel and service. We look forward to hosting your return visits.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The moment we entered the lobby, the eyes of every single member of my family went "wow"!!!
It was truly different.... very "artsy". They showed us a few rooms and each was decorated different from the other. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated.
Downstairs, they have a restaurant that also looks so interesting. There is one table that looks like it was made for giants. The chairs are high that you can use mini chairs to climb up..... just like in Alice in Wonderland!!! The food is also very good. We enjoyed their lamb, the pizzas and many more.
On the second floor is a bar/lounge that plays good music. From Thurs. to Sat., I think they have a live band. We didn't have time to try their drinks so I don't know if they make good ones.... but the place looked really nice and the waiters very friendly.
They have a lap pool for those who always look for the poolside. This is not a resort hotel. It is situated right in the city, near the Ayala and Robinson Malls. This boutique hotel is ideal for businessmen or for tourists who would like to discover the City of Cebu. Aside from the malls, you can also go to the spa which is right next door.
My family enjoyed the 3 days we spent at THE HENRY.....good food, good service, big rooms and many more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your compliments on our services and facilities. We look forward to hosting your future visits.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at their smallest room aptly named a Big Room. It is indeed big and very spacious. It was nice to escape to this room after a hot day out in the Cebu sun. The taxi drivers don't usually know the hotel so be prepared to explain that it's near the flyover close to Gaisano mall. They'll usually get it from there. Experienced their popular bar called Scrapyard and decided to check the other bars located 8 minutes away from the hotel by car. The breakfasts were sufficient and tasted quite alright and the swimming pool is really just there to cool you off but don't expect to have the desire to linger as the atmosphere needs a little bit more of a hotel vibe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to having you again as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

booked the xxl last january coz i usually plan our trips early since i'm always busy with work.. paid about 9600 for a night's stay (going to alegre for the next two days).. but when i got here this morning, i was surprised to learn that the room cost just 7000 now!! ouch! the room is awesome and very comfy but i just wished they gave us some extras since the price difference is quite big (about 50dollars)...we travel a lot and this is the first time we have experienced this... anyway they let us check in early and they staff was very helpful and friendly.. the wifi in our room (605) was good and overall i find the room unique... the location is also near some good restaurants..

would i stay here again?.... definitely :)

Room Tip: the xxl room is huge... very good for a party of three or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you were happy with most of the facilities and services as mentioned in your review (wifi, early check in, friendly service, unique rooms). Hoping to see you again on your return visit, i do encourage you to check out our best available rates particularly in Tripadvisor and Facebook account (The Henry). All best wishes.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There motto is "like no other", and that is true. It is lovely. The hotel staff are a delight, especially, Stef and Hannah on the front desk. The restaurant is very very good. The rooms are great and sooo roomy. Quirky is a word that comes to mind when you stay here. The art is wonderful, it pleased me everywhere i looked.

The beds, oh the bed, just floating on a cloud it was. A great nights sleep every night.

You may ask why only 3 stars then, well, the Hotel to me was trying for 5 star and there were a few small things that could have changed this.

The rotten wifi, it does not work in the rooms, yes in the hallway, but not in the rooms and for this money it should be better.
Oh and the towels, harse and NOT fluffy, and they smelt, YUK.

The doors for each room, banged with constant noise, please bring in a carpenter to fix this minor issue. The doors closing and people walking the floor above could be heard because of the polished concrete, looks wonderful but just does not work. The windows on the street side could have had double glazing, with the amount of money spent on the hotel this would have been worth it.

All the staff smiled and said hello and i mean all did and it was lovely, but what is wrong with the manager, he looked grumpy all the time, and was too important to say hello, not a good look for the guests.

The hotel is a bit out of the way for everything. If you do go ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel, a much better option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We have carefully noted all your suggestions and feedback and rest assured that we will take appropriate measures to address them. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mirro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel

Address: One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Henry Hotel" is located in Cebu City, also known as "The Queen of the South." Experience a new hip and offbeat Design Hotel close to Cebu City’s Business & IT Park. We claim a spirit of authenticity aiming at travelers that seek for a hotel with character and soul. 36 vivid and totally unique rooms and 2 eminent suites are waiting to be discovered. We aim to convey a feeling of individuality and a new style of hospitality to our guests through the lovingly and unique design of every room, suite and the entire hotel. It’s a journey of its own! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.