We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Henry, very nearby rated 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Henry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
The Henry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Kotka, Finland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Hotel Henry, very nearby rated 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in a XL room what was really spacious and modern but same time felt cold and empty with congrete finished sailing. No privacy on the shower and cr because no doors. Room did not include minibar was mentioned on the booking site i reserved room but upon my request i got a small refridgerator.

Next 7 nights i stayed in a standard room what i liked a lot more and really good value of money price under 2500 pesos/ night. Comfortable bed and quality liners.

Hotel pool was nicely kept,.cleaned up daily and there were few sun bathing beds also for resting. But only 2 tables just nearby hotel restaurants which were many times occupied. I really liked pool bar and took a daily pm. coffee and findador over there. What i maybe missed was music even silent mode?

Rica,.hotel restaurant is desingned stylish and the food was realy delicious. My friend from Australia complain chicken he ate as a raw and pizza not so tasty but i ate beef and salads and i loved it every single time. Breakfast is really so expensive 425pesos+ 10% service charge and only 4 different kind of ones available, BUFFEE,..i could understand that price but not a selection of basic breakfast plate with juice and coffee.

Scrapyard bar and lounge on the second floor,.ohh,..service is even too intensive, grew followed me what ever i did what felt to European some weird,.

Service , nothing to complain,.this hotel really wish you welcome and enjoy your stay even few problems appeared upon the time of check out , which was handled professional way and customer was happy having smile on his face again.

I will be back, hotel is new and nice, safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    50
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
68
28
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a bad expierience on Mactan Island, we came in a heaven of courtesy. House of Cebu.
This is what you expect in Design hotels in the big cities of the world. And now also in Cebu.
All the rooms with an own caracter and paintings on the wall. A perfect swimming pool outside, a nice menu in the restaurant and the Scrabyard bar on the 2nd floor. We stayed there for four nights and promissed to come back after visiting Busuanga Coron Island. Coming home, is what we said when the management and staff welcomed us back for a last night. Go and see for your self. We loved it. Cees and Theo, Weert, Holland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The main highlights of our stay at House of Cebu were:

Staff - Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Customer service at any place that you go to, whether it be a hotel, restaurant, bank etc is always a reflection of the business itself. I was very impressed by the staff at the House of Cebu. One staff even offered to take us out to the Sinulog feista celebrations and I was so grateful for her offer.

Rooms - We selected the Big Room to stay in and it blew us away. Not only was the room very big, it was furnished with impressive furniture and had a nice large modern bathroom.

Restaurant - I loved the food here and was happy to eat here for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The downside of the hotel was:

Location - It was a little out of the city centre, not that it was a big deal. Given that we were there during the SInulog celebration, it was harder to get into the city from the hotel if you were keen to watch the SInulog parade.

Scrapyard Bar - I've read that this bar is a separate business from the hotel itself. We found the staff here very rude and given that it is a bar... it was opened til the early hours of the next morning. Therefore, there was always loud music playing and often you could hear from your room the people at the bar. We came across a couple who had checked in that night, just to stay for that night, but had to re-locate to a different hotel as it was difficult for them to get a good night's sleep. That is disappointing. It is hard to have a bar at a small hotel like this as the noise can be heard on all levels of the building.

Room Tip: Opt for the 'Big Room' option. You will not be disappointed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petporter
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are needing a place to stay over night or you are there on business this is a great hotel. loved the swimming pool & interiors. staff were friendly and professional.
We stayed in two rooms, they moved us to a room which was away from the bar as a big party was booked for NYE.
Rooms are all individually designed, clean, large and modern.
This hotel is in a process of changing its name to Henry. It should be noted that the rooms do not have a door to the bathroom & toilet, they are located in an alcove in the room, would be good if the hotel reviewed this for guests privacy.
The breakfast which is included was very basic and not consistent each day, hopefully they will look at addressing their menu as it is quite basic. Overall this was a good choice, thanks for a great stay! We would book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The interior of the House of Cebu has a modern industrial look. The ceiling and floor of the entire hotel is left unfinished. So you could see bare cement . No carpeting on the floor. I guess this was the reason that on my second day, I could hear what seemed to be trolley bags rolling on the floor above my room and footsteps of people walking around the room above me. I was not able to rest after a hectic all-morning meeting. There is no kettle in the room and no refrigerator either. The wifi inside my room was very weak.

However, the room is clean, very large and the bed is comfortable. I was glad to see a toothbrush among the bath amenities. Toothbrush has disappeared in most European hotels except the five-star ones. The staff were very helpful. I was served a nice lemon drink when I arrived late at night. Though not in the city center, location is ok. Cebu is a small city and the hotel staff can get you a taxi anytime. There is a nice restaurant by the lobby on the ground floor which serves reasonably priced dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. As our guests' comfort and the improvement of our facilities are always our top priority, be assured that we are taking the necessary action to address the issues on your review. Meantime, i look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

great reception and fine room but unlike promised there was no internet. I called the reception and they advised to come to the lobby to connect. Also there no reception though the password was correct. My mac always and everywhere connects in a blink. A boy reset the router to no effect. The manager said their own devices were connected. On the way up to the room i asked a random guest if he was able to connect and he said no,....we called reception 5 hours ago and they quoted a technical defect. Had to go to a restaurant around the corner to easily connect and do my urgent business and importantly.... know what to do tomorrow! This doesn't make sense to me really. The floors may be polished and the staff over friendly but i do not want the feeling of being held for ransom.

Room Tip: don't if you need to be online, not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Pleased to advise that upgrade of our WIFI facilities is underway and we expect to have better and improved WIFI very soon. Meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and for the late response. We hope to host your next visit to Cebu and regain your confidence. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab,Ut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel changed owners in November. The staff, pool and rooms are great but now there is a disco in the hotel which is incredibly loud until after midnight--impossible to sleep. I politely complained but they said that there is nothing they can do as the disco is a separate operation. Also the I had a late breakfast on the first morning and there was very loud disco music in the restaurant-- just muesli, yogurt and coffee was 12 usd. THIS IS A ONCE GREAT HOTEL WHICH HAS BEEN RUINED BY NEW OWNERSHIP.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Mike Smith,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. On behalf of the whole team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us due to the noise coming from the bar and the loud music at the restaurant. Please be assured that together with the owners/ management of the bar we are taking the necessary measures to resolve this issue. Your comment on the restaurant music and breakfast were well noted too. Meantime, we look forward to your next visit and offer service recovery. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel

Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City
Address: One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#8 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Henry Hotel" is located in Cebu City, also known as "The Queen of the South." Experience a new hip and offbeat Design Hotel close to Cebu City’s Business & IT Park. We claim a spirit of authenticity aiming at travelers that seek for a hotel with character and soul. 36 vivid and totally unique rooms and 2 eminent suites are waiting to be discovered. We aim to convey a feeling of individuality and a new style of hospitality to our guests through the lovingly and unique design of every room, suite and the entire hotel. It’s a journey of its own! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your The Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.