We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A character all its own!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Henry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Henry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A character all its own!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This review is overdue but hopefully not too late. My husband and I stayed at this property in the first week of SEP2012 and we chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. There were very few reviews of the property as the hotel had opened its doors only a few months earlier, but after viewing the hotel website, we knew we wanted to stay here. The hotel does not look like one from the exterior or interior. Once you step into the lobby, you are greeted by the friendly staff and a RED MAN with a cheeky grin! The lobby is eye-catching in its decor and you feel as if you stepped into someone's home. We chose the X-large room which is the size of a one bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and well decorated. The mural on the wall, the polished cement flooring, the uncovered ceiling and the furnishings gave it a realxing atmosphere...and the ensuite was absolutely spacious too. The hotel's dining room has large glass window panes that let the sunlight through and a decor that is well balanced and unique. Lots of cosy spots to chill out. The breakfast menu has various options and it was perfect for us as we do not like buffet spreads. We loved the swimming pool area with its terrace and greenery and it is very similar to a large pool in the backyard of a lovely home! The service is very professional and not overbearing and the food delicious with a menu incorporating western and local dishes. The decor and furnishings of the hotel gives you an insight into the character, creativity and personality of the owners. It is evident that they have dedicated a lot of time, effort in sourcing for the materials and furnishings and are very passionate in making this hotel work. For us it was a hotel that was absolutely comfortable, clean and welcoming. We felt very much at home, dined comfortably and slept soundly at night.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us too....away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
There are lots of restaurants specializing in European cuisine within walking distance as well as Asian supermarkets located on the main thoroughfare and a shopping mall with restaurants. pubs, cineplax, supermarket and a department store that caters mostly for the locals. We stayed here for a week and it was a most relaxing holiday for us. Our sincere thanks to May and her husband and to Bev and all the wonderful staff for making this a holiday to remember. Thank you also for the delicious and mouthwatering birthday cake! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    66
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
84
32
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lots of art and quirky furnishings make this hotel fun. I liked the over-sized rooms with modern, minimalist furnishings. Wonderful staff and decent location off the busy street.

This is definitely one of my favorite hotels in Cebu and most certainly will be my choice when returning.

Room Tip: Just book a standard size room, the larger ones are only slightly bigger. Also, note that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is so nice and peaceful. the room is so clean and the rest room is so impressive. I'm so satisfied with the service of the staff and the amenities that The House of Cebu has. This is an incredible and affordable hotel. It has a unique style and appearance from the outside. The staff are excellent and friendly. Truly a House of Cebu that can be consider a HOME>

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed just for one night, but the service was excellent, very clean and with a nice terrace and swimming pool in case it gets too hot. The decoration is funky and although they combine different styles it doesn't look overwhelming. Its a unique style! The service is wonderful, very helpful and quick...trying to make your stay even better! You have a variety of options for the breakfast, its worth taking it!!! All in all...100% recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found this incredible hotel on Agoda. It is like nothing we have ever stayed at in all our travels. The hotel decor is out of this world. May has done a fantastic job of combining her ideas into something unique and special. The staff are excellent and so efficient and friendly. We only stayed one night in a BIG room and it was BIG. Our bathroom did not have a door which was not a problem as this is the design of the room. Each room is different. My sisters room had a glass wall looking into the bathroom...with a curtain for privacy. Oh the bed was incredible. The sheets were first class and the pillows were heaven unlike most SE Asian hotels which are like rubble!!! Even the toilet paper was absolutely beautiful. The decor has to be seen to be believed. We went back the following night to check out the Scrapyard bar and it was interesting. She has used a lot of recycled materials in her design. A truly wonderful hotel. Highly recommended. We really appreciated the lift in the hotel van to the Ayala shopping centre. We wish you every success.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have lived in the Philippines for 2 years and travelled to Cebu several times on business. This weekend i decided to stick around and see a bit more and found myself this hotel via tripadvisor. Not only has this place set new standards for me in the Philippines of what is possible in the tourism industry but in hotels themselves.

Simple, quick, easy and efficient service. And personal - more than the Marriott i just stayed at. Booked at 3pm online and checked in 2 hours later and had my name printed on my welcome note in my room and a drink waiting for me. For my short 24 hours here i have been in sensory overload with the design; there is no particular genre just a huge collection of styles, features and quirkiness and it comes together into a super fresh and comfortable...home. The food is like home too. Brief menu but feel good.

Location is not idyllic but when inside the walls you forget about the outside. If you are in Cebu City there is no other place to stay.

I babble. Come and see it for yourself.

Room Tip: Got a great deal on Agoda for an extra large room. Felt like royalty in such a big room and high cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel

Address: One Paseo, Paseo Saturnino | Maria Luisa Road, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Henry Hotel" is located in Cebu City, also known as "The Queen of the South." Experience a new hip and offbeat Design Hotel close to Cebu City’s Business & IT Park. We claim a spirit of authenticity aiming at travelers that seek for a hotel with character and soul. 36 vivid and totally unique rooms and 2 eminent suites are waiting to be discovered. We aim to convey a feeling of individuality and a new style of hospitality to our guests through the lovingly and unique design of every room, suite and the entire hotel. It’s a journey of its own! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.