We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House and Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gorordo Museum

Casa Gorordo Museum
35 Lopez Jaena Street, Cebu City, Philippines
63 32 94576
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$109*
and up
Ranked #12 of 41 Attractions in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Specialty museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum looks at local life in the 1800s.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Lovely House and Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This makes a lovely visit. The house is beautiful, as are the original contents, furniture and antiques - it really gives one an impression of what life must have been like during Spanish Colonial times.
I highly recommend it!
It was also a good place to buy postcards!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're in Cebu, it's nice to visit museums to discover how the rich Filipino-Cebuanos lived during the Spanish era. Casa Gorordo Museum shows exactly just that. Again, like any other tour places, it's good to read a little about the area before going there so that you'd appreciate it more - and enjoy the area more. When we went to the museum, there was no one to bring us around and explain the practice during those era.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good but FAKE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The museum is pretty nice but I doubt it's originality seeing tiles as their wall. The guy said it's 80% original but some furnitures are like made of mahogany. Sure, the place is nice but not what you could expect from a house that existed for hundreds of years already.
Accepts students fee so I didnt really feel bad for PH15 entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Over-rated Cebu Museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Casa Gorordo Museum has the potential of being an excellent museum, but it is a lackluster place, especially when compared to the more dynamic museums in Old Cebu such as the lively Yap-Sandiego House, Old Jesuit House, and Museo Sugbo.

Staff members shuffle about like public employees and seem bored and even rude.
The house itself is lovely; but there is a lack of feeling and vitality in the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was underwhelming. I was initially annoyed that the entrance fee for my girlfriend was more because she's a foreigner. The people who were running the place seemed unfriendly and I felt like I was inconveniencing them by looking around the place. The actual museum/house was OK but had very little to no historical information on the family whose house it is. The ground floor doesn't have much information but had these statues of people and carabao but had nothing to explain its context. The upstairs was better and had some information on each room and had great period furniture. We should have gone to the Yap-Sandiego house instead...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Gorordo Museum also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Casa Gorordo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gorordo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.