We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jumalon Butterfly Sanctuary

Jumalon Butterfly Sanctuary
J. N. Jumalon St., | Basak, Pardo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
9214418491
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 65 things to do in Cebu City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See rare butterflies at the only park of its kind in the Philippines.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I got the impression this was meant for groups or school children. We saw a few cocoons and a few butterflies,but it was the brother of the original owner who made our visit so worthwhile.
We where made to feel so welcome and he showed us around everywhere with a really great commentary and his knowledge was fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the middle of Cebu city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and kids found out about this place and we knew we had to go and check it out. We are from Chicago and love going to nature museums and gardens. It was a little tricky finding it. Not all taxi drivers know about the place. You can tell them that it is near the holy cross parish behind the Don Vicente Rama memorial national high school. It is off Cebu South Road (aka The Highway). From downtown Cebu you would turn right on Jumalon street. Keep straight. The place will be on your left side at the end of the street.

Entrance fee is 50pesos per person. It is well worth it. The place is open from 9am-5pm. We got there right at 9am and had the place to ourselves. The museum is run by two children of prof. Jumalon. His geneticist daughter gave us the tour. We got to meet his biologist son as well. It was great to see all the different kinds of butterflies from around Cebu, the Philippines and some from around the world. We loved the tidbits about the letters and numbers found in butterfly wings. My daughter was amazed.

Try not to wear bug spray as it can affect the butterflies. Wear long sleeves and light pants to keep mosquitoes away. We got bit a couple of times.

The garden is nice and great to see the butterflies flying freely all about. They are all attracted to the flowers and plants that they have growing in the garden.

All of prof. Jumalon's art work are amazing, especially the pieces made entirely of butterfly wings. The artworks are alive with the iridescent colors of the wings.

This is a well worth place to visit and support. They are in the process of getting a website together to provide more information and opportunities for donations. A couple of long awaited books are also in the works, detailing all of prof. Jumalon's exploits and artwork.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We took a taxi to Jumalon's Butterfly Sanctuary and were given a tour of the garden and small art gallery by the late Professor Jumalon's ifriendly and nformative son. We enjoyed seeing the butterflies, both live and preserved, and learning about Prof. Jumalon's life-long work. We also enjoyed seeing Prof. Jumalon's wonderful paintings and Lepido Mosaics.
A very interesting and memorable visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great information and and garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love taking pictures, and got some great butterfly shots here. It's not huge, but the young man was very knowledgeable, and they had good examples of butterflies. He said best time to go is in the summer. Their collection of pinned butterflies and moths is amazing, lots of things I had never seen before. Plus they have some nice small craft collections and other things. There is also a small room full of paintings, including those made from butterfly wings. Unique. My taxi driver did not know where it was at first (I say Jumalon Butterfly House, make sure you use "Sanctuary"), but we found it okay. After the visit, I could not get a taxi easily because of the local Sinulog (street parade related to the local parrish), and ended up down the street taking pictures of the dancers, simple floats and musicians.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's not a big garden like the other one,this open by family but still very nice,The owner is very intellectuality person,be side he's will take you go to the back yard of their garden to show you all the painting made by hand of him and his great great father that have past away.He'll explain for you to know the means of each pictures that you saw.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumalon Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Jumalon Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumalon Butterfly Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.