We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, should be better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“For the price, should be better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is ok, exactly as You would expect, the bathroom is nice, there is just enough space. The TV in my room rembembered the 90s and the design could be better. The service was good, didn't use the casino or the restaurant. Location is ok, but You will need a cab to go around Cebu anyway. It is a bit pricey over 100 USD for just about basic utilities is too much.

Room Tip: If You can afford it, upgrade the room, basic rooms are, well, basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    239
    167
    53
    42
See reviews for
120
173
75
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This time we only stayed one night upon arrival in Cebu before heading to the province the next day, so we didn't really utilise all that the hotel has to offer and can only comment on the room.

When we checked in they were quick to attend and get our bags, and the lobby is big and spacious with lovely piano music playing on the floor above. They seemed to forget our bags though and after about half an hour we had to call up and it took them 10 further minutes to find them. The bed was good and room comfortable, but starting to feel a bit dated. There are many dining options, but we were only there for breakfast, which had a great selection and fantastic service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful but while I was there for 2 weeks several small items and money was stolen out of my room while I was out. I had headphones, expensive sunglasses and USD taken while I was out. I didnt realize what was going on until my sunglasses came up missing the next morning. As it turned out I caught a staff member coming out of my room around 2:30pm and when I asked him what he was doing he said just inspecting the room. Later I came to realize that your rooms are not safe to leave small items and that they are searching in the drawers and closets in the deepest hidden areas.

We went to Christmas dinner and it had a few more things than normal most recognizably Turkey. The normal rate had been 650 peso per person. When we got the bill it was 5900 peso for 4 people. I was completely in shock, not only did they almost double the price without notifying us but added 30% surcharges and taxes to the bill! I cannot believe they charge a 10% service fee for a buffet where you have to get your own food and some unexplained food tax when there is no tax on food purchases in this country at the grocery stores! Normal tipping rates in the Philippines are less than 5% for full service.

Most of the food in the buffet was good but they seemed to hold back on giving you the quantity you may have wanted especially with the turkey and the dessert area constantly running out of christmas cookies and treats.

A girl at the front desk was rude when I had brought a guest in that evening even though I had registered and extra guest when I booked the hotel and gave me a nasty look everytime I saw her for the remainder of my stay.

This place is beautiful and the gym and pool area is very nice but seriously lacking in personal service to the point where it's almost a trap where they get you in there limit you, control you, bill you and fail to assist you where other hotels typically do.

I have found better service in high end hotels on the beach in Mactan Island. Take the name for example....Waterfront Hotel.... There is not waterfront there at all! unless they are calling the pool the waterfront? The service and customer care is just as decieving and you feel unappreciated after staying there.

Dont waste your money there if you are expected to be treated with great care.

Room Tip: no waterfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel looked nice from outside, common areas were also nice. Room smelled like mold and pool was EXTREAMLY dirty. Staff was no so nice and rude when asked about the dirty pool. The breakfast was very nice with many options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We requested for a top-floor, not facing the street room, and we got it. No hassle upon check-in and check-out.

If you're a fitness enthusiast, you'll definitely love their gym located inside the hotel. They also have a sauna and pool in the hotel.

Rooms are spacious. I love their buffet breakfast the most. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast early to avoid the crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Owing to minor earthquake damage at the hotel I was supposed to stay at I was rebooked into the Waterfront for 6 nights from 26th October.

First impressions were very good with a very impressive lobby area but thereafter things were not so good...

After a terrible journey from home the last thing I needed was a slow and inefficient check in but that is precisely what I got. It needed the combined efforts of two people on two terminals to eventually get me checked in after about 20 minutes or so. Not a very encouraging way to start a visit, especially after a long, delayed flight.

The room itself was okay, and clean, but definitely looking a bit on the old and tired side of things. It seemed to be something straight out of the 1970s with dark furniture colours. There was a safe in the wardrobe in the room. The doors on the wardrobe itself did not close properly. The view out the window of the roof of a factory/industrial unit was not exactly inspiring. Housekeeping was generally acceptable and the bed was comfortable. The free wi-fi is good and generally stable. I had my usual test of a small room service delivery on the second night and it took 3 days before the dirty sundae glass was removed from the room. Not good.

There is a lot of choice for places to eat at the hotel but that huge lobby comes at a cost - it is quite a walk from the lifts to the Gourmet Walk where all the restaurants are located. This is not a compact hotel by any stretch of the imagination - it seems to have been designed on the American principle: the bigger the better! The Lobby Lounge occupies the bulk of the lobby area and is a pleasant enough place to relax, quite comfortable if not exactly the most intimate of places. The signs on the tables "reserved for dining guests only" are initially a little off-putting as they don't really mean what they say: they are to discourage people from sitting in the two sections of the lounge without partaking of beverages and/or food.

The food served in the Lobby Lounge is good but nothing special, and a little on the pricey side (as is most of the hotel food in general). No complaints about the service though - the staff were unfailingly very pleasant throughout the hotel. Note that the free wi-fi available in the room is NOT available in the Lobby Lounge but you can get a password for the secured wi-fi that is available. You will most likely have to ask for it however, as only one staff member offered the password upon seeing my netbook on the table.

The breakfast buffet is served in the Uno restaurant and it is good without being anything special. Don't leave breakfast too late though - they start clearing it away before 10.30 am.

The big advantage of the Waterfront is that it is quite close to Ayala Center (50.50 pesos there and 57.50 pesos back by taxi) so you don't have to eat at the hotel - there are a myriad of choices at Ayala that are way cheaper than the hotel, even after taking into account the taxi fares. The only downside is that the walk to the taxi rank at the hotel (a level below the lobby level) is again rather lengthy...

I am guessing that the Waterfront is selling itself as a five star hotel but it really is not. High points are the excellence and friendliness of the staff (excluding the front desk staff as far as excellence goes) and the location. The downsides are its a bit tired and badly in need of a renovation in the rooms and the price of food and drink is on the high side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

our company host a seminar at Waterfront, it's a fantastic experience my 1st time at cebu and everything is perfect,the hotel has big room, hot tub, cable tv, pool, delicious buffet & the staff is friendly, i hope to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.