We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 hotels in Cebu City
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Big, beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Cebu in time for the Sinulog's closing. We stayed at the Waterfront because my mom is also holding a seminar there.
I like the hotel interiors: the ceiling, hotel displays, and lounges. The rooms are nothing out of the ordinary though. The bathrooms are neat but you can tell that they're old. I love the view of the hotel's castle-like structure from outside our room window. I can see the rest of the city from there. What a great view. The swimming pool is clean and properly maintained but not big enough for a 5 star hotel.
All in all, my first time experience is great. Thank you Waterfront for the wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    147
    93
    38
    28
See reviews for
61
98
42
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at the Waterfront hotel in Lahug for a total of 5 days March 2013 with my husband and parents plus a few other friends. Husband and I are on the Cohen lifestyle program which is a strict weight loss program where everything has to be weighed accurately. We were worried about following our diet while on the trip but the hotel allowed us to bring our pre-cooked frozen food, store it in their fridge, and heat our meals at no extra charge. All we had to do was call room service and ask them to heat and deliver our food to the room. It seems that everyone who answered the phone was aware of our arrangement and we didn't need to explain each time. They were very accommodating in this regard. I don't know if this was because we were staying in suite rooms or if they are equally accommodating to all guests. Whatever the reason, this part of their service was excellent! Kudos Waterfront! Writing a glowing review is the least I can do to thank you for accommodating our food requirements! We are so happy =)

We had one dinner at le Gondola (Italian resto on lobby level) and asked our server to have our steak weighed and trimmed, gave specifications on how we needed it cooked, and asked for their mixed salad but asked them to separate the greens from the croutons, egg, dressing etc. Indeed, they followed our instructions to the letter and still managed to make the food presentable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel few years ago and was surprised to see the huge lobby has undergone renovation. It looks modern and chic. Unfortunately, the renovation has stopped at the lobby. The rooms are of good size but the furnitures are old and tired. The television is antique. The bathroom is not very clean, the grouting already yellowish. The bathroom fixtures are very old and tarnished. The towels have seen better days.

This is definitely not a four star hotel. If you are not a gambler, there are newer and better hotels to choose from

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After 3 weeks travelling the visayas, we decided to be two day earlier on mactan island (airport), to make sure, we catch the plane home and will not get stuck somewhere, if a storm disables the interisland ferry services. To be near the airport we decided the waterfront hotel. The Hotel is very nice after some not so good experiences on another island. Its truly a typical asian business hotel with all its facilities. The room was normal for that price category with all the usual amenities. WIFI is available in the room and at good speed (in comparison to the speed in the lobby). The international Restaurant Uno is very good, but pricy (Not comparable to phillipino niveau, but closer to european prices.) Breakfast is big buffet style and excellent. Dinner can be also taken in buffet form and is also recommedable, if you want to try out different eating cultures at high quality. There is also a Korean restaurant, but we did not try that one.The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, the restaurant staff me need a little brushup in terms of serving. Before entering the hotel is a security control. Rooms are very well isolated, so you hear no noise from the closeby airport. The pool is big , clean and not very much used ->so you have it nearly on your own.
The international airport is just opposite of the hotel. Walking distance from your hotel bed to airline checking counter is 5 min. max. !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in Cebu to attend the testimonial dinner of the city government for its 75 families of distinction, upon the invitation of a reknowned designer (who wanted to shoulder our everything during our stay but we were a bit embarassed to go along with it). We arranged and paid for our own trip and accomodations, and thought it was a good idea to stay at the actual venue of the event, Waterfront Hotel, Lahug.

Reservations were initially pleasant: Lea, the reservations agent, was accomodating enough not to require a downpayment and just gave us a confirmation number, as well as arranging a room to be ready by 9am, with an extra charge. No problem, we understand the policy and they didnt require a deposit, so great.

Arriving at 6am Sunday, we were promptly fetched by the transfer and brought to the sleepy hotel. We were suppose to check in but was initially told that our room will be ready by 9am. So sleep deprieved, we made our way to the breakfast buffet, which was a whole other sad story together.

After breakfast, we proceed to the convention center to check out the exhibit on the families. Then looked for a quiet area off the main lobby to rest and sleep. By almost 9am, we went back to the reception to update the room. Their semi chirpy staff named Ritzie said that our room was not available and we would have to wait till 2pm. Huh? The graveyard staff (Im not sure if her name was Grace or something) mentioned that the room will be ready by 9am. Unfortunately, the unresourceful and uncreative Ritzie can only repeat her condition, which completely vexed us. "I want to speak to your duty manager", my partner exasperatedly said (secretly i wanted to say to him "Honey, this was your idea to stay here", hehe) I could observe that the Ritzie was just pressing and pressing the enter button, her eyes slightly rolling sort off and probably not urgently checking any available. What she produced in her, personally, very limited problem solving was offering us the pricey Php 20,000.00 Suite and "You can just wait for the 2pm room Mr. Juan" she warmly (or sarcastically, i dont know, we're too tired differentiate) concludes.

The duty manager, whose name escapes me now argh, was a bit unmoved and uncaring about the situation. "The room that was assigned to you will only be vacant at 2pm", without any hint or apology or contrition, continuing "we have a policy about guest rooms being given at 2pm". My partner without any sleep from the previous day replied methodolically "Sir, i completely understand that your establishment has policies about 2pm and so on and so forth, we understand that, completely, unfortunately its you who dont understand us. From the reservation, we agreed to pay the supplement for early check-in at 9am considering we are attending Cebu City Charter Day on our own personal account and we havent gotten any sleep. How do you expect us to cover the event? The nice lady from your graveyard shift assured us that our room will be ready by 9am and now you say that we will have to wait for 2pm? You don't throw the hotel's management handbook to people who came all the way from Manila, to attend the Charter Day, tired, sleep deprieved and all. We've stayed in the great hotels of the world: Peninsula, Four Seasons, we completely understand your 2pm policy, unfortunately, it is you who dont understand us, your guests. No understanding, no compassion and no heart"
By, this time, we were experiencing migranes and headaches, thanks to lack of sleep and of course, Waterfront Cebu.

The duty manager, getting uneasy with our little explanation suggested we take a room with little or no window for the moment then transfer us when our rooom was ready. Motel room? Duh! A few minutes later, the already flustered DM managed to give us a superior room, hinting that we should be grateful (or was it me, cant tell too tired).

In the end, we're not really hard-to-please divas but when a person is tired and lacking of sleep and agreeable to paying extra, a little more understanding and empathy is allowed rather that throwing the very understood 2pm check-in policy. It just goes to show how limited, unimaginative and myopic some people are, especially in the hospitality industry. Its about being considerate, inclusive and humane, especially meeting the traveller who are weary, tired and inconsolable.

Room was tiredly worn average at best, at least they had Fashion TV.

The food: unfortunately, the quality of the food in Waterfront leaves much to be desired. From the uninspired breakfast offerings, to their dreadful Php 1,300.00 Afternoon Tea (scones as hard as rocks) and everything else, the only decent food there is to had, is sadly in the Casino, or walk across Cebu IT park for more humane choices. We would rather walk and get run over by a jeep going to Crossroad for A Cafe or Maya please that having meals here, they are too pricey for the quality of terribly mediocre food.

The only consolation of Waterfront was their cheerful staff, excluding that particular DM and Ritzie. Very polite and pleasant, but we dont know if their collective nice-ness can save this property in our eyes. Maybe it wont, since we've decided, not to come back to any Waterfront at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food and drink was expensive,but the breakfasts where exceptional and the food was fantastic.
Unhelpful but friendly staff,tired rooms and noisy drunk guests.
We had a toilet that overflowed,these things happen,but it took room service 25 minutes to send someone to clean up after the blockage was seen to.
The fittings and the bathroom where tired dirty and old.
The lifts where efficient.
All in all a great lobby but the rooms and pool area definitely need to be urgently updated.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is in the town and security is very good. There is a security guy with dog at the lobby . It is safe to be there. The room is standard with no surprise. The pool is small but good for sunshine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.