We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as what most reviewers wrote..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 hotels in Cebu City
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just as what most reviewers wrote..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel like what most reviewers mentioned is in need for some major upgrading works. It is very run down. The staff is friendly, polite and helpful. The nearby IT park is a letdown and not very lively. The complimentary shuttle service to the major shopping mall is a nice touch by the hotel though. Appreciate that very much.

Pickup from the airport to the hotel via the hotel shuttle is 700 pesos. If one takes the yellow airport taxi, its 500 pesos. If one crosses a short road, there are white taxis around. Cost 200 pesos. I find all this very disconcerting.

Similarly, if you take the taxi from the hotel front door, it will cost 400 to 500 pesos. I walked 100 m away from the entrance, take the white taxi and it cost me 200 pesos!

Finally I have been to many cities and to date all have departure taxes already factored in the ticket prices. But at Cebu airport, be prepared to fork out 550 pesos per person. They call it Terminal Fee!

So keep some pesos!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    153
    98
    40
    28
See reviews for
63
103
43
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sagay City, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I checked into this hotel back in July 2012. I have had a lot of experiences with a lot of other hotels after this. Compared to other high-end hotels in Cebu, it doesn't fare well. Good view of the city and room was updated. Not a lot of bathroom amenities though. However, it's not pricey as the other hotels.
I think I will be back here just to experience it again and I'll probably try to book a bigger room.
If you're a gambler, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I spent 5 days at the hotel with my family. Good and wonderful services they provided. Feel like home. The food is fantastic. The staffs treat my children like their, take care of them , hold their hand and teach them how to speak Philippine language. I need to "run" or else my children will turn into pinoy. ;-) Fast internet surfing speed in the hotel, clean, smiling faces wherever you go. A big duty free shop at the lobby and a tremendous casino. A safe hotel where the security is very good and they come with a guard dog at the main entrance of the hotel. The hotel is also very near to IT Park whereby you might wish to spend a few night drinking there. From hotel took a taxi to SM Mall and Ayala Mall ....10 to 15 minutes.

Before I left, I thrown this word at the staffs ........."I'll be back"

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked the newly renovated "Premium" rooms which were very spacious and nice, but I specifically requested a non-smoking room and lo and behold when I got to the room it smelled of smoke! I went to the front desk to ask for a change of room however they informed me that all rooms in the category I booked are located on smoking floors. They should really warn people about that, they didn't even offer any alternative or apology, they just stated things in a very matter-of-fact attitude.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night before we back home. The hotel is big and clean. The wimmingpool is larg and silent. The stuff are kind.The food was goed.
The hotel is near at the airport. Next time i stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This property ought to be in the top 5 in Cebu but the new GM, will have his work cut out to get back there given the scale of this hotel and the increasing competition. Main gripe - after recent surgery I'm sensitive to dietary choices and the management need to be too. Hearing decaf coffee only available in powdered form, no decaf tea in the Chinese resto and having only three fresh fruit choices on the breakfast buffet (one a mottled, cardboard-like papaya) is way behind the curve in the Phils these days, let alone Cebu.

Likewise exercise. The gym has two bikes (one not working, the other decrepit) and one tired rowing machine. So if you're not up to full weight bearing exercise head out to the pool. But if you linger have some personal stereo on hand to blank out the competing strains of the ambient hip hop and the adjacent Zoomba studio class.

Fortunately the staff are friendly and responsive to issues which papers over but their hard work and earnest should be the icing. Location is also a plus with the Ayala Mall, SM and several good restos nearby.

Room Tip: The suites have been fashioned out of two rooms and not effectively remodeled. Doors open onto doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our summer vacation. The lobby is undergoing renovations but the old one was quite grand so I'm expecting big things. Room was a bit aged and needs renovations. Breakfast was better than expected and we definitely enjoyed the casino. Location is a plus as well as it is nearby the big malls in Cebu city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.