We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Yummy Breakfast Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Cebu City
philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Super Yummy Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed at Waterfront for almost a week and, the breakfast buffet was the highlight of my stay. So many dishes to choose from - waffles, pancakes, omelette, chinese dishes, filipino dishes complete with tsokolate drink, crispy bacon, ham, potatoes, croissant, cold cuts, cheese, etc. Absolutely delicious, im still craving it! The hotel in itself is beautiful. It has a spacious lobby, duty free shop, a casino, conference rooms, a big pool and many restaurants to choose from - italian, chinese, japanese to name a few. The rooms though need some upgrading as it is looking outdated. The staff is very nice and friendly. Always had a smile on their faces as they greeted you. Hotel has a shuttle that takes you to the ayala mall and SM mall - makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    159
    107
    43
    30
See reviews for
71
110
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best room we had in the Philippines. Excellent level of cleanliness in room. On site casino. Near the Ayala Mall which is one of the best malls in the Philippines for both shopping and dining.

Only complaint and this is a big one for me in a country that you can't drink the water...there was no where at the property to buy a decent sized bottle of water. They only sold little .5 L bottles. We had to leave the property to go buy drinking water.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've stayed in the Waterfront Hotel & Casino Cebu City many times. It's a very good hotel if you book at discounted rates, as I always do. Good rooms, good breakfast buffet, good gym and pool, good location, convenient to malls, etc. The staff are not as helpful and well-trained as most business travelers would expect. The BIG problem is that the casino is undergoing construction now (June - August, 2012), and LOUD construction noise (many people hammering) starts at 8AM, six days a week. The noise is heard all the way to the top floor of the hotel. Complaining to the hotel management does no good, because the construction is in the casino, and the hotel management has no authority to control the casino construction noise. If you wake up before 8AM, and will be out of the hotel all day, with no need to sleep between 8AM - 6PM, then it's a good place to stay. But, if you might need to sleep between 8AM - 6PM, don't stay here. Note: flights from many countries arrive in Cebu 3 - 5AM. If you check into this hotel early in the morning, be prepared to be woken up by construction noise at 8AM.

Room Tip: At this time (June - August, 2012) the loud construction noise is heard in all rooms, every floor fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Cebu City Waterfront for three nights immediately after a three night stay at the Airport Waterfront.

The Cebu City hotel is much bigger than the Mactan and the prices for rooms and food are just a little higher. The lobby is huge (and was just finishing a renovation while we were there), but comes off kind of cold and impersonal. There's a huge number of restaurants to choose from, and we tried most of them. The food was universally okay, not great but not bad. Pretty much what you would expect from a mid-priced hotel. What was surprising was that the staff was universally spectacular. Without exception, every one of them was friendly and helpful.

The rooms are smaller than the Waterfront Airport, but are still just fine. Everything that you would expect in a room was there. A desk, dresser, closet, bathroom with bathtub/shower, safe etc. Really the only thing the room didn't have that might have been helpful was a clock. Everything was in good condition, and the staff kept the whole place immaculate. Yet again, you couldn't ask for a friendlier staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We did a hotel hopping during our tour in Cebu last March 2012. Our first stop was in Waterfront Hotel in Lahug, Cebu to see Brian McKnight's concert on March 17. The hotel is under construction during that time, not so sure abut now, so we we're not able to see the entire reception area. I just want to complement their ceiling and long aisle of restaurants. The interiors are amazing. The casino is also a great past time for vacationers.

The interior of the hotel room is also great though a little old. I love the woody ambiance and it's very spacious. The breakfast at Uno Restaurant is definitely world class and offers a wide variety. An hour of stay is not really enough to enjoy all the food. There's also a duty free where you can buy some branded stuff.

So bad that we only stayed there for one night and never had the chance to use their inviting swimming pool. Nevertheless, it's worth the price. And we'll definitely comeback.

Room Tip: there's a plenty of taxi outside the hotel so you can just hop in and tell the driver to drive y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

When I arrived they had overbooked and gave me a free upgrade to a suite. This was the nicest suite I have stayed in for a whole $70. Room was nice along with the 5 restaurants inside the place. Pool was great too!!

Room Tip: See if they have a deal to upgrade to a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

T o start off, I am no prima donna, having been in a lot of wonderful 1, 2, and 3 star hotels, up to full five star experiences. If a hotel does its job, gives somewhat good service, provides a warm not too boring meal, im ok with them.

Then on the other end of the scale is the Waterfront. I have to honestly say that after staying in several hundred hotels of different types in my life, I have NEVER seen such a train wreck of EPIC proportions as this establishment. READ ON.

It all starts off with reservations. I was arriving early, booked online 2 weeks in advance, got confirmation. When i checked in, the hotel wanted to charge me an additional 1000 Philippine Peso, or 25 dollars, for the privilege of checking in early, at 9am vs 2pm. Considering i didn't hear anything from the time i placed the reservation, guaranteeing them occupancy for that room for the day 2 weeks ahead, you would think they would care, but it took me asking for a supervisor to get it waived. Thats really thinking of the guest in advance. But wait, there's a lot more.

I was assigned, after 30 minutes of back and forth on the early check in penalty, to room 680. When i opened the door to the room, it REEKED of fish! Housekeeping personnel were cleaning the next room, i asked them were they aware. They said YES, and it was the previous nights visitor that had apparently stored fish in the room. They offered air freshener, but i asked that they check for an alternate room. The housekeeping supervisor was on the floor and apologized profusely. My question was: Why didnt they report to reservations that this room needed to be aired out and / or fumigated before allowing it to be reserved by the front desk?

Okay, so i get the second room, Room 571. I go down to this, which is the same room type, however due to the design of the hotel it is a 5 minute walk from the elevator in the deepest, darkest section of the hotel. Lucky me, guess i got penalized for bringing up the first room But now it gets even better!

About 30 minutes after my bags are unpacked, i hear dripping sounds coming from the bathroom. Going in there to investigate i find rusty water streaming from the light fixture over the bathroom sink. I call housekeeping to report it to engineering. An hour later 3 engineers show up to fix the problem and it gets cleaned up. Read on

So on Tuesday the 8th, in the evening, i decide after looking at the room service menu that i wanted a local takeout place to deliver me some chicken wings to my room. When i call the front desk to notify them of the delivery they say it is "against hotel policy" to deliver food inside the hotel. Okay, so where do i pick it up? Get this, the EMPLOYEE entrance!

So when the food arrives i am notified by security. I have to spend 15 minutes finding MY OWN WAY down to where the employee entrance was, deep in the bowels of the hotel, i mean past the employee cafeteria, laundry, hotel staff doctor (that gave me one strange look as i passed through their area but did not question me) and to the back loading dock. At this point there is the delivery guy, but wait... its not over YET.

So the hotel has a policy you have to sign a WAIVER for any outside food that is brought into the hotel, (i guess in case you get food poisoning) this delivery was from a major US chain, so i wasn't worried about that. The security folks just say "sign here" and do NO explanation as to what this is for. I asked wth is this for? They say "its the rules sir". You can imagine how hot i am by that time.

Breakfast is included in the room charge. I went to the morning breakfast buffet, which i can say was pretty standard fare that would be equivalent to a 2 or 3 star hotel. Wide variety, not high in quality but hey, you get what you pay for right? Wrong! The garlic rice was inedible, dry, hard, tasteless, at 715 am on a buffet that was advertised to be in operation to 10. The wife had good luck with her meal. She made a remark it seemed like everything i had chosen were bad choices, from the overcooked bacon, to the undercooked sausages, to the local pancit bihon noodles (and trust me i eat a lot of pancit bihon in this country) that was just plain horrible. At least the orange juice, mango juice and coffee were acceptable. The donuts were stale, some of the danish pastries were acceptable. On a 5 scale, i would give the breakfast at best a 2. My wife would rate hers a 3.

So now it comes time for planning for the return trip to the airport. Due to the flight departure time of 350pm, the hotel wants to shuttle me at 130pm, with about a 30 minute travel time to the airport. Checkout is 12. I asked the front desk perhaps could they extend the room to 130? Of course the answer is NO. Now i hadnt complained about my experience to them, nor would i. I am not normally a whiner when it came to things like this, however i was COMPLETELY fed up with this hotel by this time. I checked out early, filled out a customer service card, gave it to the front desk and vowed that the population of the world should be warned about this hotel, now and forever.

Summary: Hotel is completely unsatisfactory, with too many stupid rules, poor room quality, poor food quality and absolutely inept management.

Now you tell me, am i a whiner or would YOU have put up as much as i did, if you paid good money for a hotel room?

DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL, based on my experience, EVER

Room Tip: Excellent rooms can be had at the Cebu Marriott, about 5 minutes away, in a much better location, di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.