We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cebu City Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amman
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outdated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location wise the hotel is good , adjacent to the mall and other business areas.. But as a hotel , I won't recommend it.. The rooms are outdated and smell awful.. They smell like wet fabric.. AC is awful.. Not so clean.. The buffet for breakfast and dinner wasn't that wow.. Everything is uncovered and the floor at the restaurant are always dirty that your shoes would stick and squeak ...
The lobby is not user friendly at all... I even had the worst experience at the lobby when I've ordered a cocktail, and there was a fly in it and was still charged for it !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sharara1982,

Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that your stay was not up to Marriott standards, and appreciate your feedback to help us improve. Although this is a humid climate, there is no excuse for any odors in your room and we will look into the air conditioning system in that room. I am sorry that your experiences in the restaurant and lobby were diminished due to our service failures during your stay. We will review our processes to ensure that this does not happen to another guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and please let me know if you would like to discuss anything further.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    276
    85
    21
    13
See reviews for
149
129
75
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

First time to be billeted in the city. My previous visits to Cebu were all close to the beaches, thus avoiding the busy roads of the city. So the thought of being in the city lessens my excitement.
Checking in was hassle-free, receptionist was very polite and professional.As expected, the room was spotless, and the best feature was a strong and open internet connection!
Breakfast menu was very good except that there was no station doing the omelets... Marriot hotel is adjacent to Ayala Mall which is another plus point!
Overall, my stay was great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Chato D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Marriott. We are so glad that your trip was "stress-free" and that our location and staff helped contribute to a successful visit. Look forward to seeing you again in Cebu.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed last May 17 yo 18,2014
We would like to thank Jazz at the reception for being pro active in our needs also shes always there to help us & willing to help us. Also housekepig team thank you very much for cleaning our room it was indeed comfortable. SECURITY team thank you.this hotel is highly recommended for those traveller who love to explore the city of Cebu because its accessible to Ayala Center Cebu. MANAGEMENT AND ALL STAFF WHO HELPED US THANK YOU SO MUCH WE will stay again in this lovely hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear sojeph,

Thank your for taking the time to give us your positive comments about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that our associates were able to make your visit even more special. Our location and staff are key to giving our guests the best Cebu has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Cebu.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Cebu Marriott late April through early May and It was hands down a wonderful stay. We booked a room at the executive level floor where we had the most wonderful breakfast every morning and terrific cocktails late afternoon.

The rooms were very clean with modern Asian feel. The access to the mall is extremely convenient for eating out and some shopping. The restaurant was fantastic. Our entire stay was, front the moment of check-in until our departure, seemed seamless and easy going. You do not feel like you are in a big, boxy, touristy hotel! The front office staff were always at attention to greet you. The door people and security were always quick to open doors and call taxi cabs. The housekeepers were very attentive and quick to deliver any requested items such as extra towels or toiletries. Thanks to the guys in housekeeping namely Armand, Kristine and Gerryloi and the head housekeeper Harry. The executive lounge staff were very attentive while unobtrusive. I made sure I got the names of the staff so I can give thanks for the extra special treatment they showed towards us. Jaizza, Charlyn, Reinier, Katrina, Meg and Victor. And i'm not going to forget the restaurant and bar staff too.

Thanks guys, we look forward to our return this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear James L,

Thank you so much for your terrific comments about our staff and location. We are so pleased that all those associates that you mentioned, made such a difference in your stay. Our associates make the Cebu Marriott a special place where guests feel very comfortable away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I spent a week at this Marriott and my congratulations go to the Staff. Attentive, professional, always making sure that our comfort was importan, really made this hotel a "home away from home". The reservation was handled by telephone by Ms. Irgene, and it was perfect. I was very happy to personally congratulate Ms. Irgene once at the hotel. Ms. Karen Kate Ng is the Director of the Executive Lounge and she has a delightful Staff, who makes sure that all your needs are attended to. Her "Second-in-Command" (sorry, the name escapes me) who took over the position during a week-end was also professional, helpful and attentive to all our needs. The people at the dining room was extremely efficient, helpful and professionally excellent. The Breakfast buffet was good but needed more variety, more "international" approach. The people at the swimming pool also were friendly and very helpful. I was in Executive Room 1002 and if that room had a slightly better furniture against the wall across the bed, then we would have a "real winner". I sent Ms. Karen Ng, Director of the Executive Lounge, an email with a description of the few furniture that is needed to make that suite "perfect". Also some ideas to make the bathtub safer. In summary, the Staff deserves my congratulation for their excellent and professional "beyond the call of duty" service. Again, Congratulations! Dr. J.C. DETATA [San Francisco, California].

Room Tip: Go to this Marriott and enjoy being treated as a real king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear jcdt,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about the associates here at the Marriott. It makes us feel very good to know that you were taken care of and made to feel comfortable while you were here. We appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast and the furniture, and we will use them to help improve the experience for all guests. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was my second time to visit Cebu but first stay in Marriott Hotel. A first plus is its proximity to Ayala Center so no worries when you need to do shopping or dine out. The hotel's overall look is good from the lobby to the poolside. Though the pool is quite small, guests come and go for a dip. The room we got has all the things we needed and the staff were happy to refill/replace them everytime. Breakfast buffet is also filling but I was expecting for more variety. Second plus, the staff were attentive, courteous and patient enough to answer my queries. Third plus, I heard from my colleges who were with me that the gym and spa service were great (their therapists are from The Spa from the nearby Ayala Center. Overall, my stay was good and would like to come back with my family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear MyTrips247,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about our hotel. We are happy to hear that our location was perfect for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and we will look to see what additional variety we can add for the guest’s enjoyment. We look forward to your next visit to the Cebu Marriott.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed at the Marriott several times while visiting our office in Cebu. The hotel staff is very accommodating and quick to assist. Beds are very comfortable and the hotel/rooms are clean. Location is well situated as it is attached to the Ayala Mall with a good variety of restaurants, grocery store, starbucks and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear 1Frong,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great visit and that our location and facilities met your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Marriott so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cebu City Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.